~ Winter @ Hokkaido ~

kifo

Yes the half open mitt can be very nice and warm, plus you can stuff a heatpack into that fingers' flap cover. But the leh ceh thing is having to open and close the flap all the time. So I don't use mitts nowadays cod it is so troublesome. And when I go hiking, I need grip stuff with fingers all the time (poles, chains, ropes, etc) and it is too freezing cold to leave the fingers part exposed always.

fuzzybear

if she dont plan to go snow country after this and on low budget
why not ask friend who go before and loan it?

as its bad to have bad equipment for a snow country like hokkiado and in the end spioilt your trip and suffer in the end.

i use a mitten glove too as i use camera and my handphone too
my glove is made with polartec

i did wrote before my suggestiong for u xiaojing lor
headgear if u worry just get a cap which can cover tyour ear too lor
if soo scare of cold

for me i use a northface cap allthought in the end i dont use it in end even in record snow fall in tokyo and sapporo

as i adapted to the cold liao and i enjoy having snow falling onto my head and make my head wet ahahh make myself all white hair in the end ahhah

well u can get a cheap windbreaker cum hoody to wear over your down jacket lor

as i use a 4 way uniqlo jacket before in record snow fall in tokyo is helps too as it dont feel too warm when i walk indoor and aslo keep my warm outdoor

but if temp fall below subzero best get proper equipments lor
as sometimes is dont loooks cold but the wind chill is a big factor too

galacticnick

Hello all.

Check with you all ah . . How do i book the ANA domestic fare to enjoy the special discount if taking ANA from SG to Tokyo? I need to book the international flight first ? Den when i proceed to book the domestic fare, how do they know if i have booked the international flight ?

Thanks !!!

are you referring to the 10,800 yen experience japan fare?
https://www.ana.co.jp/wws/sg/e/wws_common/promotion/experience_jp/

yes, you need to book your international flight (which does not have to be with ana) first, as you need to key in your international flight e-ticket number or booking code when booking your domestic flight.

Wood41

Is Fleece good for Hokkaido February travel?
Uniqlo is promoting it ......

kifo

Is Fleece good for Hokkaido February travel?
Uniqlo is promoting it ......

Fleece is good for cold. It is soft and light, and since it is synthetic, it dries easily if it gets wet. However it is not windproof or waterproof unless the manufacturer layers it together with a windproof or waterproof layer/membrane. But by doing so, the fleece material usually becomes heavier and loses that softness. These layered fleece items are usually termed as softshells.

On not so windy days, any fleece top will add a lot of warmth to your attire. On windy or rainy days, it is necessary to supplement a plain fleece layer with a windbreaker or a rain jacket.

xiaojing11

if she dont plan to go snow country after this and on low budget
why not ask friend who go before and loan it?

as its bad to have bad equipment for a snow country like hokkiado and in the end spioilt your trip and suffer in the end.

i use a mitten glove too as i use camera and my handphone too
my glove is made with polartec

i did wrote before my suggestiong for u xiaojing lor
headgear if u worry just get a cap which can cover tyour ear too lor
if soo scare of cold

for me i use a northface cap allthought in the end i dont use it in end even in record snow fall in tokyo and sapporo

as i adapted to the cold liao and i enjoy having snow falling onto my head and make my head wet ahahh make myself all white hair in the end ahhah

well u can get a cheap windbreaker cum hoody to wear over your down jacket lor

as i use a 4 way uniqlo jacket before in record snow fall in tokyo is helps too as it dont feel too warm when i walk indoor and aslo keep my warm outdoor

but if temp fall below subzero best get proper equipments lor
as sometimes is dont loooks cold but the wind chill is a big factor too

Yes, but i canot borrow everything rite, need to buy some myself also.
Everyone cold tolerance is diff lah. Gd tht u already used to the snow weather.
Tokyo and Sapporo weather canot compare?
But i rem u r the one who commented tht uniqlo one not warm enough (light down jacket).
No c any 4 way jacket at uniqlo.

xiaojing11

Where u all buy your merino wool neck gaiter and mitten? Sg winterwear shops got sell or should buy online?

If the winter hat can cover ears, ear muffs still necessary?

Thanks!

kifo

Where u all buy your merino wool neck gaiter and mitten? Sg winterwear shops got sell or should buy online?

If the winter hat can cover ears, ear muffs still necessary?

Thanks!

ear muffs are unnecessary if you are wearing hats. Even as fashion accessory, ear muffs are used in lieu of hats usually.

