Wine

bigbadber

First thing you need to know is this: low alcohol doesn’t mean low acidity. Acidity comes from the malic, tartaric, acetic, citric acids and a few other ones. These occur naturally in grapes. Alcohol comes from the fermentation of the natural sugars in the wine.

ok thanks!

Sweet wine is made in a couple of ways. Two of the most common ways are late harvest and letting the grape rot. Late harvest means the grapes are left on the vines for a longer period of time, allowing them to ripen further and their natural sugars to increase. As their natural sugars increase, their natural acids decrease. Hence the wine-maker needs to pick them at the right time for a balance of sweetness and acidity.

The other method is allowing Noble Rot to set into the grapes. This is caused by the fungus Botrytis Cinerea which saps out the water content from the grapes leaving a more concentrated juice.

OMG i've been drinking juice of rotten fruits! LOL

Regardless of method, the one key thing to a sweet wine is a balance of acidity and sweetness. If a sweet wine has no acid, it will taste flabby and not focused, gobby and hard to drink. Kind of like when you drink cordial concentrate. Acidity gives it focus and balance to keep the sugars in check, like making a cordial drink and putting a squeeze of lemon inside to give it some vibrance and freshness.

yeah I like this analogy

You can have a high alcohol dessert wine that’s sweet and has high acid as well. I don’t know if you have this pre-conceived notion that higher alcohol = better wine, but this is a mindset that you should scrap. Some of the best sweet wines from Germany have low alcohol but have great balance, concentration, complexity and longevity. When tasting sweet wines you have to look beyond just the sweetness and see if there are other complexities and flavours. That’s why people age famous sweet wines like Sauternes and German Auslese/Trockenbeerenauslese etc…, so that the sweetness balances out with the multitude of additional flavours that will develop.

So when choosing sweet wines, you don’t have to look at the alcohol levels, but instead do some research (cellartracker.com) on whether it’s balanced and complex because as you appreciate wine more and more, you will want to look beyond the sweetness, no matter how yummy it may be.

yes thanks, will do that. I want to look for more sweet wines with more flavours and character. instead of those that are just plain sweet and nothing else.

Even dry red and white wines, nowadays I’m looking for something with a lower alcohol like 10%-12% for whites and 12%-13.5% for reds because sometimes the big burly 14.5%/15% alcohol wines can be tiresome to finish and wears out my palate. But that’s just my preference. The lower alcohol dry wines tend to show a little more complexity and variance of flavours rather than a one note fruit cake.

As for moscatos, you have to wean yourself out of the cheapo stuff because at the higher end Italians make very good moscato d’asti but those start in the high $30s and go into the $50s. There is a time and place for everything. If you are having some rich seafood a nice balanced moscato will go brilliantly with it, or you can use it to pair an appetizer if you are throwing a house party. If you want some brands I’m sure we can help you out with that.

I can take some of the dry stuff, but not too dry. and those too acidic (or sourish to me) I cant appreciate as well. thats why I dunno how to appreciate red wines. whites are still fine to me.

I've tried 2 italian moscato d'asti, forgot the name, wasnt easy to remember. i didnt fancy it, too plain. cost about $20+ or max $30 each. perhaps I shld look for costlier ones?

WHITE ZIN
For white zin, it’s still around I think. I don’t really drink the stuff but they are good for casual relaxing drink. I didn’t know retailers pulled it off the shelves. If you can locate who imports it you can contact them directly. Rose is different, don’t expect rose to be sweet. The best rose wines are dry and taste similar to a white wine with a hint of red fruits in them as well. Perhaps over time you can try more dry style of wines. Understandably sweetness is a very easy thing for any palate to accommodate and be seduced by, but look to expand your palate and try new stuff like drier style wines because lots of complexities and pleasure can be derived from them as well. Oh and you can open your beringer now, don’t keep these stuff. They are meant to be drunk young so that you can enjoy the burst of fruit.

yah I shld open and drink it. I always tend to keep my wines too long. like I still hv a few '07 and '08 ones LOL. bad mistake right? I know its meant to be drank young, not meant to be kept or aged. cos sometimes cant find the right pple to drink it with me. and drinking it alone will take me 2 days.

