Xiaomi Box Android TV Box

lingcw

My answers in blue.

Hi guys

need some answers from you before i get down to buy this xiaomi 3rd gen box.

1] can i easily install other apk into this box? if can't, what shall i need to do in order to install ?
Easy, download the apk on your PC, copy to thumb drive, plug in to xiaomi and install. Or install 沙发管家 (something like an App Store) and install app from there.

2] How do we install xbmc into this box?
Same as above. Download the xbmc apk from xbmc.org (choose the arm version).

3] Do we really need the OTG cable?
Personally, I think you can live without one.

4] How do we root this box? if this is not a suitable place to ask this question, maybe you can pm me or direct me to other web page?
Go this link for the instruction: LINK

5] Any difference between the original and the 'jailbreak' version of the 3rd gen box?
You mean the root version? Yes, there are differences. Root version is more versatile. Eg. you can run HOLA, make changes to your box so that XBMC can use hardware decoding etc.

6] Where will be the best place to buy this 3rd generation box?
No idea, depends on how much you want to spend and/or how much effort you are willing to put to get it. E.g. Taobao, Qoo10 etc.

I will appreciate all your sincere replies. TIA :o:o:o

Knight_Rider

Yes I have mentioned it 2 pages ago but I didn't want to be that obvious. I think now the main issue is not the error. If the Chinese govt really ban IPTV then I am more concern of the content being updated. Can watch but no content also no use.

tronicle

Hi i'm very keen on this internet TV box.

Can anyone pls help me???

I been looking around the thread but is unable to get a definite answer to my question in mind.

Which internet TV box is the best to get and most stable meaning good streaming and TRULY free channels meaning NO ANNUAL fees or subscription package. I want to watch HBO/ National geographic does the box have???

Which brand box to get?? Is the xiaomi fast in streaming. And if someone is in another room playing internet game will it be very laggy for the gamer? (Have fibre internet 150mbps starhub)

titiju

I tried input this DNS 192.241.222.103 in the xiaomi internet setting and all the ICNTV block issues was removed and my streaming for 兔apps is also working fine with smooth streaming.

Currently enjoying watching despicable me 2 with my kids with wired connection.

FYI I am on singtel fibre op 100 mbps plan.

Thanks for sharing. Got to try it another day. Too late for tonight.

lingcw

Is it possible install Google Play store?
Or Is it possible to just flash Android 4.3 and use as Android TV? Any One tried?

No idea. I remember installing playstore on Mibox2 previously but did not try on Mibox3.
I think Gregory (the resident guru) did post some instruction before, you might want to google for it.

Not sure what you meant by flashing Android 4.3 and use as Android TV... isn't the mibox already a android TV by default?

stam

How do I stop the screen saver for xiaomi box3? I watching stream keep piping out the screen saver and I can't find the function to off it.... Thanks

micheloving

How do I stop the screen saver for xiaomi box3? I watching stream keep piping out the screen saver and I can't find the function to off it.... Thanks

Need to install a custom launcher like apex apk then go android stock settings menu to display and off it there just like in an android phone .

nraviprasad

No idea. I remember installing playstore on Mibox2 previously but did not try on Mibox3.
I think Gregory (the resident guru) did post some instruction before, you might want to google for it.

Not sure what you meant by flashing Android 4.3 and use as Android TV... isn't the mibox already a android TV by default?

Thanks for your reply.

MIBOX is Android Platform but won't support Google Play Store and Also it's in Chinese Language. Even I purchase English Version its not at all user-friendly. So I thought is it possible to install Just Android Platform and use it instead of MI Interface (Developed based on Android)

lingcw

Thanks for your reply.

MIBOX is Android Platform but won't support Google Play Store and Also it's in Chinese Language. Even I purchase English Version its not at all user-friendly. So I thought is it possible to install Just Android Platform and use it instead of MI Interface (Developed based on Android)

Can this be done? I am not aware of it.

lingcw

Go to settings and turn off.
Off-hand I don't remember exactly where in settings but it is at the top and the default value is "4 mins".
Just change to "off".

lingcw

Something like this:
设置 -> 系统设置 -> 通用设置 -> 屏保
Change to "Off"

micheloving

Thanks for your reply.

Need to wait for custom roms for Mibox3 then .

Original rom really is just a stripped down restricted stock android ,quite bad (pathetic actually) can't even change wallpaper .
UnComparable to MIUI in xiaomi phones .

AhHu83

Our 2 giant telcos (red and green) are complaining on the free internet tv that currently in the market available.

They are asking whether it is legal to watch it online or not?

So what do u guys think abt this?

Just Me

Our 2 giant telcos (red and green) are complaining on the free internet tv that currently in the market available.

What I think, is that I need to dig my ears and clear the dirt accumulated inside it from the past 10 years before I can distinguish whether its dogs barking or human whining coming from them :D

Knight_Rider

I got Xiaomi box because technically speaking they are the content provider. It's not something illegal as there is also a subscription feature. At RMB$15 a month, it's cheaper then th MioTV or Starhub Cable box rental. To them not making money means illegal lah what is new. They stupid bid the WC rights so high doesn't mean I also never go to school wad. They carrot better then I carrot.

micheloving

I still rmb the last time they proposed to charge for watsapp usage cause few using their sms/mms services .

Dwindling profits leh ,very difficult to make their program avail to the masses at cheap prices using internet too .Must pressure gahmen to amend copyright law for internet TV Asap or else they will forever live in semi-luxury lives .
They all a part of famiLEE afterall .

Just a matter of time before they block/limit china streaming sites and torrent completely.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.