~ Winter @ Hokkaido ~

xiaojing11

Went to Hokkaido on Feb 2013 period and the night temperature is killing ~ negative 14 degrees @ Asahikawa while watching the night event.

I wore 2 pairs of thick socks in Feb this year for the ice festival, and my feet still froze.
depending on your cold tolerance, need to really get enough winter clothing!
I didn't even want to take out my gloves to take pictures!

Precisely. Tht's the reason y i dun wan go in feb'. Did think of going during cny period, but after c the weather forecast, dun wan liao. Dun wan go there and get affected by the freezing cold weather, despite feb' got the snow festival.

I think no matter how well equipped u r, the weather will still affect somehow, especially if one canot tahan coldness.

xiaojing11

I found Otaru cold due to the windchill. Layer your clothes -

For snow you'd be better off visiting in Jan/Feb. I was in Hokkaido in the week leading up to Xmas and it didn't snow once in the daytime, only at night.

So, even if you go in dec, don't assume that you will definitely see falling snow.
It depends on your luck. You will increase your chance to see snowfall if you push your travel dates to 3rd or 4th week Dec, rather than 1st week of Dec.

Asahikawa and Niseko will be colder than Sapporo and Noboribetsu.
Expect Otaru to be windy due to close proximity to the sea.

@hgkiaboon - Ok, thanks for the winter wear info. :)
Which year u went?

@samtcy - Thanks! Hightlighted the main pt to me. So i guess end of dec' and early jan' is better.

Actually y i choose dec' is for the xmas feel, can c deco and experience a bit of snow (not heavy snow definitely!!). I found online that nov' onwards already got some snow deco.

To ski is a bonus, not so imprt.

Can tahan the weather anot is 1 thing. Another thing is, i read some blog that, traveled during feb' will encounter train delay/cancel due to snow blizzard, affect the itinerary. Difficult to walk/travel ard also due to heavy snow. Due to the coldness, hv to hide indoor most of the time.
It spoil the trip somehow. Or u all wan share whether these r true?

angcsbenny

i think snow blizzard and stuff really depends on your luck but most probably higher chance in jan/feb, weather is changing globally so nobody knows. this year even tokyo/ kanto area had heavy blizzard which was extremly rare.

i feel that as for the coldness you will definitely need a day or two to adapt coming from the tropical climate but the gear is imperative. i went to korea two years back and it was -15 degrees, just as you had said it was so dam cold everyone prefer to stay indoor rather than do sight seeing however when we went for ski with the ski clothes provided i hardly felt any coldness (not because i skiied intensively more like playing with snow only) then did i realise how trashy my winter gear is. i think down alone is not enuff, you need an outer shell with windproof capability if you are really afraid of the cold that is.

keigo0

After Kansai autumn trip and Tokyo spring trip, next aim is hokkaido liao. :o

I am interested in hokkaido winter (and summer).

If i can't make it this winter, will postpone to next year.

Jus wan to ask.. Anyone traveling there this winter (dec')? Or wan to share their experience as a solo traveler?

Am interested in Otaru, Niseko Snow Resort, Asahikawa Zoo, Noboribetsu and Sapporo. :)
i was at Hokkaido during the 2nd and 3rd week of dec 2012, and the streets were already packing with snow.
during the first 3 days, I stayed at toyoko inn susukino - cheap and good hotel. encountered heavy snowfall for 2 days. avg temp was about -5degC.
after that I left Sapporo for skiing at tomamu resort which is about a few hours train ride - train station is ulu most of the train. have to call them for the shuttle bus. tomamu tower hotel is decent. the skiing areas were about 5 mins bus ride away from the hotel. slopes not very packed, took some skiing lessons as well.
went back to Sapporo after tomamu. stayed at hotel gracery - about 5 mins walk in the underground mall. went to noboreibetsu for their onsen. spent about 3 nights doing the usual touristy stuff - otaru, Sapporo temple, xmas market at odori park. did encountered some snowfall during the second stay.
I wore layer - Top: TNF innerwear, cotton tshirt, fleece jacket and light down jacket. wore a beanie and neck warmer as well. Bottom: TNF innerwear + trekking pants. water proof trekking shoes. and gloves as well.

hgkiaboon

@hgkiaboon - Ok, thanks for the winter wear info. :)
Which year u went?

