Win 7 - flagged for using not genuine OS

Kain999

Last time I kena also. And is from official lenova laptop with preinstalled windows.
Then those laptop no CD drive one so never give the windows CD also.
In the end i buay tahan format everything install linux on it.

ricohflex

Simply go and ask the Sim Lim Square shop whether they loaded a pirated OS for you.
If they confirm it is pirated. then no issue. Just go and buy an original Windows 10 from any of the shops that sell. You cannot anyhow buy original Windows 11. You need to check whether your hardware is compatible.

dexterkim

its a desktop fixed from sls few years back.
been doing win update as per norm.
since early March, flagged by MS claiming OS not genuine

how is it possible that all these years non of such message prompt me?

Istayatdakota

hardware you using not supported in win 10. zhun bo?

or is it you die die just dont want upgrade

coyote

TS, did you just happened yo change a motherboard or cpu? Windows license is tied to a specific motherboard and cpu. If you change any of those, windows will deemed it as another pc and requires you to buy another license.

wongminmin

it is common.... they use stolen cc or student free copy. when chargeback/discover, they just disable the cdkey.

tth1311

during one of the upgrades, probably check the cd key to reflect it is genuine

coyote

Did TS even pay for a Windows license when he bought the pc from the shop?

claypot_king

ya all along have.. never stop at all :D

but ts got the non-genuine warning dunno he can upgrade or not :unsure:

Maybe the fella who sold him the pc not pro enough.

Windows 7 anti-piracy measure is a joke and they did not even bother to patch that famous fake OEM activation method.

TA200

TS, did you just happened yo change a motherboard or cpu? Windows license is tied to a specific motherboard and cpu. If you change any of those, windows will deemed it as another pc and requires you to buy another license.
none of these, only swap rams
Did TS even pay for a Windows license when he bought the pc from the shop?
bundled package, receipt gone, system about 4 years already

win_man

Try kmspico if it still works for win7. My dad desktop still win 7

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.