Would u buy diesel?

idiotekue83

Kia carens, picasso c4, 3008, grand scenic. All are priced similarly to petrol cars, plus huge fuel savings, similar level of taxes. But need to top up adblue and change particulate filter. Overall running cost still lower. Buy or no buy?

idiotekue83

Is it higher cost for servicing? Are there limited number of workshops that can do servicing?

takeshi_umuro

also depends if ur running cost today is which level and we shld also compare same car to same car perspective. for my car it makes sense for me because 5 yrs and svcing period of 34k km or 2 yrs svcing period which equates to around the same or lower servicing cost. Road tax considered as well but savings on std 20k km per year seems viable and more cost effective for me

Sent from Samsung SM-G935F using GAGT

li9ht5peed

The cost of servicing either a petrol or diesel engined vehicle is determined by 3 main factors:

major
1. spark plugs (petrol engines only).
The more cylinders, the more spark plugs you need. Some engines use 2 plugs per cylinder, so costs goes up. Spark plugs are not expensive. Diesel engines do not need spark plugs, so you save here. Spark plugs do not need to be changed every service and can last a long long time. Your savings here depends on how hungry the workshop is.

2. engine oil specification and volume.
The cost of diesel and petrol EO is almost the same. Big petrol or diesel engines need more EO, so costs goes up.

3. labor.
This is the most expensive component. Agent workshops will charge more than outside workshops naturally.

minor
4. transmission oil specification and volume.
Automatic transmission oil is changed more frequently than manual transmission oil. Transmission oils are changed less frequently than engine oils. The cost per litre is about the same range as engine oils.

5. engine oil filter and transmission oil filter
These items cost almost the same regardless of japanese, korean or continental. Very cheap as well

In summary, the actual cost of servicing a diesel vehicle can be cheaper than a petrol vehicle, depending on its EO and ATF oil capacity.

However almost all diesel cars are continental eg bmw, mercedes, vw, etc. And almost all diesel cars have higher engine displacement, which means more EO is needed. So end up our perception is that a diesel car costs more to service than a petrol car.

In actual fact, the cost of the manpower, spark plugs, filters, EO and ATF oil to the workshop are almost the same, whether diesel, petrol, audi, bentley or chery qq. The workshop can sell spark plugs to petrol car customers. But diesel cars dont have spark plugs right? No problem, diesel cars need more EO, so end up the cost to the workshop is about the same.

idiotekue83

Thanks. Do cars like citroen and Renault atttact higher servicing cost because they are french?

li9ht5peed

You should try citroen if these are the only 2 brands u looking at.

The cost in terms of materials and labor for servicing a petrol engined european car is not much different from a japanese petrol car. The problem is how much the workshop wants from you.

When it comes to french tires like michelin, its a different story. These things cost 2-3 times higher than a china product.

PrOfAtSiR

Diesel car is more worth for high mileage driver
For normal driver, u have to calculate the cost with all the extra cost
I think need to pay diesel tax or so

Sent from zhutou kopitiam using GAGT
Renault flurence 1.5 buay pai leh.

Good for uber grab.

1L =20km.

Imagine you drive 250km a day using petrol engine.
1L-12.5km.
20L x $1.92 =$32-33 (base on 14-16% discount)

If diesel 1L-20km,
Same 250km,only use 12.5L.
12.5L X $1.17=$12(base on 18% discount)

Saving is almost $20/day.
$600/mth
$7200/yr

Sent from SGH BLK 9 using GAGT

li9ht5peed

In 2015,

Citroen sold 10 diesel hatchbacks and 473 diesel mpvs.

Renault sold 72 diesel hatchbacks, 157 diesel sedans and 60 diesel mpvs.

The cheapest petrol (92 RON) after discount is net $1.55/L. For diesel it is net $0.64/L after discount

urban_closet

Have been driving s60 d2 for 1 year. i do approx 800KM per month, $65 tank at SPC per month. To me the savings make sense.

I do wonder about after the wty service period though, and how much costs will rise. Some posts above are very helpful in this aspect.

nfshp253

I have been driving a Volvo S80 D2 for a year and just got a BMW 216d Active Tourer. The cost savings are immense especially if you drive long distances. The quoted official fuel figures are perfectly achievable.

Just make sure you don't get those that require AdBlue because that's an additional cost to factor in. I pump my Diesel at Smart Energy so it's $0.70-$0.80 per litre.

spurman

I used to spend 700bucks in avg a month on petrol.

Now i reckon i spend no more thab 250bucks a month on diesel

ZhuTou!

Renault flurence 1.5 buay pai leh.

Good for uber grab.

1L =20km.

Imagine you drive 250km a day using petrol engine.
1L-12.5km.
20L x $1.92 =$32-33 (base on 14-16% discount)

If diesel 1L-20km,
Same 250km,only use 12.5L.
12.5L X $1.17=$12(base on 18% discount)

Saving is almost $20/day.
$600/mth
$7200/yr

Sent from SGH BLK 9 using GAGT
Use for grab is good la but renault is famous for problem car
Not sure abt diesel one tho

Sent from zhutou kopitiam using GAGT

doody_

I would consider a diesel car in future for the sweet torque.

HeadQuarters

I think diesel tax will add up to somewhat like using petrol. If really much cheaper, diesel cars would have been very popular by now :o

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.