RACKS
As for wine racks, to be honest, I dunno. You can check ikea I guess or perhaps even a carpenter can do it. Many people in US DIY it themselves so I would believe there’s lots of tutorials online on how to make your own. But do you

okie thanks. will bookmark this!

bigbadber

Space my friend.. no space.Hehe,have not think of the cost yet, will have to start saving for it. The charges are $3.60 per mth.

Btw, Since bigbadber mentioned abt the moscatos, my gals friend prefer Brown Brother to Wolfblass... What are yr views and what other maker do you recommend? Haven't really tasted other brand beside these 2.

can I humbly highlight 2 brands?

cos I went to IMM Giant today, I saw quite many manyyy labels on offer.

the one I like, Nederburg Late Harvest, only $19.90. normal price $30.

and Woodbridge Robert Mondavi Moscato, at $23.XX. normal price I think close to $30 too. and if you have the Giant book of discount coupons, u can get $3 off a bottle. if u dont have, u can kapoh the coupon that is being pasted on the shelf :s13:

I would want to buy if not for the fact that I've aldy got some bottles sitting untouched. sigh.

maybe I'll drink my RM and go down to buy more. $20 for RM is cheap. they hardly have discounts for RM. the last time I saw it was a few months back at Vivocity wine far. priced at $25 per bottle, buy 3 get 1 free. I regretted not buying :(

I saw Wolfblass yellow label Moscato too. forgot about the price. buy 2 bottles and u get 2 crystal wine glass free. but Im not sure how good is this, never tried b4.

I personally find Nederburg Late Harvest and Woodbridge Robert Mondavi Moscato nicer than Brown Brothers Moscato, which many people like. I find both are more, erm,...... 'winey' ? :s13:

pardon my noob description

ikileo

I can take some of the dry stuff, but not too dry. and those too acidic (or sourish to me) I cant appreciate as well. thats why I dunno how to appreciate red wines. whites are still fine to me.

I've tried 2 italian moscato d'asti, forgot the name, wasnt easy to remember. i didnt fancy it, too plain. cost about $20+ or max $30 each. perhaps I shld look for costlier ones?

You could try more fruity reds like new world pinot noirs and Grenache. They are rounder, generally less astringent and typically have nice ripeness of fruits.

In terms of sweet wine, what are u looking for specifically? I spoke of 3 brands in an earlier post that u can check out.

don't apologize for your tastings note and descriptions. these describe how you experience your wine so don't worry about the vocab. as u try more and more, the vocab will naturally expand.

looiwte

i am going for this on Monday (i on leave that day, so zhun one)

http://www.simplyitaliangreatwines.c...embre2011.html

I wanna go too! Don't mind taking leave just for that, good stuff!

I saw Wolfblass yellow label Moscato too. forgot about the price. buy 2 bottles and u get 2 crystal wine glass free. but Im not sure how good is this, never tried b4.

My sis-in-law recommended this to me before. It is the not-so-sweet but pretty fizzy type, but I didn't find it as good as the D'Astis. On offer it can be in the low 20s.

I've tried quite a few D'Astis from the usual suspects Fontanafredda, Batisiolo, Strada d'Oro etc, and they are so-so. I can recommend ones by Marchesi di Barolo (available at Jasons, 360, Marketplace @39.90, go for the 2009 rather than the 2010) and Saracco (1855 Bottle Shop ~40). These have that extra fresh and fragrant fruits and zesty, frizzante qualities.

