WILL STANDARD ChARTERED BANK COLLASPE?!???

wahkao3

if you have strong big brother, strong big brother can pull you out of trouble when needed.

Eg sia save tiger, temasek save olam, kanana save mas.
Temasek surely will buy more std chrt share its doesn't own, cause banking license in countries are not easy to apply cause its control.

bo bao one lah. no guarantee
what if Temaski decide to write-off the investment as losses? You also dunno right? Fund managers invest in several stocks and if 1 of those stocks turn out to be a loser, they might write it off as losses and move on. that time citibank they also never save them.

Unless Temaski black and white cast in stone legally write that they confirm 100% chop will back up SCB, then ok. Have they done that? No :s13:

Hymnody

what if Temaski decide to write-off the investment as losses? You also dunno right? Fund managers invest in several stocks and if 1 of those stocks turn out to be a loser, they might write it off as losses and move on. that time citibank they also never save them.

Unless Temaski black and white cast in stone legally write that they confirm 100% chop will back up SCB, then ok. Have they done that? No :s13:

according to TS's another thread in edmw, if scb uplorry, all your shares held in custody is confiscated and use to pay off debts wor. you not worried ?

wahkao3

according to TS's another thread in edmw, if scb uplorry, all your shares held in custody is confiscated and use to pay off debts wor. you not worried ?
is this true? if true i am worriedddddd:(

wahkao3

Lets pull out some facts and figures. Since nobody is doing that, I will start
so there you have it. The facts and figures
66cIjqz.png

cheong79

You are another one always like to spread fear. Wow cow.....

*Shake head*

你唯恐天下不乱。

wahkao3

You are another one always like to spread fear. Wow cow.....

*Shake head*

你唯恐天下不乱。
please look at facts. what I said is true.
if not true, please present your counter arguments and we shall discuss

cheong79

please look at facts. what I said is true.
if not true, please present your counter arguments and we shall discuss

mai........ spread........ fear......... leh.......

So in 3 months time, Std Chrt no collaspe, how?

wahkao3

extracts direct from its report
form your own judgement
0gCiq9x.png

wahkao3

mai........ spread........ fear......... leh.......

So in 3 months time, Std Chrt no collaspe, how?
i never say it will collaspe hoR!
I say here are the facts and figures, please form your own judgement

Shiny Things

The threadstarter is, let's be honest here, kind of batshït insane. That, and the absolutely nuts EDMW thread (this is why I don't read EDMW, and you shouldn't either), are probably why they got banned.

What the threadstarter said is absolute rubbish; SCB holds the shares in custody for you - Stanchart doesn't have any rights over them. It's like having money in the bank. So if Stanchart were to turn up its toes, you'd just get the shares back and you'd have to find another custodian. You could move them to CDP, or DBS, or wherever.

And for what it's worth, I look at those financial statements and I see a very healthy bank with a surfeit of cheap funding and a few risk factors. They're going to take a ten-figure fine for the second round of sanctions violations, and they might well lose their dollar clearing rights. That would be a blow, and it'd suck for the share price, but BNP suffered those penalties as well and it hasn't killed them.

(Another thing to think about: ANZ has had its eye on Stanchart's Asian businesses for years, ever since they ran into trouble back in 2000 and sold the old (and lucrative) Grindlays Bank network to Stanchart. If Stanchart ever ran into trouble again, ANZ would be quite happy to take over the Asian retail biz, just like they did with RBS.)

Hymnody

The threadstarter is, let's be honest here, kind of batshït insane. That, and the absolutely nuts EDMW thread (this is why I don't read EDMW, and you shouldn't either), are probably why they got banned.

What the threadstarter said is absolute rubbish; SCB holds the shares in custody for you - Stanchart doesn't have any rights over them. It's like having money in the bank. So if Stanchart were to turn up its toes, you'd just get the shares back and you'd have to find another custodian. You could move them to CDP, or DBS, or wherever.

And for what it's worth, I look at those financial statements and I see a very healthy bank with a surfeit of cheap funding and a few risk factors. They're going to take a ten-figure fine for the second round of sanctions violations, and they might well lose their dollar clearing rights. That would be a blow, and it'd suck for the share price, but BNP suffered those penalties as well and it hasn't killed them.

(Another thing to think about: ANZ has had its eye on Stanchart's Asian businesses for years, ever since they ran into trouble back in 2000 and sold the old (and lucrative) Grindlays Bank network to Stanchart. If Stanchart ever ran into trouble again, ANZ would be quite happy to take over the Asian retail biz, just like they did with RBS.)

Thanks for sharing, Shiny Things.

henrylbh

SCB is TH's second largest in its portfolio. TH got 18.8% interest in SCB. Certainly, it would be a prize if it can be owned by TH and becomes Singapore instant international bank as DBS may never become one no matter how it tries.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.