Workshop review - AVOID HEVSHOP

Hybrid_Car_Owner

Hevshop is a Hybrid specialist workshop in Sin Ming.

In Oct last year, I sent my car for a major servicing there, including changing spark plugs, in preparation for drive to Genting.

There was occasional clanging of engine but I did not think much. In December, I drove with my family up to Genting for holiday. Car was progressively clanging, jerking and losing power more frequently. It endangered my family of 6, including a 4 year old on the steep slopes.

On my return, I went to Hevshop, who diagnosed a gearbox problem, and estimated cost of $5k and 3 weeks to repair.

I took car for a second opinion at another workshop, which found the spark plugs put in by Hevshop to be worn out and have gaps of more than 2mm. Changed all 4 plugs and the car is smooth to date.

Hevshop denied responsibility claiming that they have CCTV system showing that the car was serviced, but offered to pay for the replaced spark plugs if I bring the car in for further tests at Hevshop. I was hesitant but also wanted to know what happened. So I said I will bring the car back if they will show me the CCTV footage of the servicing in Oct. HEVSHOP FLATLY REFUSED. I guess they have something to hide.

Whether, they charged me and didn't replace the plugs or replaced it with old or sub-standard plugs, we don't know. But it endangered our lives, spoiled our holiday and nearly caused me an expensive repair which we don't need.

The Hevshop management should and could have done the right thing to address a genuine complain and work together with me to get to the bottom of this problem, but instead they chose to standoff and avoid responsibility.

AVOID HEVSHOP TO SAVE YOURSELF AGGRAVATION, TIME AND MONEY!

LouisSaha

wah spark plugs so cheap in cost, they also wanna makan that?
really stupid if this is true though.

SuperSprint

I always stay around when service my car. Usually most will not chase u away etc. just stay put and watch what they do. So next time please stay put even if is a simple old change.

I have seen some WS overfilled EO during servicing. USUALLY will remind them how many liters to pour in also.

andyhtc

If the spark plugs were really worn out, they might have just forgotten to change. So it is best to stay around during servicing.

There were cases in Singapore when workshops forgot to tighten the bolts of the wheel and the wheel rolled away during driving (there was a ST news on this years ago).

airxairx

I always stay around when service my car. Usually most will not chase u away etc. just stay put and watch what they do. So next time please stay put even if is a simple old change.

I have seen some WS overfilled EO during servicing. USUALLY will remind them how many liters to pour in also.

I also kana before. The tech poured the whole 4 litre EO in. (My car manual says 3.1 litres). And the tech insists ok one, all cars he also do like that, and cars will burn EO one, so better to pour more. I called the boss and tell them to draw out some.

myviowner

Hevshop is a Hybrid specialist workshop in Sin Ming.

In Oct last year, I sent my car for a major servicing there, including changing spark plugs, in preparation for drive to Genting.

There was occasional clanging of engine but I did not think much. In December, I drove with my family up to Genting for holiday. Car was progressively clanging, jerking and losing power more frequently. It endangered my family of 6, including a 4 year old on the steep slopes.

On my return, I went to Hevshop, who diagnosed a gearbox problem, and estimated cost of $5k and 3 weeks to repair.

I took car for a second opinion at another workshop, which found the spark plugs put in by Hevshop to be worn out and have gaps of more than 2mm. Changed all 4 plugs and the car is smooth to date.

Hevshop denied responsibility claiming that they have CCTV system showing that the car was serviced, but offered to pay for the replaced spark plugs if I bring the car in for further tests at Hevshop. I was hesitant but also wanted to know what happened. So I said I will bring the car back if they will show me the CCTV footage of the servicing in Oct. HEVSHOP FLATLY REFUSED. I guess they have something to hide.

Whether, they charged me and didn't replace the plugs or replaced it with old or sub-standard plugs, we don't know. But it endangered our lives, spoiled our holiday and nearly caused me an expensive repair which we don't need.

The Hevshop management should and could have done the right thing to address a genuine complain and work together with me to get to the bottom of this problem, but instead they chose to standoff and avoid responsibility.