To add on to the good Piemonte producers ikileo recommended, there's also Vietti, available at Wine Gallery.

http://www.vietti.com/pagine/eng/vi...vietti_moscato_asti_cascinetta_anno2010.lasso
http://www.thewinegallery.com.sg/

Went for the SUTL sale on Sunday, not much in terms of tasting, only the Lindemans and Crossing. There were discounts for producers like Penfolds (higher end range), Bleasdale, Fontanafredda, Allegrini and Batisiolo but not really fantastic deals. I bought two rieslings from Rheingau producer Bathasar Ress, a 2007 Regional range Spatlese and a 2008 Schloss Reichartshausen (a community appellation rather than single vineyard) kabinett. Also a half-bottle of 2003 Fontanafredda Barolo. Though not a good vintage Barolo, I'm just curious to see how an eight-year-old drinks.

Also, I should be going for the opening of this new wine bar at Boat Quay, opened by the L'Operetta Group. I'm a fan of their Italian restaurants, from the authentic Neopolitan Pizzeria in Icon Village, to the nice, sit-down Enoteca at Boat Quay. For 30 bucks you get free flow tapas and a selection of wines. Interestingly, they've tied up with Straits Wine for this event.

bigbadber

You could try more fruity reds like new world pinot noirs and Grenache. They are rounder, generally less astringent and typically have nice ripeness of fruits.

In terms of sweet wine, what are u looking for specifically? I spoke of 3 brands in an earlier post that u can check out.

don't apologize for your tastings note and descriptions. these describe how you experience your wine so don't worry about the vocab. as u try more and more, the vocab will naturally expand.

hmmm ok thanks.

I will look out for Pinot Noir. Grenache? I dont recall seeing this type of grape before. theres so many! so many brands and labels, from so many countries! arghhh

I tend to only beo a few from countries like aust, US...... the rest, esp french, italian.... cos they are non english... aiyoh, i dont bother, cos cant read and i wont be able to remember whatever i cant read nor understand. i dun hv wine kakis who part some knowledge to me also. so all i know is amateurish or self opinions

which 3 brands ah? these ones?

[That’s why people age famous sweet wines like Sauternes and German Auslese/Trockenbeerenauslese etc…,]

what kind of sweet wines im looking for? just drinkable whites lah. dun need to be too sweet like dessert wines. i just dont want them to be too sourish/acidic.... like reds, which turns my face into a dried out sour plum. and not those too plain types where it simply tastes like ribena to me. $30 bottle of ribena. aiyoh, i go kopitiam order 1 carton better. :s13:

ikileo

hmmm ok thanks.

I will look out for Pinot Noir. Grenache? I dont recall seeing this type of grape before. theres so many! so many brands and labels, from so many countries! arghhh

I tend to only beo a few from countries like aust, US...... the rest, esp french, italian.... cos they are non english... aiyoh, i dont bother, cos cant read and i wont be able to remember whatever i cant read nor understand. i dun hv wine kakis who part some knowledge to me also. so all i know is amateurish or self opinions

which 3 brands ah? these ones?

[That’s why people age famous sweet wines like Sauternes and German Auslese/Trockenbeerenauslese etc…,]

what kind of sweet wines im looking for? just drinkable whites lah. dun need to be too sweet like dessert wines. i just dont want them to be too sourish/acidic.... like reds, which turns my face into a dried out sour plum. and not those too plain types where it simply tastes like ribena to me. $30 bottle of ribena. aiyoh, i go kopitiam order 1 carton better. :s13:

join us next time we have outing lah. it's a great way to enjoy many different types of wine for a nice meal and meet with the other wine kakis here. it's always fun and we have a good time. you keen?

Condor

I recieved the invite too!

how did you get the invite? which distributor invited you? i am on leave and thought of going since one of the room is open to wine lovers so i guess that means open to public. but would like to attend the guided tasting.

ikileo

This was from Grand Vin as they are having a booth there.
Check with them as they had 50 places, first come first served.

I dunno if it's a open public event as they said it was a trade event, but also open to wine lovers so i also confused. best is to check with them.

