Working Shoe for Young Exec

arctuates

Depends on where you went. Aldo is no comparison lah, different league altogether.

Regardless though, if you wear the same shoe everyday and dont rotate, it doesnt matter whether you spend 500 or 5000 - give you under one year, the shoe will still chui.

Seannie

Depends on where you went. Aldo is no comparison lah, different league altogether.

Regardless though, if you wear the same shoe everyday and dont rotate, it doesnt matter whether you spend 500 or 5000 - give you under one year, the shoe will still chui.

ya, thats what the shop person told me. He said that i must have at least 2 pairs of shoes to rotate, so that just in case one pair got wet i can leave it to dry else if i force my feet into the wet shoes i would spoil the structure or something liketat. I dont really understand alot of technical terms he used. He recommended rotating everyday else if i just have one pair then should use the shoe tree to put the shoe back into shape while not wearing. Something i not quite understand & didnt really bother to anyway.

So i assume when you are saying we should rotate, the purpose is to keep the shoe in shape and not chui??

Seannie

If Aldo is high end to you, then good luck to you. Aldo = Pedro = Bata. All have the same (cui) quality.

Go visit styleforum and open your eyes. (A hint for you - Google 'Goodyear welt')

hmmm i never wear aldo before. I tried pedro long time ago, just once & decided never to buy from there again, too uncomfortable for me. As for bata, that seems more like a provision shop rather than a hypermart in comparison, as in cheap la and cant expect too good from. I think i tried this other brand called americaya or something long time ago, also cannot make it. As for Everbest, quite ok except that they dont last long, but that being said, cant expect too much from a $100+ shoes la. Sure wear & tear. Main point is that i find their shoes a bit boring, every season seems more or less the same designs or colours.

archangle13

hmmm i never wear aldo before. I tried pedro long time ago, just once & decided never to buy from there again, too uncomfortable for me. As for bata, that seems more like a provision shop rather than a hypermart in comparison, as in cheap la and cant expect too good from. I think i tried this other brand called americaya or something long time ago, also cannot make it. As for Everbest, quite ok except that they dont last long, but that being said, cant expect too much from a $100+ shoes la. Sure wear & tear. Main point is that i find their shoes a bit boring, every season seems more or less the same designs or colours.

Exactly, there is negligible difference in quality among the brands you mentioned. Even a well-designed shoe will look like **** after a few months. Might as well just wear the lower priced ones.

That is unless you are going for GY welted shoes. Entirely different thing.

archangle13

I agree that you need shoe rotation. Shoe trees too, if they are better shoes.

How is Aldo 'in a different league'?

My pair of Aldo shoe sucks. I barely wear it one a week with it stuffed with newspaper, and it looks like **** after 2 years.

archangle13

hi guys, im a newbie at shoes. Just ordered a pair of tailored shoes & paid for over S$500, 6 weeks to collect. Is it worth it? My usual shoes that cost ard $100+ always cant last long even with minimal walking. Usually can just last me for less than a year before all kinds of problems appear. So basically got to change a new pair of shoes every year. Im not that technically particular on shoes as long as they are comfy & longlasting. I hope my new pair of tailored shoes can last more than 2 years i'll be happy enough. I asked for hand-sewn on the soles so that the heels dont break off so easily and they are made of leather as well. Experts here any advice for me? Did i get a good deal or too expensive?

You mean yours are a pair of bespoke shoes? sounds cheap actually. but can't tell unless we know the maker, type of leather, type of construction.

Gambling with this is fun though. wahahaha

arctuates

By 'different', I meant literally that Aldo shoes should arguably not be compared with anything custom. Although for $500 custom made shoes in Singapore, I can think of one whose construction doesn't hold much more value for me than a pair of Aldos. But that's my personal view lah.

Yes, shoes need to be worn with minimally one day's rotation. In an ideal world, brush down the shoes after each wear, and insert cedar shoe trees everyday to maintain the shape and dry the shoes from inside out. But given that shoe trees can be expensive, many times i make do with newspaper instead... Eg. I was just at Carmina in Paris and lasted trees cost EUR60. I would've bought them, but I was having issues with my card and had to pay with whatever cash I had on hand... So bo pian.

archangle13

Kiton12345

Wow bespoke from Diamond Walker... Never saw that coming...

