interesting article from the New Yorker. Open for debate :D

Does Wine from New Jersey Taste the Same as Wine from France? : The New Yorker

'Does All Wines Taste The Same?'

June 13, 2012
Does All Wine Taste the Same?
Posted by Jonah Lehrer

Editors’ Note: Portions of this post appeared in similar form in an April, 2011, post by Jonah Lehrer for Wired.com. We regret the duplication of material.

WineTasting.jpg

On May 24, 1976, the British wine merchant Steven Spurrier organized a blind tasting of French and Californian wines. Spurrier was a Francophile and, like most wine experts, didn’t expect the New World upstarts to compete with the premiers crus from Bordeaux. He assembled a panel of eleven wine experts and had them taste a variety of Cabernets blind, rating each bottle on a twenty-point scale.

The results shocked the wine world. According to the judges, the best Cabernet at the tasting was a 1973 bottle from Stag’s Leap Wine Cellars in Napa Valley. When the tasting was repeated a few years later—some judges insisted that the French wines had been drunk too young—Stag’s Leap was once again declared the winner, followed by three other California Cabernets. These blind tastings (now widely known as the Judgment of Paris) helped to legitimate Napa vineyards.

But now, in an even more surprising turn of events, another American wine region has performed far better than expected in a blind tasting against the finest French châteaus. Ready for the punch line? The wines were from New Jersey.

The tasting was closely modelled on the 1976 event, featuring the same fancy Bordeaux vineyards, such as Château Mouton Rothschild and Château Haut-Brion. The Jersey entries included bottles from the Heritage Vineyards in Mullica Hill and Unionville Vineyards in Ringoes. The nine judges were French and American wine experts.

The Judgment of Princeton didn’t quite end with a Jersey victory—a French wine was on top in both the red and white categories—but, in terms of the reassurance for those with valuable wine collections, it might as well have. Clos des Mouches only narrowly beat out Unionville Single Vineyard and two other Jersey whites, while Château Mouton Rothschild and Haut-Brion topped Heritage’s BDX. The wines from New Jersey cost, on average, about five per cent as much as their French counterparts. And then there’s the inconsistency of the judges: the scores for that Mouton Rothschild, for instance, ranged from 11 to 19.5. On the excellent blog Marginal Revolution, the economist Tyler Cowen highlights the analysis of the Princeton professor Richard Quand, who found that almost of all the wines were “statistically undistinguishable” from each other. This suggests that, if the blind tasting were held again, a Jersey wine might very well win.

What can we learn from these tests? First, that tasting wine is really hard, even for experts. Because the sensory differences between different bottles of rotten grape juice are so slight—and the differences get even more muddled after a few sips—there is often wide disagreement about which wines are best. For instance, both the winning red and white wines in the Princeton tasting were ranked by at least one of the judges as the worst.

The perceptual ambiguity of wine helps explain why contextual influences—say, the look of a label, or the price tag on the bottle—can profoundly influence expert judgment. This was nicely demonstrated in a mischievous 2001 experiment led by Frédéric Brochet at the University of Bordeaux. In the first test, Brochet invited fifty-seven wine experts and asked them to give their impressions of what looked like two glasses of red and white wine. The wines were actually the same white wine, one of which had been tinted red with food coloring. But that didn’t stop the experts from describing the “red” wine in language typically used to describe red wines. One expert praised its “jamminess,” while another enjoyed its “crushed red fruit.”

The second test Brochet conducted was even more damning. He took a middling Bordeaux and served it in two different bottles. One bottle bore the label of a fancy grand cru, the other of an ordinary vin de table. Although they were being served the exact same wine, the experts gave the bottles nearly opposite descriptions. The grand cru was summarized as being “agreeable,” “woody,” “complex,” “balanced,” and “rounded,” while the most popular adjectives for the vin de table included “weak,” “short,” “light,” “flat,” and “faulty.”

The results are even more distressing for non-experts. In recent decades, the wine world has become an increasingly quantitative place, as dependent on scores and statistics as Billy Beane. But these ratings suggest a false sense of precision, as if it were possible to reliably identify the difference between an eighty-nine-point Merlot from Jersey and a ninety-one-point blend from Bordeaux—or even a greater spread. And so we linger amid the wine racks, paralyzed by the alcoholic arithmetic. How much are we willing to pay for a few extra points?

