Will many recent grads be disappointed when...

Jarlaxle

u guys are very good imo.
better than my parents and teachers.

whenever they lectured me for my results. i will tell them that there are ppl who are doing worse than me. despite getting A2 for the subject.
then they compare me to the guy who got A1.

thus, i am socially engineered to compare with things that are of higher expectations

p00954

Just curious. TW is pretty on the average indeed at 13.6%, but with SG at 6.3%, wouldn't it be considered low?

Just wanted to know your thoughts.

The actual figure you alluded to is 6.7%, not 6.3%.

Singapore's youth unemployment rate is one of the lowest in the world at 6.7 per cent, Acting Minister for Manpower Tan Chuan-Jin said yesterday. The Straits Times - May 29, 2013

DPM Teo noted that the average unemployment rate of residents aged 15 to 24 in Singapore was 6.7 per cent last year. The New Paper Sunday, Nov 11, 2012

Singapore’ s youth unemployment rate is one of the lowest in the world at 6.7 per cent. Be ready for stiff competition, young S’ poreans: Indranee (Pearl Lee, The Straits Times, June 4, 2013)

However, all the above mainstream press reports are misleading to a reader because:

6.7% referred to the unemployment rate of "youths" here in the 15-29 age group.

8.9% is the unemployment rate of youths here in the 15-24 age group.

Youths according to ILO's definition fall into the 15-24 age group. Hence, the previous ILO chart was based on the 15-24 age group.

If males are excluded from Singapore's youth employment rate, unemployment rate of youths (Female only, 15-24) is at 11.8%.

Singapore's hypothetical or "what if" youth employment rate (Male and Female, 15-24) becomes closer to 11.8%, if there was no conscription in Singapore ("what if").

Taiwan does not include armed soldiers (conscripts) in its labour force.
Hence, if Taiwan does consider conscripts like in Singapore as employed in the active labour force then Taiwan's unemployment rate of youths (15-24) will be lower than 13.6%.

Using an apple to apple cross-country comparison, Taiwan's youth employment rate is likewise as low as here in Singapore in the bigger global picture, as mentioned earlier.

Inix

I had a talk-cock, dinner session a while back with a fresh MA from Hong Kong and a Taiwanese public servant when I was travelling. In terms of starting pay, it seems that Taiwan is the worst of the three, with declining starting wages and increasing cost of living. And yes, graduates there are better off waiting on tables that holding down an office job.

Hong Kong seems to be pretty close in terms of starting wages, but still lower that Singapore (he mentioned around SGD 2k), but cost of living is high.

The point I am trying to make it, nett nett, our grads have a slight head start as far as wages and opportunities are concerned. But as pointed out by others, are we able to make it count, while young people in other countries turn their adversity into their strength (e.g entrepreneurship)
TBH, I'm actually quite surprised that HK's starting pay is actually lower than SG. My own perception is that it should be higher..

NINJA91

i think this will be most people case in future for average sinkie..

once graduate they will be filled with hope then try to look for a job..once get job work and work ...by 35 get about 5-8 salary. then keep hope to jump up higher position but cannot due to FT or somemore elite sinkie.

Thus i strongly recommend for people to start invest from young. Save up during 18 - 25 and buy some blue chips. Collect passive income from dividend. Then pump salary into stock.

Then when portfolio not bad that time ...quit and go and be a teacher :D
best job in singapore..Morning teach till Noon..then go monitor some CCA..then pang kang.

pete98

It is our system here. People like high sounding titles. What is the difference between VP and AVP? Vice and assist difference meh?

Once upon a time during the Bristish days, technician is a very important position. Today, people would like to be call specialist or technical officer/executive. In hotel they call director of engineering.

So after studying so many years, must have title lah.

Not sure about your company but there is a difference between VP and AVP in mine. VP mostly head of department. While AVP is just in charge of several project within a department.

Similarly in my workplace, technician, technical officer and technical executive function differently. Technician more hands on. Technical officer more on supervisory of technician. Technical executive are lower management of technician and technical officer.

Think the different mixture of titles by different companies/industries in Singapore comprises of totally different meaning and job scopes. Some job titles are only in the name but not in the perceived job scope in another workplace.

ASM_HWZ

this has been the case since civilisation is created.

ppl becomes farmers, soldiers, politicians, etc.
how many can become big time fellow?
Now I understand why there is City Harvest Church... Be a grad, next be a pastor and I create a culture or maybe cult... I got follower giving their hard earn mony... I am rich, I invest...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.