Was expecting Et Ed Al. Please do tell us how the shoes are when they arrive. :)

There's some bad publicity surrounding Diamond Walker here, would like to clear the 'air of mystery'. :)

Surprise, surprise! I had the same reaction too.

And yes, must take good care of shoes if you want them to last. Wear and tear of the sole is ok, can always be replaced but the shape of the uppers must always be properly maintained.

TBH, I think 6 weeks is a rather short time for MTOs given that all of my MTOs so far take 3 months.

AS, Carmina and most recently...G&G.

Seannie

Wow bespoke from Diamond Walker... Never saw that coming...

Was expecting Et Ed Al. Please do tell us how the shoes are when they arrive. :)

There's some bad publicity surrounding Diamond Walker here, would like to clear the 'air of mystery'. :)

oops i didnt know this brand has bad publicity.. didnt really research much, didnt know anything abt it before i dive in, just happened to see the shop & decided to just pop in to take a look, didnt even know its bespoke until i saw the sample leather book to choose from. However, service from that guy is still not so bad, hopefully the shoe is comfortable enough. If kind enough, please let me know what aspects are those bad publicity actually about. Like i said, im really a newbie in shoes. Btw, is et ed al better??

turboo

hey guys, i'll be heading to tokyo soon. are there any unique brands for me to look out for?

i'm looking for a stylish pair of oxford shoes (brown/black), under 200.

Draculav

oops i didnt know this brand has bad publicity.. didnt really research much, didnt know anything abt it before i dive in, just happened to see the shop & decided to just pop in to take a look, didnt even know its bespoke until i saw the sample leather book to choose from. However, service from that guy is still not so bad, hopefully the shoe is comfortable enough. If kind enough, please let me know what aspects are those bad publicity actually about. Like i said, im really a newbie in shoes. Btw, is et ed al better??

Congrats on your buy! $500 for bespoke shoes are very reasonable. I'm looking to get a pair from Diamond walker myself. Do keep us updated and post pics!!!!

TitanAttacks

Since this is about shoes i thought i'll just ask here.

I'm a jeans guy and been wearing them for a long time.

I'm looking to change to a more mature and better look approaching 30.

img.youtube.com/vi/lQ8CTa12Jk8/0

image is as below. What shoe is that called if you guys can know the style at a glance?

I've did a bit of searching and it seems that there are normal working(dress) shoes, loafers, boat , driving shoes , oxford.

and came across exactly the type of image I want minus the sweater(if that is how you call it) It looks casual and yet good enough (in singapore) to be worn on orchard road where people dress quite well.

i49.tinypic.com/eg4fw2

add .jpg to those img
What are those shoes called? is there a name that makes them look casual yet is made of leather?

hohole

Since this is about shoes i thought i'll just ask here.

I'm a jeans guy and been wearing them for a long time.

I'm looking to change to a more mature and better look approaching 30.

img.youtube.com/vi/lQ8CTa12Jk8/0

image is as below. What shoe is that called if you guys can know the style at a glance?

I've did a bit of searching and it seems that there are normal working(dress) shoes, loafers, boat , driving shoes , oxford.

and came across exactly the type of image I want minus the sweater(if that is how you call it) It looks casual and yet good enough (in singapore) to be worn on orchard road where people dress quite well.

i49.tinypic.com/eg4fw2

add .jpg to those img
What are those shoes called? is there a name that makes them look casual yet is made of leather?

It should be Chelsea boots.

crap

I suggest you do your own research elsewhere too. I realised that there a few shoe snob(s) here who very eerily only promote certain brands and smash down all the others. Vested interest perhaps? :s22: Take it with a pinch of salt la. What bad publicity? I haven't seen any customer reviews on Diamond Walker shoes, only the vague opinionated comments of these shoe snobs/maybe a multi-nicker.