2013. Was in Hokkaido in the week leading up to Christmas. Since you're interested in the "xmas feel", you can drop by Odori park at night for the Munich Christmas market and the Sapporo white illumination. Sapporo Factory will have a large xmas tree in their atrium, you can consider taking the kan88 bus there to have a look/shop.

xiaojing11

Confirmed traveling in Jan' le!! :) Am very worried abt the snow season, so need u all advise. Will like to ask abt the winter wear...

Here are the items that I know are necessary for the winter wear, Wintertime and Universal Traveller should be gd enough rite? (As they r hving some sales) Or Uniqlo one warm enough? I scared if were to buy in Japan, a bit last min.
Any specific name or technical terms I should look out for? Like insulation, etc.
I only know tht woollen sweater is more recommended and with insulation.
What abt the other items like snow hat / shawl / socks / gloves also must b insulation, waterproof and windproof?

Winter wear list:
- ear muffs
- snow hat discount $9.90
- shawl
- wool socks discount $9.90 (retail $14.90 to $19.90)
- gloves
- 1st layer: thermal wear 3 layer fine wool for below 25 to 5degrees $59 (retail $99)
- 2nd layer: woollen sweater / fleece and hooked jacket (with insulation)
- 3rd layer: down feather jacket / polyester 90%
- windproof pants / uniqlo warm easy pants 2990yen
- shoes spikes
- heat pad

Pls advise, thanks!

(Note: I am extremely scared of colddd. *brrr bbrrr*)

angcsbenny

if very scare of cold add wind/water proof outer. gloves wise get a solid gore-tex one, my experience with full leather and wool wasn't good.

evilerniex

yah, wind and water proof outer is recommended. down will loss its effectiveness if it gets wet

samtcy

After Kansai autumn trip and Tokyo spring trip, next aim is hokkaido liao. :o

I am interested in hokkaido winter (and summer).

If i can't make it this winter, will postpone to next year.

Jus wan to ask.. Anyone traveling there this winter (dec')? Or wan to share their experience as a solo traveler?

Am interested in Otaru, Niseko Snow Resort, Asahikawa Zoo, Noboribetsu and Sapporo. :)

I've visited Hokkaido during winter in Dec (2010) and in Feb (2012), and will be going again in Feb (2015).

My visit during Dec 2010:
Go Away, Sam...: Japan 2010

My visit during Feb 2012:
Go Away, Sam...: Japan 2012 (Feb)

During my Dec visit to Hokkaido (Sapporo, Otaru, Lake Toya, Noboribetsu), we didn't encountered any snowfall at all during that trip. It was early Dec I believe. Temperature was bearable, around 5 degrees i think.
Heard from my Hokkaido friend that it snowed in Sapporo the day before I arrived there, and a few hours after my flight departed from Chitose. -_-

luci3l

Hello all.

Check with you all ah . . How do i book the ANA domestic fare to enjoy the special discount if taking ANA from SG to Tokyo? I need to book the international flight first ? Den when i proceed to book the domestic fare, how do they know if i have booked the international flight ?

Thanks !!!

xiaojing11

@ benny and niex - do u all mean add a 4th layer windbreaker outside the down jacket?

@ matt - i also dun know wat shoe to wear, lol, only know must hv shoes spike. Thinking of buying snow boots at japan, but scared can't find suitable. Any recommendation wat to wear?

Anyway, i wun travel to snow country after hokkaido, so dun wan spend too much on the winter wear.

Becos my prev 2 japan trips i think i no wear proper warm clothings, tht's y end up freezing cold and tortured my body and health. So this time i make sure i protect from head to body, in a super freezing snow place.

Thanks thanks!

samtcy

Confirmed traveling in Jan' le!! :) Am very worried abt the snow season, so need u all advise. Will like to ask abt the winter wear...

Here are the items that I know are necessary for the winter wear, Wintertime and Universal Traveller should be gd enough rite? (As they r hving some sales) Or Uniqlo one warm enough? I scared if were to buy in Japan, a bit last min.
Any specific name or technical terms I should look out for? Like insulation, etc.
I only know tht woollen sweater is more recommended and with insulation.
What abt the other items like snow hat / shawl / socks / gloves also must b insulation, waterproof and windproof?