AVOID HEVSHOP TO SAVE YOURSELF AGGRAVATION, TIME AND MONEY!

Join TYT Alpha gp in fb. Then post your comment there. I saw one post inside, the owner's review of this shop was ok leh.

Stallone

It's weird if they wanna save on spark plugs.. It's not even expensive

doody_

It's weird if they wanna save on spark plugs.. It's not even expensive

It's obvious that's not the end game. When TS went back they said 5k for gearbox. If I was running the shop, after taking the 5k, I would swap in new spark plugs for $50.

carey

If the spark plugs were really worn out, they might have just forgotten to change. So it is best to stay around during servicing.

There were cases in Singapore when workshops forgot to tighten the bolts of the wheel and the wheel rolled away during driving (there was a ST news on this years ago).

Even car agents also can make mistake

My previous car - they didn't tighten the radiator cap after servicing and ended up the car overheated while I was driving

After their roadside assistance service came, they found that the cap was loose :s22:

dennismados

Accident happen everywhere and with any shop (of course if keep happen then avoid at all cost)

It the response and after service that matters.

They diagnosed that problem wrongly or it just your side of the story (i dont know)
But from this accident, i hope that they will improve how they diagnose future car problem becos it will cause great stress to the car owner.

I have personnally bought my hybrid car to be serviced at hevshop today and it seem everthing is ok to me.

mel1888

Accident happen everywhere and with any shop (of course if keep happen then avoid at all cost)

It the response and after service that matters.

They diagnosed that problem wrongly or it just your side of the story (i dont know)
But from this accident, i hope that they will improve how they diagnose future car problem becos it will cause great stress to the car owner.

I have personnally bought my hybrid car to be serviced at hevshop today and it seem everthing is ok to me.
Even AD sometimes smoke cust. TBH this is pretty common practice in this industry. Small workshops best u wait and see urself when they do maintenace.

focus1974

wah spark plugs so cheap in cost, they also wanna makan that?
really stupid if this is true though.

ya.... some workshops claim give u original.. but later give you recon parts.. you also donno..

so .. end of day is ... basically .. trial and error until you find someone you can trust.

or best if you know a friend or relative who is super Anal type.. and then ask him where he service his car. :s13::s13:

xtractor

Avoid this shop too

Even car agents also can make mistake

My previous car - they didn't tighten the radiator cap after servicing and ended up the car overheated while I was driving

After their roadside assistance service came, they found that the cap was loose :s22:

my experience with Han revolution
Recently my car had some issue.....the whole car start to vibrate terribly
so i went to Han Revolution shop @ Tampines to check the problem as they are one of the shop that open on Sunday
need car fix asap coz need to drive to KL few days later
after explaining to the JHK mechanic he suspect something choke on my engine side......so he spray some sort like cleaner to clear it
but problem never solve
after thorough checking again then he say my top block leaking.....need to change the top gasket and ignition coil damage around $850......but i refuse to change
then he say nevermind try to change the spark plug to reduce the vibration......i trust him as he is mechanic......so i pay $160 for everything
after few minute driving my car vibrate worst than before like washing machine
Return to shop and explain to the JHK mechanic & ask compensated for small amount for labour coz problem not solved as i give them business also by changing the spark plug......JHK not happy and refuse to refund

Went back give bad comment & review @ google review......few hours later the boss contact me....explain everything to him then he give promising word
he will give me discount of $70 if next time i go to his shop to get other thing....so i did change good review for him for the deal

after few month i decided to change my surround system.....went to the shop back but this time around it is @ AMK and found out the same mechanic that was @ tampines was station there.......but anyway i decided to change it there to give my trust back to them hope to mend the misunderstanding...... damage cost is $988.
so told the boss we had made the deal before that he promise me to give me $70 discount.... boss face look blur maybe forgotten the promise that we had already deal before on the phone or he act blur i dono...so he say nevermind he told me he will not charge me labour for audio installation

