Wireless Wifi booster

HeyYouThere

Hi need some advice on how to get a stronger wifi connection.

So basically my modem is situated on my first floor along with my MioTV and stuff and my room where i use my laptop is on the second floor.

The connection bar is always 3 - 4 out of 5.

Was told to get a wifi repeater and place it between my modem and my main laptop but the problem is i have no 3 pin power socket anywhere near there.

The only ones I have are in my room or at the first floor, which brings me back to square one.
Using a long cable to connect them are also out of the option because it will look really weird and ugly.

Any advice on what i should get?

Edit:
Hi all, just solved the problem.

Will recommend Sineoji

Due to my house lay out, all this while i've been only experiencing 20Mbps out of my 200..
But now much better
Purchased an ASUS n56 Router at $149, a pair Sineoji 1800Homeplug at $149 as well and a couple of 3m LAN cables.

Overall experiencing much better speed now finally can watch Twitch in source smoothly, previously I couldn't even load medium.

Anw really must give a thumbs up to Dean from Sineoji. He spent 2 hours or so explaining to me what's the best option etc. :)

dolphinv

huh i shocked sia:eek:. The second floor totally no power socket ! then how use all electronic devices. this one then cannot help liao. unless u got ethernet port then can plug in lan. or else cannot make any magic without electricity one. If u serious then probably need to get an electrician rewire.

sglords

@dolphinv
he mean no socket in between e modern and laptop = no mid pt

can get those homeplug/powerline.
if need wireless then get the wireless ver however e wireless run 802.11n speed and use 10/100 ethernet port
if dont need wireless, can get gigabit port if abv 200mbps fibre

HeyYouThere

huh i shocked sia:eek:. The second floor totally no power socket ! then how use all electronic devices. this one then cannot help liao. unless u got ethernet port then can plug in lan. or else cannot make any magic without electricity one. If u serious then probably need to get an electrician rewire.

NOt my second floor no socket lol, is the staircase from 1st to 2nd floor. Like what the other guy said..

HeyYouThere

@dolphinv
he mean no socket in between e modern and laptop = no mid pt

can get those homeplug/powerline.
if need wireless then get the wireless ver however e wireless run 802.11n speed and use 10/100 ethernet port
if dont need wireless, can get gigabit port if abv 100mbps fibre

i using singtel either 150 or 100mbps fibre.
would prefer if its totally wireless but whats the cost for a homeplug/powerline v.s. the cost of the wireless one

HeyYouThere

Correct me if im wrong

if i buy one powerline adapter and connect to my modem on 1st floor and buy another one connect to my laptop on second floor

will this help my connection?

if so, any decent powerline adapters to recommend? using 150mbps singtel fibre

sglords

non wireless
10/100 kit - below $100
gigabit - above $100

wireless kit
10/100 kit - below $100

brand rank
  1. sineoji
  2. tplink
  3. aztech
  4. dlink

PiPiChew

Hi need some advice on how to get a stronger wifi connection.

So basically my modem is situated on my first floor along with my MioTV and stuff and my room where i use my laptop is on the second floor.

The connection bar is always 3 - 4 out of 5.

Was told to get a wifi repeater and place it between my modem and my main laptop but the problem is i have no 3 pin power socket anywhere near there.

The only ones I have are in my room or at the first floor, which brings me back to square one.
Using a long cable to connect them are also out of the option because it will look really weird and ugly.

Any advice on what i should get?

Same situation as you laptops level 2, modem/router level 1. What I did is to buy a 10m CAT6 fibre cable. I position the router right under the staircase on a small table. (I assume you live in a double storey HDB like mine). Use the 20m CAT6 fibre cable connect router to modem. This solves the connection issue. I concealed the wire behind furniture so it remains hidden.

Now the issue of powering the router under the staircase. From the power socket powering the modem I extended 1 extension cord also around 10m. It runs parallel along the CAT6 cable so it is also unseen. So far it seems better.

Hope this helps

HeyYouThere

Same situation as you laptops level 2, modem/router level 1. What I did is to buy a 10m CAT6 fibre cable. I position the router right under the staircase on a small table. (I assume you live in a double storey HDB like mine). Use the 20m CAT6 fibre cable connect router to modem. This solves the connection issue. I concealed the wire behind furniture so it remains hidden.

Now the issue of powering the router under the staircase. From the power socket powering the modem I extended 1 extension cord also around 10m. It runs parallel along the CAT6 cable so it is also unseen. So far it seems better.

Hope this helps

Nope i cannot use ethernet cable cause my first floor modem quite far from staircase then if put the cable need extend here and there very messy, i stay in landed.

Correct me if im wrong

if i buy one powerline adapter and connect to my modem on 1st floor and buy another one connect to my laptop on second floor

will this help my connection?

if so, any decent powerline adapters to recommend? using 150mbps singtel fibre

will work?:s11:

sglords

yes. powerline need a set to work.
main connect to router. e rest up to u where u wan to put.
best get 1000+ gigabit ver as now fibre getting cheaper for 1gbps

aztech got dualband n speed powerline - hl117ew

Alvinalvintan

Hi HeyYouThere,

Please note that powerlines only work in single phase circuit. Seeing that you are living in a multi storey building, to say powerline works or not is quite dicey.

May I know if you are living in a Private estate (might not work) or HDB environment (will work)?

If it is able to work, at the router side you simply need to get a HL117E (basic 500Mbps model) or HL117EP (500Mbps with passthrough) At the 2nd floor you can get the HL117EW.

For Gigabit port Homeplugs from Aztech, you can consider HL115EP, HL119EP or the latest 1200Mbps HL129EP

Thank you.

HeyYouThere

Hi HeyYouThere,

Please note that powerlines only work in single phase circuit. Seeing that you are living in a multi storey building, to say powerline works or not is quite dicey.

May I know if you are living in a Private estate (might not work) or HDB environment (will work)?

If it is able to work, at the router side you simply need to get a HL117E (basic 500Mbps model) or HL117EP (500Mbps with passthrough) At the 2nd floor you can get the HL117EW.

For Gigabit port Homeplugs from Aztech, you can consider HL115EP, HL119EP or the latest 1200Mbps HL129EP

Thank you.

My house private estate is using a single phase circuit.

Ok my past 2 months was damn busy with stuff so dont really use my computer. Now im having a long break so quite free, back to using my computer. WIll be purchasing what is necessary within the next week.

HeyYouThere

No man.. 4 bars is ok.
3 bars is really cannot play game in peace one.
Then there are times where its 2/3 bars..

Shion

Senior Mentor
Oh...Gaming ? Will affect then.

Ever tried placing your router at a higher location (as suggested by someone earlier on) ?

HeyYouThere

No leh.. the problem is i cant really do that due to the interior of my house.

Plus my first floor to second floor the staircase quite long

geckoSG

You have to consider pulling a network cable to second floor. 1 time pain. After that its a HIGHWAY to heavens.

speed_0828

No man.. 4 bars is ok.
3 bars is really cannot play game in peace one.
Then there are times where its 2/3 bars..

Had this problem before. I am using a Linksys RE6500HG AC1200 range extender now. So far I got no issues and the wifi is good enough. The good thing for this unit is that it uses a single SSID. It will follow the same wireless network name of the router. And yes no need for me to lay cables :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.