Condor

This was from Grand Vin as they are having a booth there.
Check with them as they had 50 places, first come first served.

I dunno if it's a open public event as they said it was a trade event, but also open to wine lovers so i also confused. best is to check with them.

sigh... called them up and the guided tasting is no longer available. the walkaround tasting is open to all though. i'll probably be there and register for the guided tasting and hopefully some people do not turn up and i can take their place.

looiwte

Did some Googling, see if you can register here, looks like they do state that although it's a trade event, it's also open to wine-lovers. Maybe you'll just need to register here, with application form and contact:

http://www.felicitasglobal.com/inner.asp?type=submenu&pid=247
http://www.felicitasglobal.com/Uploads/SimplyItalian_RegistrationForm_New.pdf

Programme & Participating Wineries:
http://www.felicitasglobal.com/Uploads/Programme.jpg
http://www.felicitasglobal.com/Uploads/ParticipatingWineriesSingapore.pdf

This is also part of the WRX 2011:
http://winerestaurantexperience.com/?p=1534

ikileo

went over to grand vin today to pick up my wines and i asked about the event. they said the guided tastings are currently fully booked.

hkm520240

Collected your HdV Syrah? I am also in Grand Vin's mailing list but never buy anything from them because the location is too far off. Same for the Auric Pacific.

ikileo

yup collected it. will be opening it tomorrow evening for my dinner gathering at my place for my work team.

Just put my marinated meats in the fridge and just finished my terrines that i have also put in the fridge to set.

good thing i stay near Bouna Vista haha...

hkm520240

Yeah enjoy your dinner and let us know how 02 HdV Syrah tastes. It should be drinking nicely now.

looiwte

Yup that's a good one and I am interested to go...

I have signed up for the Wolf Blass tasting on 29 Nov and I'm looking forward to taste the vertical Black Label ('93,96,98,02,05) and Platinum Label ('98,02,06) which I have never tasted before.

http://www.asianmasters.com.sg/images/menu/Wolf_Blass_Wine_Tasting__2010_.pdf

I think I've only gone as far as the Grey Label (Shiraz). Seems like vertical tastings are really very worth the money to taste these very premium, and aged wines. I mean, how else is one to try a '93 - almost 20 years - Black Label?

As I read more about the wine world, producers and such, especially on local retail sites like Wine Directions, Wine Exchange etc. I'm constantly amazed at the number of quality winemakers out there, even from Australia, though a big country, in terms of wine output still just outside the top 5. From the conglomerates like Wolf Blass, Penfolds etc to other popular makers like Yalumba, d'Areneberg, De Bortoli, Pikes etc. I think one can easily name 50 recognisable producers off the top of the head...
Pretty amazing to me, though maybe shouldn't be so surprised considering the top countries export several billion dollars worth of wine each year.

Btw hkm, the Franciscan Estate wines are on sale at NTUC :) I saw your tasting notes, as well as others on CT for the Cabernet and Merlot and they sound like a good buy. Don't often get the chance to try US wines at a good price, I've only tried the Irony wines (at NTUC too), and they are decent without being spectacular.

hkm520240

Refer back to my CT tasting notes on '06 Franciscan Cab, I did enjoy very much on this wines judging from the price I paid. Yup I noted the Fairprice/Finest offer too and I saw the '08 vintage on the shelf. I plan to get total 6 bot (with other wines) to enjoy further 5% disc as I don't have Just Wines card. ;)

hkm520240

I think I've only gone as far as the Grey Label (Shiraz). Seems like vertical tastings are really very worth the money to taste these very premium, and aged wines. I mean, how else is one to try a '93 - almost 20 years - Black Label?

