Working Shoe for Young Exec

thundermarch

Good choices. For shoe trees, my advice is to go for the larger size if your shoes are in between sizes. Oh Vass does an awesome rubber add-on sole too.

Both vass and AS come with their own lasted trees so i think that's great.
My shoes are 8.5 but my trees are u in EU size. 8.5 kind of translates to eu 42.
My trees are sized 42/43. Do you think that's a good fit?

xtwis7

Good choices. For shoe trees, my advice is to go for the larger size if your shoes are in between sizes. Oh Vass does an awesome rubber add-on sole too.

I thought for trees it might be better to get the smaller size as they usually fit slightly bigger than the actual size. If you're a UK 43 and the medium shoe tree fits 42-43 while say a large one fits 43-44, it'll probably be safer to take the medium in this case.

Seannie

510 pages so no time to read. Bata is ok but again depends on which model. Some are as cheap as $30 while others can exceed $100. Quality is ok but doesn't last long especially cheaper model. Hence the name Buy And Throw Away. :s13:

If on super tight budget, go emart and use credits to buy no 3 shoes. :D Sounds stupid but I know people who do that. Its FREE anyway.

No matter how good quality the shoe and how well you take care of it, there will still be wear and tear. Worse if you work long hours. All the moisture from sweat inside the shoes.

Rather than spend a lot of money on 1 or 2 pairs of shoes, I rather buy cheaper shoes and then get 3 to 4 pairs. This is so you can rotate the shoes. Not only does it spread out the wear and tear but each shoe has enough time to air and dry (the insides of the shoe I mean).

Not true lehz bro, bata shoes Really buay sai leh, doesnt looks nice just looks cheap. No shine. The only shoes i buy fm bata is their slippers.. wear and tear ofcos will have thats the nature of the universe, even babies will grow into old man and die off one day. But more importance is the process. Just like did u lead a meaningful colorful life applies to did u wear a comfy, nice and shiny shoes?

I used to buy those $100plus shoes for more than 10yrs but they just keep cui after a year or so and they do look ugly. Until recentlt i realise the importance of a good nice shoe, i bought my first pair of custom leather shoe last year. I would rather u spend alot $ on a pair of good shoes than on 3 or 4 pairs of lousy shoes that dont suit yur needs well. In my opinion its more financially savvy to find a good shoe (applies to all other daily necessities as well) to invest in which can let u wear for longer periods of times than keep having to throw away lousy products and keep buying. Sooner later the monies soent on lousy tings will exceed yur investment in good stuff over time in the longer run. If u worried abt rotation, u can minimise it by using a shoe tree to absorb moisture as well as keep in shape. It has been almost 1.5 yrs now since i bought my expensive shoe (equivalent to 4-5 pairs of lousy shoes) and the condition is still good, i think it can last for a couple of years at least, and the comfy fit, aesthetic appearance already outweighs the cost i paid.

Seannie

just wondering, where can you go to have your shoes cared for (i.e polish and shine) and how much?

Lastime i remembered still have this uncle petia c who help to polish and shine shoes. Is he still ard? I still have his contact no. though.

Seannie

just wondering, where can you go to have your shoes cared for (i.e polish and shine) and how much?

Ok now u know where to have yur shoes polished liao. Uncle petia still alive. Think his charges rather afforable, that is the last time i recalled. Not sure now whats his rate, whether he priced in inflation or not. U know nowadays everything increase px but likely he wont raise his service costs bah. Even kopi can up 10% every few months. One cup kopi $2 ar raffles liao $#@!^&_%!!!

benz1987

Thank you seniors for the inputs.

This brings on to my next question, how much on average would it be to resole leather soles? And where do seniors here usually get their leather soles resoled? Do the normal cobblers in the shop set ups provide resoling of leather soles?

Thanks!

you can bring it to the cobbler to apply a Topy or Vibram sole, probably cost you $30+ to do so. I would prefer having some grip walking on smooth surfaces and the affordability of resoling rubber soles instead of leather, so I added a Topy

urbanturban

Thank you seniors for the inputs.

This brings on to my next question, how much on average would it be to resole leather soles? And where do seniors here usually get their leather soles resoled? Do the normal cobblers in the shop set ups provide resoling of leather soles?

Thanks!

Ed et al (Millenia Walk) does it for $150.
I think those Mister Minit operations cannot do a Goodyear welt resole (if I am not mistaken).

MasonAndSmith

Hello,

Is this John from Mason & Smith at Kevin Seah?

Just wanted to thank you for your advice on products and shoecare when i was at the store for my suit fitting a couple of weeks ago, you been very helpful.

Regards
Ho

Hey cheunghowai no worries. Anyway i really like the shoes you were wearing the other day

archangle13

Both vass and AS come with their own lasted trees so i think that's great.
My shoes are 8.5 but my trees are u in EU size. 8.5 kind of translates to eu 42.
My trees are sized 42/43. Do you think that's a good fit?

I am talking about vass lasted trees. They only come in full sizes ie whole numbers. So if you are 41.5, I recommend 42 vass shoe trees

archangle13

I thought for trees it might be better to get the smaller size as they usually fit slightly bigger than the actual size. If you're a UK 43 and the medium shoe tree fits 42-43 while say a large one fits 43-44, it'll probably be safer to take the medium in this case.

I am not sure why anyone buying vass shoes would go for generic shoe trees. But going for the smaller vass lasted shoe trees is a big error.

thundermarch

I am talking about vass lasted trees. They only come in full sizes ie whole numbers. So if you are 41.5, I recommend 42 vass shoe trees

Ah i see. I had no idea. Sorry for the ignorance and thanks for the advice. Im a flat out 42 on the f last so i guess it's size 42 shoe tree

xtwis7

I am not sure why anyone buying vass shoes would go for generic shoe trees. But going for the smaller vass lasted shoe trees is a big error.

Well, I don't own such expensive shoes so I probably can't comment. Of course the fit is less ideal but generic shoe trees don't mean they are that bad still.

Singapore Vass shoes

If lasted shoe trees are provided, it should be used since the alternatives may result in uneven, unwanted and over-stretching of the leather over time.

zhehao

Hey guys I am looking for a dress shoe. Was looking at geox and I saw a pair I quite like. The leather seems to be of high quality and quite comfortable but quite shocked at the price. Was selling at 299.

Any other brand for dress shoes you guys can recommend around same price range

Also anyone know how much does a pair of ed at al typically cost? Just wondering if it would it pair well with a suit?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.