Xiaomi Redmi Note 3

makav31i

I think you hate a lot of people in your life, right? Hate Xiaomi/telco for not supplying enough stocks, hate Challenger for marking price up, hate flippers for not selling you at RRP and not delivering the phone to your house right now, hate people for keeping you waiting, etc.

The phone is not so expensive. Instead of hoping people give you $10-$20 discount, I think you can focus on other better things.

I personally hate Xiaomi for bringing this phone to Singapore too late. I already bought another phone. This RMN 3 actually gives quite nice feeling in the hand but I found the screen quality can be improved.

Good luck.

On the contrary, I already got my phone yesterday from Challenger...For me, I only hate those people who try to take advantage of others like the flippers who deprive others who genuinely want/need to get the phone...This flippers add no value to the economy at all...

I do not hate business but I do not like individuals who think that they can make a quick profit at the expense of genuine buyers...Shops that have ready stocks are not selling at what the flippers are demanding...So I am trying to create an awareness so that people do not fall victim to such opportunist as supporting this opportunist would only encourage them to do it again...

dirtysock

On the contrary, I already got my phone yesterday from Challenger...For me, I only hate those people who try to take advantage of others like the flippers who deprive others who genuinely want/need to get the phone...This flippers add no value to the economy at all...

I do not hate business but I do not like individuals who think that they can make a quick profit at the expense of genuine buyers...Shops that have ready stocks are not selling at what the flippers are demanding...So I am trying to create an awareness so that people do not fall victim to such opportunist as supporting this opportunist would only encourage them to do it again...

Are the challenger stock snapdragon 650?

makav31i

Are the challenger stock snapdragon 650?

Global sets only snapdragon 650...All local warranty sets are snapdragon 650...If you buy from telcos like singtel, it is $299...If you are in the area of far east, mobile square also selling ready stocks at $299...Challenger selling at $319...All those flippers that bought from xiaomi singapore would only be getting the phone from tomorrow onwards...It is the same exact phone sold by the telco or challenger or xiaomi singappre but the former two got ready stock which can be collected on the spot...

cscs3

Global sets only snapdragon 650...All local warranty sets are snapdragon 650...If you buy from telcos like singtel, it is $299...If you are in the area of far east, mobile square also selling ready stocks at $299...Challenger selling at $319...All those flippers that bought from xiaomi singapore would only be getting the phone from tomorrow onwards...It is the same exact phone sold by the telco or challenger or xiaomi singappre but the former two got ready stock which can be collected on the spot...

Sim Lim one shop at level 3 selling $269. SD 650 processor. Shop warranty only. By the way, Challenger is the authorized Xiaomi.sg reseller. Just that they sell at higher price with some additional free gift. This was confirmed by Xiaomi.sg.

I gotten my previous Mi4i from Mobile square back last year. It was confirmed to be Xiaomi.sg set. However I do not know how did they get the stock.

To be fair, Xiaomi phone is all the same, just parallel importer or sell by Xiaomi.sg. If the price is low enough, I do not see why we have to get from Xiaomi.sg which usually late by free months or till product is about to discontinued from production line.

Last, Global rom only for SD processor. But that does not means MTK set cannot be used Globally.

Shadow79

I bought the Redmi Note 3 from Challenger yesterday as I happened to be at one. Apparently if you are a member of Challenger, you get a free 1 year protection against cracked screen for Android phones purchased from them. So $20 additional is really not that bad for peace of mind :)

kelun84

sounds like a brick. u need to read mi. forum on how to unbrick

brick ah!? die liao.. haha

i saw those unbrick post. ask me to open up the phone and such sia... sian.:(

anyone able to revive it for me?

amazingone

honestly i don't think Challenger should be selling things above RPP. If they are allowed to get away with doing that, next time can sell a lot of other brands above RPP depending on supply & demand however they like.

They can sell it as a compulsory bundle with sd cards, screen protectors, casings to bump up the price. But as a nationwide retailer, selling products above RPP is very bad business practice.
Think of the extra $20 as a product placement fee for Redmi Note 3 at Challenger, or in layman terms maybe some rental or kopi money for Challenger to promote their products.
I believe Challenger does charge companies who decides to place their products at Challenger, like how the Mi Air Purifier is sort of 'overpriced' compared to the pricing in China, which is likely due to the product placement fee that Fairprice charge(think of it as Xiaomi rent a space in Fairprice to sell their products).

Sent from my Rice phone using GAGT

makav31i

Sim Lim one shop at level 3 selling $269. SD 650 processor. Shop warranty only. By the way, Challenger is the authorized Xiaomi.sg reseller. Just that they sell at higher price with some additional free gift. This was confirmed by Xiaomi.sg.

I gotten my previous Mi4i from Mobile square back last year. It was confirmed to be Xiaomi.sg set. However I do not know how did they get the stock.

To be fair, Xiaomi phone is all the same, just parallel importer or sell by Xiaomi.sg. If the price is low enough, I do not see why we have to get from Xiaomi.sg which usually late by free months or till product is about to discontinued from production line.

Last, Global rom only for SD processor. But that does not means MTK set cannot be used Globally.

Please understand that I do not mind parallel import phones if the price is below RRP or the phone is not sold locally...I know that the MTK set can be used globally, if not how do the people who bought the MTK sets used the phone...For mobile square, I think they bought it at below RRP from those who sign up the phone from telco...Don't be surprised that people sign up for free phone and sell it to mobile shop...

At the end of the day, a buyer had to decide if the Local warranty is worth the price difference between an export sets or a local sets...If the price difference is not much different, would you buy a local set or an export set?$30 for local warranty is worth it or not is up to the buyer...

However, if a shop is selling the MTK model at around the same price as the SD650, which would you buy?I would think about the ethical issue as some shop might pass off the phone as the Redmi Note 3 and omitting the fact that it is the MTK model and not the SD650...While technically it is not wrong to say the MTK model is the Redmi Note 3, it is quite unscrupulous to market it as such to consumers who might not be aware...

kewellz

Maybe let's not continue to harp on the marking up of sellers. It's anyone's wish to do that anything they want, advice once can already :D

Talk about the phone! People who got their phones already any nice or cool features to share?

luei74

Hi all gurus bro here.

i really need some here. my phone after trying to change the firmware to globle stable rom, it got stuck at the MI screen after reboot.

any bro can help me on this? i have tried alot of method, but it just stuck there :(

Look like soft bricked symptom.

1). May I know what method u use to flash the global stable rom?

2). u know the org rom that the phone came with?

Can check http://en.miui.com forums on the topic of how they unbrick the phone...

halocast

loving this phone..

:D

pretty much nth to complain at this price point.

especially love the fingerprint sensor..

Computeron

brick ah!? die liao.. haha

i saw those unbrick post. ask me to open up the phone and such sia... sian.:(

anyone able to revive it for me?

huh... no need to open up ur phone ...:s13::s13:
just need to reflash rom..properly.

Norman Chan

Sorry to ask...why need to flash to global rom ? If stick with the rom that comes with the phone...what bad things can happen ?

kelun84

luei74

zzxxzzxx

Those who buy Parallel Imports from China have China ROM without Google.
So will need or want to flash to Global ROM.

Supply and demand stuff will always stay.
Supply LOW, Demand High = Flippers Profit.
I jumped to PI RMN3pro.

mavric77

Still same problem.
RMN3pro2.png

RMN3pro3.png

same here i think it is becoz the phone is bootlocked, need to figure out a way to unlock it

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.