Since these are small items, maybe you should buy them online.

fuzzybear

Yes, but i canot borrow everything rite, need to buy some myself also.
Everyone cold tolerance is diff lah. Gd tht u already used to the snow weather.
Tokyo and Sapporo weather canot compare?
But i rem u r the one who commented tht uniqlo one not warm enough (light down jacket).
No c any 4 way jacket at uniqlo.

ya i ddid say uniqlo is not as warm as real branding lor
but i did say i test on tokyo record snow season this 2014

so u need to do some layering lor
as the 4 way uniqlo coat is a dual layer
a ultra light down and a water and wind proof coat with hood

its for mens only but ladys i dont see those kind but ladies i do see uniqlo got new model but not all outlet carry those try those bigger outlet

actualy for neck warmer they is some with inbuilt battery to warm u much more than regular one

agreed with bro kifo ear muff is more for looks
if the hat or cap can protect its nicely is functional

its up to the person lookingat functional or for the looks
as if a person cant endure the cold is worthless to go for looks and suffer in the end and spoilt the trip too

xiaojing11

ya i ddid say uniqlo is not as warm as real branding lor
but i did say i test on tokyo record snow season this 2014

so u need to do some layering lor
as the 4 way uniqlo coat is a dual layer
a ultra light down and a water and wind proof coat with hood

its for mens only but ladys i dont see those kind but ladies i do see uniqlo got new model but not all outlet carry those try those bigger outlet

actualy for neck warmer they is some with inbuilt battery to warm u much more than regular one

agreed with bro kifo ear muff is more for looks
if the hat or cap can protect its nicely is functional

its up to the person lookingat functional or for the looks
as if a person cant endure the cold is worthless to go for looks and suffer in the end and spoilt the trip too

Oic, thanks bear.
Wat abt this uniqlo down jacket, japan selling much cheaper. Or else i jus borrow.
WOMEN Down Coat | UNIQLO

The north face or amazon gaiter is better in keeping warm and windproof? From wat i read, is amazon. Any advise?

As for the gloves, i will get mitten one from the amazon, as advise by some of u. :)
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B000SORT3E/ref=twister_B00CEW28NE

@ kifo and bear - Ya, tht's y i am puzzled, how come pple wear ear muffs, thinking does it really keep warm? I no need ear muffs jus to look gd, waste money also. Or else, like samtcy said daiso got sells, cheap one will do, anyway it's optional.

xiaojing11

jimmy_sg

Precisely. Tht's the reason y i dun wan go in feb'. Did think of going during cny period, but after c the weather forecast, dun wan liao. Dun wan go there and get affected by the freezing cold weather, despite feb' got the snow festival.

I think no matter how well equipped u r, the weather will still affect somehow, especially if one canot tahan coldness.

Hi xiaojing11, u r a gal? Admire your courage, dare to go there alone during winter.

I also same situation as you. Hoping to see the Sapporo Snow Festival but scared of the extreme weather. Heard it can get to -10 degrees!

I also dun have anything for winter, if I'm going think will be getting headache on what to get... =(

Btw, what is your travel dates?

fuzzybear

Hi xiaojing11, u r a gal? Admire your courage, dare to go there alone during winter.

I also same situation as you. Hoping to see the Sapporo Snow Festival but scared of the extreme weather. Heard it can get to -10 degrees!

I also dun have anything for winter, if I'm going think will be getting headache on what to get... =(

Ya she is a girl

Anyway I check for u Jing"er haha the ladies down Jacket is $169 the one looks decent enough
But also prepare to do layer

As I think u also recalls sapporo girl who is a native in sapporo use a uniqlo down also not thin too it's thick but it still can't endure cold too even she ask me where I got my snow equipment I say al in singapore too

I suggest some wind breaker with a hoody to keep u from the wind chill and also the down kept u warm since u mentions u cznt endure the cold too

As weather is unpredictable too
Example this 2014 record snow in hokkiAdo and japan too

Btw jimmy u can refer to my photo thread too I went to sapporo winter fest this 2014 too also record snow fall too
JuSr acroll back few pages in this hwz japan section then u can find it

If in snow shoe is quite impt as kept u warm and anti slipe as snow is ok it's ice it's the dreaded

Jimmy the temp might looks low but it's the wind chil is kills u more

Hahha but I enjoy the chill

keigo0

As for the shoes, snow boots gd enough? With woollen socks. Thinking of buying from qoo10.
Or else i will go rena outlet to buy, at least can try, but scared canot find suitable one.
Qoo10 -
Qoo10 - [PAPERPLANES]

Btw, it is better to wear specs than contact lenses in the winter season rite?
Thanks for the advise!
For me, no difference in glasses or contact lens. I wore a covered shoes with normal socks. Unless u are soaking ur feet in the snow then i tink shd b ok ba

jimmy_sg

There are so many strong ladies in the Japan thread. e.g. xiaojing11, sereneong19 and flame_angel...

I must start my solo trip to Japan too, can't lose to them... lolx.

jimmy_sg

Ya she is a girl

Anyway I check for u Jing"er haha the ladies down Jacket is $169 the one looks decent enough

As I think u also recalls sapporo girl who is a native in sapporo use a uniqlo down also not thin too it's thick but it still can't endure cold too even she ask me where I got my snow equipment I say al in singapore too

I suggest some wind breaker with a hoody to keep u from the wind chill and also the down kept u warm since u mentions u cznt endure the cold too

As weather is unpredictable too
Example this 2014 record snow in hokkiAdo and japan too

Btw jimmy u can refer to my photo thread too I went to sapporo winter fest this 2014 too also record snow fall too
JuSr acroll back few pages in this hwz japan section then u can find it

If in snow shoe is quite impt as kept u warm and anti slipe as snow is ok it's ice it's the dreaded

Jimmy the temp might looks low but it's the wind chil is kills u more

Hahha but I enjoy the chill

hi, thanks. I can't find the thread. What the thread name? Or can you bring up the thread so everyone can see... haha

sereneong19

Oic, thanks bear.
Wat abt this uniqlo down jacket, japan selling much cheaper. Or else i jus borrow.
WOMEN Down Coat | UNIQLO

The north face or amazon gaiter is better in keeping warm and windproof? From wat i read, is amazon. Any advise?

