Working Shoe for Young Exec

PetiaC

Does the fungus grow on the upper? I've never seen that happen. I thought they would usually grow on the leather soles when water seeps into the cork filler.

Do you want to try wiping the shoe with an alcohol swab?

I either brush away or wipe with a damp rag. Leaving the shoes in a less dusty place and with more ventilation should solve the problem.

I kena on the upper normally even with my velvet slippers or suede chukas

archangle13

I either brush away or wipe with a damp rag. Leaving the shoes in a less dusty place and with more ventilation should solve the problem.

Can show some pics of how the fungus looks like?

Seannie

After 6 long weeks of waiting, Finally my DW shoes due for collection next week!

Kiton12345

This is weird because my uppers aren't a victim of them but rather my soles are a constant victim.

Maybe the place of storage for your shoes are too moist

regityoung

A6F549B2-E60F-4CBF-ABE6-FA14D790D596-5132-000008D6B9C2A819_zps3e0be09a.jpg

The shoe shine kit. All you really need is 1 toothbrush, 1 brush, 1 cloth, 1 tin of cream and/or polish. The rest is buy as retail therapy.

OMG, did I see mink oil in there?!?! I hope this is only for the sole :s13:

-nzy90

This is weird because my uppers aren't a victim of them but rather my soles are a constant victim.

Maybe the place of storage for your shoes are too moist

Mine keep getting mold on the soles as well. Don't know if it will affect the shoe or not. How do you prevent it from growing again?

The mold on mine gets rubbed off when I wear them but then start growing once I don't wear them for the next few days.

regityoung

Mine keep getting mold on the soles as well. Don't know if it will affect the shoe or not. How do you prevent it from growing again?

The mold on mine gets rubbed off when I wear them but then start growing once I don't wear them for the next few days.

Happened to me a couple of times, generally after wearing in the rain. I rubbed rubbing alcohol on the sole, and mink oil/cream when dried. Thereafter, if the sole got caught in the rain and got wet again, I put the shoes on their side, exposing the sole and let them dry thoroughly. Have not seen mold yet (fingers-crossed).

-nzy90

Happened to me a couple of times, generally after wearing in the rain. I rubbed rubbing alcohol on the sole, and mink oil/cream when dried. Thereafter, if the sole got caught in the rain and got wet again, I put the shoes on their side, exposing the sole and let them dry thoroughly. Have not seen mold yet (fingers-crossed).

I did put my shoes on their side to dry. Dunno why it keeps coming back.

arctuates

It happens. Is the environment. Gotta move them to a better ventilated place. Good shoe trees also help.

I've had a perennial mold problem for ages, of which 90% went away once everything was moved to a part of the house with better air circulation.

Kiton12345

As Arc mentioned it's the air circulation and well as moisture.

If stored in a store room/cabinet air doesn't circulate so the moisture is stuck there.

Either get a dehumidifier or just store them in an open air environment away from sunlight(it fades your leather upper)

mchong67

A6F549B2-E60F-4CBF-ABE6-FA14D790D596-5132-000008D6B9C2A819_zps3e0be09a.jpg

The shoe shine kit. All you really need is 1 toothbrush, 1 brush, 1 cloth, 1 tin of cream and/or polish. The rest is buy as retail therapy.

Where did you get all this? Which store has the most range of shoe care products?:)

regityoung

Need the help of shoes experts here. I got a pair of casual derby, however, I do not know what material the upper is made of and therefore do not know how to maintain it. Any clue?

Overall look:
EP023050.jpg

Closer look:
EP023051.jpg

Any plead for help!!! Till now, I have not done any maintenance to them. While they still look ok after 5 wears or so, I would like to prevent any pre-mature wear or failure.

Any one know how to maintain these?

I am leaning towards waxed suede for these (highly possible to be wrong), even that I have no clue how to maintain...

archangle13

Any plead for help!!! Till now, I have not done any maintenance to them. While they still look ok after 5 wears or so, I would like to prevent any pre-mature wear or failure.

Any one know how to maintain these?

I am leaning towards waxed suede for these (highly possible to be wrong), even that I have no clue how to maintain...

I won't be of any help, sorry. But where did you get those from? Surely whoever you got it from can help you?

zhane

Dun worry I got do my homework. Mink oil is for my jungle boots.

mink oil cannot put on the upper leather portion of the shoe? i've put some there b4 with the intention of moisturizing it leh :s12:

PetiaC

Where did you get all this? Which store has the most range of shoe care products?:)

I buy from SAF emart, 2 dollar shops, Robinsons Cityhall, Tangs Vivo and even Mustafa centre.

Robinson have the european products the rest carry a mix. Mustafa have the Japanese stuff like Dasco and columbus.

Basically what I do is when go shopping keep an eye open near the mens shoe dept or cobblers.

PetiaC

mink oil cannot put on the upper leather portion of the shoe? i've put some there b4 with the intention of moisturizing it leh :s12:

It will saturate with oily residue then your shoe impossible to polish. Dublin or mink oil is for working boots.

Use a leather lotion conditioner or cream to moisturise. If you super low budget and got the balls to dry, you can even use Nivea Creme moisturiser, which is super cheap for a giant tin.

Take note shoe polish does little to help with dried out leather. Always cream first then polish if too long never wear the shoe.

zhane

It will saturate with oily residue then your shoe impossible to polish. Dublin or mink oil is for working boots.

ya.. after that quite hard to polish... but well.. heng my shoes still the cheapo types

PetiaC

Just arrived from courier. Buy from shoe collector who is upgrading to bespoke shoes. Eating grass for the entire month ...

AEB2D544-DC2F-4FB4-A163-CF1DA88142F7-121-0000000C2F0ADCF3_zpsa0fcfb5b.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.