As I read more about the wine world, producers and such, especially on local retail sites like Wine Directions, Wine Exchange etc. I'm constantly amazed at the number of quality winemakers out there, even from Australia, though a big country, in terms of wine output still just outside the top 5. From the conglomerates like Wolf Blass, Penfolds etc to other popular makers like Yalumba, d'Areneberg, De Bortoli, Pikes etc. I think one can easily name 50 recognisable producers off the top of the head...
Pretty amazing to me, though maybe shouldn't be so surprised considering the top countries export several billion dollars worth of wine each year.

I have not try any Grey Label, only recently had a Gold Label(Cab Sau). The Wolf Blass tasting ain't not cheap but the wines on tasting are expensive bottle that I will not buy and not mention some back vintages are nearly impossible to find. I especially like vertical tasting as it helps me to learn how the wines could evolve over the years. As a true wine lovers I rather spend 100 bucks on such tasting than wines dinner with fine dining but mediocre wines.

Australian wines are very popular in Singapore and from my viewpoint it has a very strong strategy in placing(availability), pricing and promotion(PR).

Australia ranked among top 3 or 4 wines exporting countries although their production is outside top 5. That said their local consumption isn't strong and they rely a lot on export market. In fact they are facing excess wines production although mainly come from the Riverland(Cheap mass production wines). Hence they are actively exploit on foreign markets and now the focus is on Asia as their main markets US & UK are slowing down due to economic and currency exchange reasons. I suspect proximity has made Singapore a favorite export markets with a lot of brand names being brought into Singapore. Almost all the big names are represented here in Singapore.

Australia has a very good system to promote their wines and built up the brand names. For this, local pulication WinState, Gourmet Traveller wines and James Halliday are the main contributors. There are close to 3000 wineries in Australia and mostly are covered in his Australian Wines Companion. I have the apps installed in my iPhone and I often use that apps to read useful info such as TN, cellaring recommendation and price. Worth mention that there is this Langton Classification http://www.langtons.com.au/Wine/ClassificationView.aspx (now in its 5th edition) trying to classify Australian Wines.

The Australian WET (Wines Equalisation Tax) that based on value has made Australian premium wines cheaper outside Australia. I once heard from an Aussie expat that the premium Australian wines are so cheap in Singapore that he often drink those wines that he would not drink back in Australia. Just look at the recent WEA Oct clearance sales and you can find many wines are selling cheaper than they would be sold in Australia and those are not expensive wines too.

Admittedly I also heard from Australian before that they complained Australian Wines are expensive in Singapore but I believe it largely apply to below AUD$30 wines (and sometimes due to individual wines retailer's margin policy). A basic Jacob's Creek is only A$7-11 in Aus but here selling S$24-30 due to Singapore imposed a volumetric wines tax. With intense competitions in the local wines market, I still believe I can find a comparatively value buy in that category.

looiwte

Thanks for sharing your thoughts. Yes, I think it's true that if you do your research well there are very good Australia wine deals here in Sg due to the WET, and because of distributor pricing, seems you either stay away from certain big producers, or get wines 30 bucks and above.

Btw if you want more NTUC wines to finish your set of six I can recommend the Lodolo Nuova Vino Nobile Montepulciano (Ruffino), it's also on sale (though less discount) at 38.50. Though I'm not very experienced with VNdM, I think this wine offers fair value and potential for mid-term aging. The one in the stores should be 2007, an excellent Tuscan vintage.
Also, the Franciscans I see at Finest Clementi are 2006 ones. I wonder if there are any 2007s around, that was supposed to be a good Napa vintage.

Beta_Tester

i had two kinds of red wine yesterday. One for Wedding Lunch and One for wedding dinner. And a Dom Perignon to cap it off.

Lunch - 2007 Nipozzano Riserva Chinti Rufina. i took quite a lot of glass. i lost count. But seems like a lot of the older folks like this. i gather that they say it is not siap n compliment well with the food! hahahaha

Dinner - 2006 Chateau Bonnet (merlot and cabernet sauvignon blend i think). i drank like 1 bottle of these. i had these over Vietnamese-French cuisine.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.