Xiaomi Mi Max

Nakedtoes

Same. I have no brand loyalty. Any brand good i will sway to that brand.

There are certain brands where i prefer not to touch or recommend due to past experiences...

give them(brands that u shun) a chance next time they might surprise u.. remember last time nokia , ericsson era... samsung and LG phones is like sh1t? who can tell samsung can be the samsung now?? same for china phone.. next era is definitely china phone, maybe huawei or xiaomi... nobody knows..

Oinkize

give them(brands that u shun) a chance next time they might surprise u.. remember last time nokia , ericsson era... samsung and LG phones is like sh1t? who can tell samsung can be the samsung now?? same for china phone.. next era is definitely china phone, maybe huawei or xiaomi... nobody knows..

Tried. 2 years ago. Same lousy experience. Their users made the experience worst in forums...

sumkong

Finally made up my mind and ordered the 128GB Mi Max.

I was the first few who bought the Note 1 when it was not cool to own a jumbo phone.

I was the first few to go to Far East Plaza early in the morning of the first day of Note 1 sales even before the official release and unlike the big crowds for iPhone, it was quiet but the few of us there knew what and why we want a big phone. We want to support the sellers and help spread the usefulness of the jumbo phone.

Sure enough, I got stares and unkind jokes whenever I used my jumbo phone; "is that a brick?" , "waaa can use as weapon already", "alamak so big, uncle phone leh"...

So I purposely always leave my phone on the table to let people watch the apps that I'm using. At that time, there are many new and exciting apps to explore.

I can show them that my Note 1 will play almost any media files whereas iPhone was very restrictive. I was quite surprised that even rm video files could play and I don't have to waste time transcoding like iPhone. I owned an iPhone 4 before simply because it's beautiful LOL. It's simple to use but very restrictive in hiding files from users. I got frustrated and gave it away free to a friend.

Leaving my Note on the table, people can gather around and we share photos, videos, work related pdf documents or I can teach them about new apps like Whatsapp. With the iPhone I can't do that. The screen is too small and I had to pick up the iPhone to bring it close to their faces one by one, very troublesome and waste time.

Very soon many people realised the usefulness of a smart phone and bought either an iPhone or Android phone. In my office, there's even rivalry between the iPhones and the jumbo phones camp. It's quite a victory when one day when a big group of us were taking a lift together and each brought out a smart phone, then someone lamented to another, "why did you betrayed us iPhone people and joined the enemy? I'm so sad leh."

When the Note 3 came out, there's no doubt that the jumbo phone has become the main stream. There's hype enough to rival the iPhone. I took my time to order from Singtel and lined up to collect at MBS in an unprecedented major launch event rivaling the iPhone.

This time I don't have to buy from Far East Plaza just to support the sellers to keep the jumbo phone sales alive.

I skipped the Note 4 and waited for Note 5. But I also skipped the Note 5 for lack of removable battery and uSD card slot. Patiently waited for the Note 6/7. Meanwhile, I was mesmerized by the beauty of the curved S7 Edge. But if Note 7 follows the same design then again no removable battery and uSD card slot.

I'm seduced by the beauty of the curved glass but I'm not willing to forego removable battery and uSD card slot. So I decided to look around the Internet for any phone that matches my ideal Note 7 equivalent. But alas, there's none.

The closest is the MiMax in some equivalent ways,

1. No removable battery but the huge battery is equivalent.

2. uSD is shared with a sim slot. But the 128GB is equivalent. Even my Note 3 is 32+64GB only. Still I filled them up with videos and work related documents.

3. Having 2nd sim slot is a new requirement since I go Malaysia frequently now. It will save me a lot on roaming charges.

4. No S pen for easy copy and paste but the big screen makes copy and paste much easier so it's not an issue.

The biggest problem is the huge screen. My Note 3 is already jumbo enough but I'm comfortable holding it but this humongous size is something else altogether LOL. I went down to SLQ to try it out for size. It's indeed difficult to hold securely with one hand and scroll with the thumb while reading. I'll have to think of a way to add support at the back for this to be securely done.

Finally when Note 7 came out recently, I read all the specs and reviews closely. It confirmed what I was afraid to be true. But the beauty is so seductive. I still hesitated for a few days. Finally decided that since Note 7's beauty will sell itself for beauty's sake without my support so I'm buying the Mi Max where the enthusiasm and excitement here in this forum reminded me of Note 1. Enthusiasm is infectious like the Note 1.

i was, too, the very first note 1 adopter. I could still remembering hunting this phone with my wife at tampine mall and century sq from those small telco shops . i was also being laughted at when i showed this to my colleagues. anyway, i was the one who had the last laugh.

prior to note 1, i had an iphone 3G. since note 1, i have never gone back to ios. I like the simplicity of andriod os. lately, i was given an iphone 6s from the company. not much of a choice so i carried 2 phones. the other phone was a HTC One M8. Honestly, after going back to iphone 6s, i really cannot stand the iOS. my personal opinion is ios has not improve very much. i finds it less user friendly as compared to the ever evolving andriod os.

then, i accidentally came across this forum while sourcing a "big" phone for my wife. the posion was too strong and i could not resist and took over the phone from her. after owning the mi max for about a week, i can say that it is a very under rated phone. we are getting much more then the price we paid for. the only thing i wished it to have is NFC. however, this is not a deal breaker for me.