Anyway... I've been to Diamond Walker before with my friend since they opened and I've liked their facebook page too and I think they really have awesome stuff posted there. I see very positive reviews from their customers on their FB page and I think that says a lot.

I also saw this posted today there and I think it's damn chio!
544449_332746510159155_460292436_n.jpg
:s12::s12::s12:

So have more confidence in yourself and judge for yourself once your shoes come in and then perhaps you can share to the EDMW people here your own personal viewpoints on Diamond Walkers.

I also think the best way for yourself is to self-educate on what constitutes a good pair of shoes and then do shoe comparisons with all the other brands out there if you really have the time and interest to investigate/study shoes! LOL! But for every mountain out there, there is always a taller mountain! So watch your wallet! :p

Good luck!!

My 2 cents worth of crap! haha!

Crap

crap

Oh, I let my fingers did some walking and found out what the 'bad publicity' is about!! LOL!

Some troll went to stir flames by posting up a photo of a Diamond Walker shoe with the intention to get negative comments... can see its an obvious attack. :s22: (That shoe actually looks nice, IMO. Saw before on their facebook and apparently the leather is so popular it was sold out quite fast. *shrug* So one man's meat is another's poison perhaps).

Anyway... a little digging will show a few individuals seriously doing nothing but attacking Diamond Walker and somehow, ahem, promoting a local shoemaker or some very expensive bespoke brands only. Ahem. All around the same period. And they talk the same way too. Eg. they use words like elite, celebrity (perhaps a dig at Diamond Walker's many Korean and local celebs wearing Diamond Walkers) in their attack postings. You put one and one together and you get the full picture. :) Sounds like low-class thuggish tactics by competitors if you ask me.

Seriously some people should get a life but haters gotta hate. *shrug*

Class cannot be bought even if you wear the nicest suit or wear $6000 bespoke shoes. :D

archangle13

Oh, I let my fingers did some walking and found out what the 'bad publicity' is about!! LOL!

Some troll went to stir flames by posting up a photo of a Diamond Walker shoe with the intention to get negative comments... can see its an obvious attack. :s22: (That shoe actually looks nice, IMO. Saw before on their facebook and apparently the leather is so popular it was sold out quite fast. *shrug* So one man's meat is another's poison perhaps).

Anyway... a little digging will show a few individuals seriously doing nothing but attacking Diamond Walker and somehow, ahem, promoting a local shoemaker or some very expensive bespoke brands only. Ahem. All around the same period. And they talk the same way too. Eg. they use words like elite, celebrity (perhaps a dig at Diamond Walker's many Korean and local celebs wearing Diamond Walkers) in their attack postings. You put one and one together and you get the full picture. :) Sounds like low-class thuggish tactics by competitors if you ask me.

Seriously some people should get a life but haters gotta hate. *shrug*

Class cannot be bought even if you wear the nicest suit or wear $6000 bespoke shoes. :D

Seriously?? Diamond Walker has competitors who offer bespoke shoes in Singapore?

The only I can think of is Ed Et Al. The rest are not even in the same price range e.g. G&G and Corthay

Seannie

Ok, really thanks for all the comments here. I think diamond walker shoes should do just fine for me. I'm not really into shoes kind of guy or a shoe collector. Just wanna know that what I get is ok & good value & acceptable durability to price ratio. Like I said I was kind of moody happened to see that shop and realizing my shoe is in rather poor condition so just try it out. Normally I don't go to these kind of shops, those at regular shops are fine with me until I don't see any good new shoes and kind of boring designs (actually the regular shop is doing sales for the old pair I'm wearing). Sometimes buying things or anything else really kind of your luck. If you lucky, you find something good and which you like without much of an effort. They sort of find you instead of you finding them. Those things I keep finding for the best turns out to be disappointments all the time. Maybe that is called the higher expectations the more disappointments? I don't think I'm looking for higher & higher mountains la when comes to shoes. Most important is the fitting comfort which I find that this diamond walker shop guy takes time to measure my feet & thinking which type of shoe length, width, depth suits my profile the most. I don't think that a shoe that looks v nice but uncomfy to wear is of much use.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.