These calculations are almost certainly a waste of time. Last year, the psychologist Richard Wiseman bought a wide variety of bottles at the local supermarket, from a five-dollar Bordeaux to a fifty-dollar champagne, and asked people to say which wine was more expensive. (All of the taste tests were conducted double-blind, with neither the experimenter nor subject aware of the actual price.) According to Wiseman’s data, the five hundred and seventy-eight participants could only pick the more expensive wine fifty-three per cent of the time, which is basically random chance. They actually performed below chance when it came to picking red wines. Bordeaux fared the worst, with a significant majority—sixty-one per cent—picking the cheap plonk as the more expensive selection.

A similar conclusion was reached by a 2008 survey of amateur wine drinkers, which found a slight negative correlation between price and happiness, “suggesting that individuals on average enjoy more expensive wines slightly less.”

These results raise an obvious question: if most people can’t tell the difference between Château Mouton Rothschild (retail: seven hundred and twenty-five dollars) and Heritage BDX (thirty-five dollars from the winery), then why do we splurge on premiers crus? Why not drink Jersey grapes instead? It seems like a clear waste of money.

The answer returns us to the sensory limitations of the mind. If these blind testings teach us anything, it’s that for the vast majority of experts and amateurs fine-grained perceptual judgments are impossible. Instead, as Brochet points out, our expectations of the wine are often more important than what’s actually in the glass. When we take a sip of wine, we don’t taste the wine first, and the cheapness or expensiveness second. We taste everything all at once, in a single gulp of thiswineisMoutonRothschild, or thiswineisfromSouthJersey. As a result, if we think a wine is cheap, then it will taste cheap. And if we think we are tasting a premier cru, then we will taste a premier cru. Our senses are vague in their instructions, and we parse their inputs based upon whatever other knowledge we can summon to the surface. It’s not that those new French oak barrels or carefully pruned vines don’t matter—it’s that the logo on the bottle and price tag often matter more.

So go ahead and buy some wine from New Jersey. But if you really want to maximize the pleasure of your guests, put a fancy French label on it. Those grapes will taste even better.

Read more Does Wine from New Jersey Taste the Same as Wine from France? : The New Yorker

stayhappy21

I couldn't join you guys for the next tasting as my tasting frequency is being controlled... And in fact I was requested not to go for wines tasting. To me, what's the meaning of life when you are not given freedom to do whatever you like? Isn't it tiring when u always trying to impose control on someone else and be upset when u can't fully control them and facing the resistant?

Nothing much to say but I wish to send condolence to myself. :(

Condolences to you mate.. I think I can understand the state and situation you are in.. Do try to do something nice and get yourself out of that sticky situation.. Flowers and chocolates sometimes work, or a nice massage perhaps?

I really do hope to meet you in person cause you do seem so wise and knowledgeable..

ceytf001

Wine Appreciation at Valle Bar Cafe

Frontier CC (behind Jurong Point) is organizing a wine appreciation at Valle Bar Cafe (5 Ridgewood Close) on 7th Jul, Sat, 4-6pm. Subsidized cost: $25/pax, but $20 if u r a PAssion card member. 6 wine labels (red, white and dessert), cheese and finger food. PM if interested, thks!

ikileo

I couldn't join you guys for the next tasting as my tasting frequency is being controlled... And in fact I was requested not to go for wines tasting. To me, what's the meaning of life when you are not given freedom to do whatever you like? Isn't it tiring when u always trying to impose control on someone else and be upset when u can't fully control them and facing the resistant?

