Worth the $1000?

limjialok

Hi, I have a friend who is selling his diy gaming pc to me for $1000. He bought it last year Dec. But he threw away all the boxes, is there still warranty? Considering that there's isn't any box left.

I5 6500
MSI ITX motherboard AC
8gb value ram ddr4 2133mhz
MSI GAMING X RX480 4gb
Silverstone 80plus gold moduler ITX psu
2 x Samsung 500GB 850 EVO
Raven ITX case

Any idea how much would be the market rate for these used parts?
I think it's worth but possibly having no warranty holds me back.

lifeishard

who cares about boxes? it is the receipts that counts?

worth or not is subjective but i guess he won't lose much selling you 1k.

wongminmin

Hi, I have a friend who is selling his diy gaming pc to me for $1000. He bought it last year Dec. But he threw away all the boxes, is there still warranty? Considering that there's isn't any box left.

I5 6500
MSI ITX motherboard AC
8gb value ram ddr4 2133mhz
MSI GAMING X RX480 4gb
Silverstone 80plus gold moduler ITX psu
2 x Samsung 500GB 850 EVO
Raven ITX case

Any idea how much would be the market rate for these used parts?
I think it's worth but possibly having no warranty holds me back.

I5 6500 $200
MSI ITX motherboard AC $150
8gb value ram ddr4 2133mhz $100
MSI GAMING X RX480 4gb $400
Silverstone 80plus gold moduler ITX psu $100
2 x Samsung 500GB 850 EVO $500
Raven ITX case $100

$1550 - 30% for used = $1085

Your friend smart sia...the price have no room for resale.... :s13:

hawthorne

The price seems reasonable. But it has to depend if u r ok with the specs or not lor. It comes with OS?

For warranty he need to pass u the original receipt Lor.

limjialok

I5 6500 $200
MSI ITX motherboard AC $150
8gb value ram ddr4 2133mhz $100
MSI GAMING X RX480 4gb $400
Silverstone 80plus gold moduler ITX psu $100
2 x Samsung 500GB 850 EVO $500
Raven ITX case $100

$1550 - 30% for used = $1085

Your friend smart sia...the price have no room for resale.... :s13:

I see. For the market price for used hardware is around -30%?

limjialok

The price seems reasonable. But it has to depend if u r ok with the specs or not lor. It comes with OS?

For warranty he need to pass u the original receipt Lor.

There is windows 10 os. Warrenty don't need full package meh? Photocopied receipts can anot?

royfrosty

Wait. Who says that warranty no need boxes? Not everything is based on receipt alone.

Guess not much people know about EA distributed Samsung SSD/m.2 SSD?

They require the original box with it. Receipt will be the 2nd thing that they need.

royfrosty

To add on, here are some things that you will need to have those boxes kept or certain things that need to be kept during warranty claims.

Intel CPU, although the warranty is based by batch number and serial number that can be found on the chip, but Intel requires box/fan and the CPU to be returned upon RMA.

Samsung SSD by EA will require the box/receipt and the SSD to be returned upon RMA.

MicroSD cards has to be returned with the packaging/receipt and the adapter if it comes with it.

Motherboard socket lid. Some company requires the socket lid to be returned during RMA.

PSU some company requires ALL cables to be returned for RMA. Some will not.

joshua182

Requiring the box for a warranty claim is ridiculous.

It is a simple abuse of a lack of legalisation on the side of the consumer.

Nevertheless, if you simply insist, they will cave. Just keep the invoice.

limjialok

Thanks you all for the knowledge. Btw for RMA, do they give a new set or a Repaired RMA if under warranty? If they give a new set but I didn't give them the original box, will they keep the box of the new set or give me everything?

royfrosty

Thanks you all for the knowledge. Btw for RMA, do they give a new set or a Repaired RMA if under warranty? If they give a new set but I didn't give them the original box, will they keep the box of the new set or give me everything?

Depend on the items you wanna RMA. Some of the items do come back refurb if they can repair in the country of origin. Some they will just return you a new stock.

They will still give you everything with the box. Some do not comes in a full retail kind of box.

Like for one of my PSU, they return me with a plain brown box rather than the retail ones.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.