As for the gloves, i will get mitten one from the amazon, as advise by some of u. :)
Amazon.com: Heat Factory Fleece-Lined Ragg Wool Gloves with Fold Back Pocket for Heat Factory Hand Warmer, Women's: Sports & Outdoors

@ kifo and bear - Ya, tht's y i am puzzled, how come pple wear ear muffs, thinking does it really keep warm? I no need ear muffs jus to look gd, waste money also. Or else, like samtcy said daiso got sells, cheap one will do, anyway it's optional.

i'm not sure how low your tolerance can go and the threshold towards cold is how strong. It's good to know that you need to have a good outer wear e.g. down jacket and good pair of shoes which is waterproof so as to prevent melting ice seeping into your shoe and wet your toes which is not a good thing.

for myself, i would wear fleece or wool top and wool scarf paired with jeans or leggings (you can try leggings from marks n spencer, their warmth leggings is good imo) and a pair of wool socks (sometimes i will don 2 pairs), with a pair mitten type gloves.

Head gear will be just a normal cap or beanie, ear muffs are not necessary as i had long hair to cover my ears. so not a problem.

I would say that it's the wind that's intolerable and other than that, you would probably got used to the cold in a few days of stay. Tokyo is definitely much warmer where it hardly hits below 0 degrees.

xiaojing11

There are so many strong ladies in the Japan thread. e.g. xiaojing11, sereneong19 and flame_angel...

I must start my solo trip to Japan too, can't lose to them... lolx.

Lol. I dun dare to travel alone during winter, becos i not only going sapporo. This will b a semi-travel trip, some days i alone, some days with 2 other ladies.

I wan experience snow once in my life!

Hmm, i did try my first solo travel to tokyo, hakone and lake kawaguchigo this april.

Hahaha! This is not a travel competition lah, no lose no win lah, funny. If u nv try, u will nv know. It has been more than half a year since my solo travel, sometimes when i think back, i wondered y i dare to solo travel, lol, quite scary actually, but i tried something i always wanted to do, so no regrets. If solo travel is wat u wan try once in your life, go ahead. :)

Sometimes, i do miss solo travel, so i think semi-travel to hokkaido is a gd way for me.

I am not as courageous as sereneong19 and other ladies, they more brave.

2nd week of jan loh.

xiaojing11

I suggest some wind breaker with a hoody to keep u from the wind chill and also the down kept u warm since u mentions u cznt endure the cold

Ya, but japan only ard$120 + tax.

Huh? Wat also not thin too it's thick??? Dun understand.

I got a windbreaker with hood from the shop name called winning, bought it during sales last time, material 100% polyester, gd enough?

For me, no difference in glasses or contact lens. I wore a covered shoes with normal socks. Unless u are soaking ur feet in the snow then i tink shd b ok ba

Ok thanks.

xiaojing11

i'm not sure how low your tolerance can go and the threshold towards cold is how strong. It's good to know that you need to have a good outer wear e.g. down jacket and good pair of shoes which is waterproof so as to prevent melting ice seeping into your shoe and wet your toes which is not a good thing.

for myself, i would wear fleece or wool top and wool scarf paired with jeans or leggings (you can try leggings from marks n spencer, their warmth leggings is good imo) and a pair of wool socks (sometimes i will don 2 pairs), with a pair mitten type gloves.

Head gear will be just a normal cap or beanie, ear muffs are not necessary as i had long hair to cover my ears. so not a problem.

I would say that it's the wind that's intolerable and other than that, you would probably got used to the cold in a few days of stay. Tokyo is definitely much warmer where it hardly hits below 0 degrees.

My cold tolerance is super low and jia lat. Example: sg aircon places, buses and mrt aircon i also will feel cold. I dun even on aircon, only sometimes on the fan when i sleep.

Do u wear snow boots?

Hmm, I wore heat tech leggings with high boots during my tokyo trip, tht was during spring in april this year. But if i were to wear leggings for hokkaido during winter, i will shiver like mad. I rem u shared tht u wore skirt during your trip to tokyo *pei fu*, u do hv high cold tolerance.

I hv long hair too, wore a normal hat (with no insulation) during my prev autumn and spring trips, my hair still can feel the coldness! So my conclusion is long hair doesn't help protect from the coldness at all.

No leh, i wun get used to the coldness, the freezing cold feeling is very bad, i dun wan to hv such feeling again for my holiday trips. :(

Where u got your cold wear from?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.