Nothing much to say but I wish to send condolence to myself. :(

don't worry man, we will always keep u in the loop. it's ok lah, i am assuming now with your newer responsibilities, lifestyle must adapt and change a bit.

best is to get the 'controller' to like specific wines and use it as a foothold :D

but don't worry, i am sure u can work out something with your 'controller'. i am sure after a couple of weeks of good behaviour, you will be rewarded with early release.:s12:

ikileo

HWZ Wine Session July

Theme: Value Common Supermarket Wines Under $30 (full retail price, all regular supermarket chains incl carrefour)

Your wine MUST be either of the following Varietals:
- White: Chardonnay, Riesling, Sauvignon Blanc, Semillon, White Bordeaux Blend, Chenin Blanc, White Rhone Blend or blends of any of these white grapes

- Red: Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Shiraz/Syrah, Bordeaux Blend, Rhone Blend, Carmenere, Malbec, Pinot Noir, or blends of any of these red grapes

- Date: Please vote via this Google Link - http://tinyurl.com/6w3mvc4
119 Bukit Merah Lane 1, #01-40 Singapore

De Burg Food and Drink Private Limited - Food/Beverages - Singapore, Singapore | Facebook
ieatishootipost blogs Singapore's best food: De Burg: Puts most restaurant Burgers to shame
De Burg (Bukit Merah) - Singapore Food Reviews, Promotions and Information
four legged foodies: De Burg, Bukit Merah (opposite IKEA)

Remarks: Please bring your own stemware. Most burgers are within the $12-$18 price range. Even though it's burgers, I'm hoping some peeps will brings whites :D

Please everyone put in which dates you can make it on the google docs! this is the one tasting you have been waiting for! Under $30 value supermarket wines that are readily available! Please join us, don't why. the more people joining, the more different wines we get to taste.

Ok so far only myself, starhappy & looiwte has updated the sheet. the dates where all 3 are available are:

6 July Friday Night
13 July Friday Night
20 July Friday Night
21 July Sat Lunch

@reign: you keen? +1?
@starhappy & looiwte: you have +1s?

@everyone else: hey guys let me me know (PM/update google docs link). We definitely want more peeps to join us. if u don't have wine glasses let us know and I am sure we can help provide some. This will be a fun and interesting session. Noobs to wine pros are all welcome :s12::s12:

http://tinyurl.com/6w3mvc4

power789

alamak, why the location not central one...

got chance to bring my 2004 cabernet, but location a bit out for ppl who dont drive..:o

stayhappy21

got chance to bring my 2004 cabernet, but location a bit out for ppl who dont drive..:o

It's really not that bad actually.. Take the MRT to Queenstown, and take bus 195 from the side formerly known as "Queenstown Driving Test Centre."

Or Bus 61 from Vivocity (Harbourfront MRT Station).

Since we're drinking, try not to drive!

@ikileo, just myself going.
Thanks.

ikileo

If it will help get more people to join we can make it more central like in town. But just take note of corkage. I am assuming most people would be bringing reds so I chose a burger place.

Anyone else got suggestions that's not too expensive, minimal to no corkage and central? I can only think of Botak jones (our first one was held there), imperial treasure casual dining, saveur (must queue in advance). Any other suggestions? I believe we are open to more :D

ikileo

ok condor has added in his dates (thanks)

so currently it's 20th July Friday evening or 21st July Sat afternoon.

ikileo + 1
looitw + 1?
starhappy21
condor + 1?

@reign: will u be attending?

@ everyone else: pls do join us.

power789

Wah, that alone is inconvenient liao and difficult to get there.

i think orchard area will get more people going? since its central, it wouldnt be too far for people living in east or west. and its convenient mrt, lots of buses...etc.

actually any shops or restaraunts also can, i believe u should have more lobangs in central that offers free corkage? :p

ikileo

actually you'd be surprised there are a number of stores and restaurants would charge corkage. i've asked many many restaurants over the past few years on finding places with no corkage. and those that don't have corkage a lot of them is limited only to the first 1-2 bottles, after that regular corkage charges apply.

imperial treasure doesn't charge corkage but not everyone may want to spend $20-$30 pax on food alone.

most restaurants in town have a $20 and up corkage. Aston's Prime in centrepoint has corkage of $10, but everyone has to agree that they are willing to pay that extra.

you're better off finding places that are not central or in orchard. i understand your frustration on this matter but i have exhausted my search on my end and unless you can help provide some options, I am afraid and i apologize that i can't please everyone and that we would have to stick to the original location. plus the burgers are really nice lah.

looiwte

Yeah if there are such places I'd be the first to go check them out. We're dealing with the twilight zone of places that have an alcohol license (so that alcohol can be consumed there) and that allow you to bring your own stuff instead of hard selling you their own. So the next best option is a coffeeshop which can be conducive for such a gathering. Also, we're bringing easily more than two bottles, so that rules many places out as well. Some coffeeshops - selling crabs or cze char etc - even charge 5 or 10 bucks per bottle for the privilege of using their 'plastic glasses' that you'd rather eat chendol with. Their prerogative - its opportunity cost for them.