then halfway dismantling old speaker of mine....suddenly he say my head unit spoil.....right side speaker no sound due to head unit spoil....need to change it damage $300++
i tell him off all the while my headunit is ok how come today i come suddenly spoil?....he go and check again and now he found out my head unit wire got some issue need rewiring cost $150
by then i knew he is playing punk liao and just give empty promises only
he dowan to cut that labour speaker installation cost of $150
so he make up story that my head unit spoil/wire got issue
So LLST i pay $1138 coz he already took out old speaker and fix new one
i dowan he do halfway purposely do something make my car worst

my usb cable link to HUD not working anymore as he forget to plug it in
my compartment they never screw back i had to fix it myself coz too far for me to get back to fix it
and worst thing the wire link to my old subwoofer back at the bonnet he just cut it there and doesn't removed it completely

then i promised myself not to come to this shop anymore
This is what i get in the end trusting them for the 2nd time

Btw the vibrate thing is because ECU spoilt..... went to REAL repair shop and they replaced 2nd hand one
and to make it worst they use spark plug not compatible with my car some more...so i wasted more than i saved spending at this shop

hwaa

my experience with Han revolution
Recently my car had some issue.....the whole car start to vibrate terribly
so i went to Han Revolution shop @ Tampines to check the problem as they are one of the shop that open on Sunday
need car fix asap coz need to drive to KL few days later
after explaining to the JHK mechanic he suspect something choke on my engine side......so he spray some sort like cleaner to clear it
but problem never solve
after thorough checking again then he say my top block leaking.....need to change the top gasket and ignition coil damage around $850......but i refuse to change
then he say nevermind try to change the spark plug to reduce the vibration......i trust him as he is mechanic......so i pay $160 for everything
after few minute driving my car vibrate worst than before like washing machine
Return to shop and explain to the JHK mechanic & ask compensated for small amount for labour coz problem not solved as i give them business also by changing the spark plug......JHK not happy and refuse to refund

Went back give bad comment & review @ google review......few hours later the boss contact me....explain everything to him then he give promising word
he will give me discount of $70 if next time i go to his shop to get other thing....so i did change good review for him for the deal

after few month i decided to change my surround system.....went to the shop back but this time around it is @ AMK and found out the same mechanic that was @ tampines was station there.......but anyway i decided to change it there to give my trust back to them hope to mend the misunderstanding...... damage cost is $988.
so told the boss we had made the deal before that he promise me to give me $70 discount.... boss face look blur maybe forgotten the promise that we had already deal before on the phone or he act blur i dono...so he say nevermind he told me he will not charge me labour for audio installation

then halfway dismantling old speaker of mine....suddenly he say my head unit spoil.....right side speaker no sound due to head unit spoil....need to change it damage $300++
i tell him off all the while my headunit is ok how come today i come suddenly spoil?....he go and check again and now he found out my head unit wire got some issue need rewiring cost $150
by then i knew he is playing punk liao and just give empty promises only
he dowan to cut that labour speaker installation cost of $150
so he make up story that my head unit spoil/wire got issue
So LLST i pay $1138 coz he already took out old speaker and fix new one
i dowan he do halfway purposely do something make my car worst

my usb cable link to HUD not working anymore as he forget to plug it in
my compartment they never screw back i had to fix it myself coz too far for me to get back to fix it
and worst thing the wire link to my old subwoofer back at the bonnet he just cut it there and doesn't removed it completely

then i promised myself not to come to this shop anymore
This is what i get in the end trusting them for the 2nd time

Btw the vibrate thing is because ECU spoilt..... went to REAL repair shop and they replaced 2nd hand one
and to make it worst they use spark plug not compatible with my car some more...so i wasted more than i saved spending at this shop

they are emma champion leh. :o

xtractor

they are emma champion leh. :o

u think they care meh?
unless if u are a "big" player and spend big with them then they treat u like king
we are small fly to them leh.......emma champion does not effect them at all.......judges dont come to you and ask you how is the workmanship outside of the competition:s13::s13:
to be accurate they are "accessories" car shop not repair shop

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.