Winter wear list:
- ear muffs I got mine from Daiso, used it for 2 trips liao :)
- snow hat discount $9.90
- shawl
- wool socks discount $9.90 (retail $14.90 to $19.90)
- gloves Get decent ones pls. I feel that gloves are 1 of the most impt winter item which you must have for a winter trip to Hokkaido. It is a very uncomfortable feeling if your fingers become cold.
- 1st layer: thermal wear 3 layer fine wool for below 25 to 5degrees $59 (retail $99)
- 2nd layer: woollen sweater / fleece and hooked jacket (with insulation)
- 3rd layer: down feather jacket / polyester 90%
- windproof pants / uniqlo warm easy pants 2990yen
- shoes spikes convenience stores in Hokkaido should sell these. I bought mine from 7-11 (or was it Lawson's) at Sapporo. Costs just a few hundred yen.
- heat pad Bought mine from Japan.

Pls advise, thanks!

(Note: I am extremely scared of colddd. *brrr bbrrr*)

Response in red

xiaojing11

if very scare of cold add wind/water proof outer. gloves wise get a solid gore-tex one, my experience with full leather and wool wasn't good.

Solid gore-tex from where?

full leather and wool wasn't good, which layer u mean?

angcsbenny

I'm referring to gloves for wool n leather. Goretex is a kind of material, north face should have those

Sent from GAGT Android App

kifo

If really scared cold the best thing is not goretex gloves...

but ragg wool mittens like this ->
http://www.amazon.com/Heat-Factory-...8&qid=1415432795&sr=8-4&keywords=wool+mittens

It will make sure your fingers roast with minus temperatures outside...

And wear thick long wool hats that you can tuck in your ears, and a merino wool neck gaiter you can pull up over your nose. Surely guarantee you roast even walking in a blizzard. Now the latest tacky winter item are those 6-in-1 fleece hood, just google for it.

xiaojing11

If really scared cold the best thing is not goretex gloves...

but ragg wool mittens like this ->
Amazon.com : Heat Factory Fleece-Lined Ragg Wool Gloves with Fold Back Pocket for Heat Factory Hand Warmer, Men's : Cold Weather Gloves : Sports & Outdoors

It will make sure your fingers roast with minus temperatures outside...

And wear thick long wool hats that you can tuck in your ears, and a merino wool neck gaiter you can pull up over your nose. Surely guarantee you roast even walking in a blizzard. Now the latest tacky winter item are those 6-in-1 fleece hood, just google for it.
The mittens u use before? How u know is gd? No indicate whether windproof or insulation anot leh? The material looks like those...

Actually with winter hat, ear muff is not necessary rite?
Yes! The merino wool neck gaiter is very gd!! Can also protect the nose and mouth. Thn add the winter hat. But sg got sells? With nice colour one.
Yea! The 6-in-1 fleece hood is also very gd!! But design like not nice.

If i add a 4th layer windbreaker after down jacket can help protect against the wind rite?

Thanks for the recommendation! :)

kifo

The mittens u use before? How u know is gd? No indicate whether windproof or insulation anot leh? The material looks like those...

Actually with winter hat, ear muff is not necessary rite?
Yes! The merino wool neck gaiter is very gd!! Can also protect the nose and mouth. Thn add the winter hat. But sg got sells? With nice colour one.
Yea! The 6-in-1 fleece hood is also very gd!! But design like not nice.

If i add a 4th layer windbreaker after down jacket can help protect against the wind rite?

Thanks for the recommendation! :)

Of course I have a mitt so I know. But my mitt is the completely enclosed type, cannot open the top. It is too warm most of the time. Maybe next time I go to Antarctica I will bring along.

Yes if you are afraid of the cold, a neck gaiter is the best. Some neck gaiters can double as a hat. I also have a few neck gaiters, but they are all the thinner types, either polypropylene or some base layer materials. Cos wearing neck gaiters is very warm.

samtcy

Do u all get special winter shoes here or at Sapporo ?
Going solo in Feb .

My first pair of winter boots was from a ladies shoe shop along Osaka near Dotonbori for less than 1000yen.

After my 1st pair wore out, I bought my 2nd pair (with a better quality than the cheapo 1st pair) from ABC mart in Tokyo.

Since I need my fingers to operate the buttons on my DSLR camera, so the glove I use these days is the half open mitten type...I bought mine from a travel shop in Marina Square about 1yr+ back. Cost about SGD40-50.
The material feels like fleece, but not exactly like fleece since it is pretty good in keeping warm. Sometimes, i can even insert small packet of heatpack into the mitten's open flap.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.