So now, i am happily carrying one bigger phone instead of 2 smaller phones.

Cheers, dont hesitate, just buy. lol.

Nakedtoes

i was, too, the very first note 1 adopter. I could still remembering hunting this phone with my wife at tampine mall and century sq from those small telco shops . i was also being laughted at when i showed this to my colleagues. anyway, i was the one who had the last laugh.

prior to note 1, i had an iphone 3G. since note 1, i have never gone back to ios. I like the simplicity of andriod os. lately, i was given an iphone 6s from the company. not much of a choice so i carried 2 phones. the other phone was a HTC One M8. Honestly, after going back to iphone 6s, i really cannot stand the iOS. my personal opinion is ios has not improve very much. i finds it less user friendly as compared to the ever evolving andriod os.

then, i accidentally came across this forum while sourcing a "big" phone for my wife. the posion was too strong and i could not resist and took over the phone from her. after owning the mi max for about a week, i can say that it is a very under rated phone. we are getting much more then the price we paid for. the only thing i wished it to have is NFC. however, this is not a deal breaker for me.

So now, i am happily carrying one bigger phone instead of 2 smaller phones.

Cheers, dont hesitate, just buy. lol.

i remembered i got laughed at when carrying the Nokia NGAGE out... then slowly 3 of my colleagues got hooked to the phone and bought the phone and we play bluetooth games together during lunch break... wow:D

Nakedtoes

Besides screen size, what's the diff between mi max and redmi note 3?

Sent from OnePlus A0001 using GAGT

advantages of mi max....
andriod 6 vs andriod 5
4g/3g sim vs 4g/2g sim
gorrilla 4 glass vs no brand china glass
thinner body
better screen..

ok dun look down on the china glass on redmi note 3... if both phone drop i confirm mi max crack first.:(

Oinkize

i remembered i got laughed at when carrying the Nokia NGAGE out... then slowly 3 of my colleagues got hooked to the phone and bought the phone and we play bluetooth games together during lunch break... wow:D

I was the 1st and only among my friends to own/use an ngage. I loved it and the concept of the phone. After that i bought the qd model as well...

Nakedtoes

I was the 1st and only among my friends to own/use an ngage. I loved it and the concept of the phone. After that i bought the qd model as well...

think during the time this is the few phone wo camera also... and those in army camp with NGAGE able to play games with bunk buddies:D... the symbian OS era

Oinkize

think during the time this is the few phone wo camera also... and those in army camp with NGAGE able to play games with bunk buddies:D... the symbian OS era

At that time non if my friends look up upon this phone. They cannot believe that this affordable but weird phone is good lor...

That's the time where i spent $120 on a 256mb mmc!!!

jazzman80

I remember I bought note 1 at mobilesquare in 2011, before the small shops were selling them I think.
first phone at 5.3" when others were still using 3.5" phones.

my colleagues were looking at my phone and jjww among themselves.
if only Samsung removed the physical home button and their numerous bloatware, I think their phones are good.

think back that global ROM is better ,as it removes majority of xiaomi apps. as well as it came with Google components.

so I reverted back to 7.5.3 again, have to refrain from switching off the "MIUI optimization" as it bootloops the phone.
somemore over at MIUI 8, we can't disable the apps.

the battery consumption between having Google components installed and pure mi phone, no diff I think.
so might as well flash back to global,without the bloatware.

can you guys help me check under battery usage, what's on top? is it android OS?

kandinsky

+1. I laughed at my campmates who had it. End up it looked so fun, and good way to kill time, I also bought one. :s13: Was the QD I think, still have it lying somewhere, lol. Recall the speaker was also quite loud, could serve as a music player + radio also. Best phone for NSF at that time.

azbyza

let me share a super japan brand... u know this bezelless phone 402SH? its bezelless screen and technology able to rival any brand and put them to shame. Yes Japan technology (did u see any speaker at the top of the screen ??)..
Yes, Japanese still have very good technology. Unfortunately, they lost the hunger to compete as fiercely as the Koreans and the Chinese. I saw many such good phones and home appliances at Akihabara that are so good yet I don't find any news about them or even sold in Singapore.

Then I double check their prices, wooah very expensive. The Japanese companies are spoilt by the high profit margins in their own local markets that they don't want to spend the extra efforts (like translate manuals to other languages...sales& service offices..) in other countries and lower prices. I heard that foreign companies are restricted by the protective regulations in Japan. Therefore the Japanese companies have no competitions to lower their prices.

With the property bubbles of the 1990s, they also got too comfortable doing nothing and yet their paper worth inflated. Their whole mindset changed and suddenly they behave like another USA LOL, expected high wages and good lives. They are comfortable enough, so no need to chase after the thin profit margins competing overseas.

Singapore is heading the same direction with inflated property prices.

azbyza

Good to find more of us here coming out to share our common experiences :) .
Cheers.

touchme

Also a $920 note1 buyer from Far East, influenced whole family to it, moved on to Mega6.3, and miMax, in between short stints with a couple of 7-inchers, 5.5" RN2-3 and zenmax. Family now all xiaomi. Just shows you just can't go back to smaller screens.

Sent from miMax using GAGT

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.