That's why we sometimes find a private location to dabao stuff over. Cheapest and fuss-free option.

Maybe one option can be the Imperial Treasure HK Cafe at Triple One Somerset? Typical Char Chan Teng stuff, but not really that much variety. If any of you prefer that, do let us know.

reign

Hi Guys sorry for the late reply. I only free on the 20th July and next day be going to Malacca, 2pax for me.

power789

actually you'd be surprised there are a number of stores and restaurants would charge corkage. i've asked many many restaurants over the past few years on finding places with no corkage. and those that don't have corkage a lot of them is limited only to the first 1-2 bottles, after that regular corkage charges apply.

imperial treasure doesn't charge corkage but not everyone may want to spend $20-$30 pax on food alone.

most restaurants in town have a $20 and up corkage. Aston's Prime in centrepoint has corkage of $10, but everyone has to agree that they are willing to pay that extra.

you're better off finding places that are not central or in orchard. i understand your frustration on this matter but i have exhausted my search on my end and unless you can help provide some options, I am afraid and i apologize that i can't please everyone and that we would have to stick to the original location. plus the burgers are really nice lah.

actually 20-30 on food is quite worth it if corkage is free? considering central location, time and $ spent on traveling is worthwhile?

with the corkage fees u pay at some other places even if food is cheap, it all adds to about there or more?

well just my suggestion that central would appeal to more, but if u want to stick to original its your choice.

i will skip this then, will join the next one when the location is central, imperial treasure sounds good. :s12:

dfstan

i agree that central location will be better option. think i have to past on this unfortunately.

ikileo

Penfolds Turns Cabernet Sauvignon Into $168,000 Art - Businessweek

Anyone has $168K lying around?

Penfolds Turns Cabernet Sauvignon Into $168,000 Art

0627_wine_630x420.jpg

On June 28, Penfolds Wines launched a limited edition of its 2004 Block 42 Cabernet Sauvignon for $168,000. That’s several times more than the original price of $225 when it was released five years ago, and Penfolds claims it’s now the most expensive wine in the world sold directly from a winery.

0627_wine_Inline405.jpg

Still, the Australian winemaker intends for this release to be more of an art piece. Its clearest distinction is the new bottle, if you can call it that. Penfolds describes it as an “ampoule,” or a sealed glass capsule, with a wooden box. Buyers are also paying for the pomp and circumstance involved in opening it: When you decide to drink the wine, Penfolds will send a winemaker with a specially designed, tungsten-tipped, sterling silver tool to cut it open. (You can always attempt to saber the bottle, but it’s not recommended.)

The glass sculpture was designed and handblown by Nick Mount, a glass artist in Adelaide, South Australia. Penfolds’s chief winemaker Peter Gago says in a release: “The ampoule project is typical of the pioneering philosophy behind Penfolds’s winemaking evolution. The collaboration with South Australia’s finest artists has been a fitting tribute for one of South Australia’s finest wines.”

This wine, first released in 2007, received excellent reviews. Wine Spectator editor Harvey Steiman wrote: “The beauty of 2004 is apparent in the Block 42, which I expect to be among the greatest wines of the vintage, and in my book, the best straight Cabernet Australia has ever made.”

It attracted so much attention that Block 42 set a record as the most expensive wine ever sold in New Zealand, when a 6-liter bottle auctioned for NZ$18,000 in 2007.

Penfolds created 12 ampoules—one for its library, one to be auctioned for charity, and 10 for sale (two in North America, two in Europe, three in Asia, and three in Australia and New Zealand), says spokeswoman Lily Lane.

ikileo

oof...what a day.

had an afternoon of tasting 11 wines (1 sparkling, 5 whites, 5 reds; all french) then off to a birthday dinner with my best friend and drank another 4 wines. Still surviving thanks to a starbucks cappuccino.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.