Yilan and Hualien

hydrodog

Hi guys,

I'm planning to go Taiwan this october for 16 days. I have plans for 10 days, for the remaining 6 days I was thinking of covering Yilan and Hualien.. Was thinking if you guys can contribute on the 'must-go' places of Yilan and Hualien, and if you can briefly describe the directions (e.g buses to take from where to where to reach the destination), I would greatly appreciate as well.

I'm traveling alone, hence if you have lobangs like, cheap place to stay for Yilan and Hualien, do share with me as well. =) thanks in advance!

kittyfan86

Must go to Taroke. Hualien is small, not that much there but there is this buns place called Gong Zhen buns. Very good, all the local go there, even President Ma went.

dilphinus

Must go to Taroke. Hualien is small, not that much there but there is this buns place called Gong Zhen buns. Very good, all the local go there, even President Ma went.

2qs9nut.jpg

2niseno.jpg

This is really good! Especially the red tea!
2hx203l.jpg

v6hnat.jpg

hydrokid

Woo~! steam buns! Ok I'll ask around when I'm in Hualien.

Anyone actually got a tour guide for hualien to recommend? Usually per day how much will it cost for hualien area?

I've did a check and planned to be there for 2 days.

Day 1
七星潭
太魯閣
Tour 市區

Day 2
花東縱谷雲山水
鳳林小鎮
林田山

Is there any other places I should cover? 民宿 I booked is along the east coast(越牆工園), hence I din't think about going to beach. 民宿 I booked is pretty steep (2800NT per night) because it happened to be a 民宿 that was featured in one of the 台灣偶像劇, <翻糖花園>. I guess I can catch sunrise from my 民宿 as well. =P But from the pictures posted, I kind of like the deco of the 民宿, and being located by the beach, hence I feel perhaps I can spend a little more than normal for a homestay... =P

calkel20

Woo~! steam buns! Ok I'll ask around when I'm in Hualien.

Anyone actually got a tour guide for hualien to recommend? Usually per day how much will it cost for hualien area?

I've did a check and planned to be there for 2 days.

Day 1
七星潭
太魯閣
Tour 市區

Day 2
花東縱谷雲山水
鳳林小鎮
林田山

Is there any other places I should cover? 民宿 I booked is along the east coast(越牆工園), hence I din't think about going to beach. 民宿 I booked is pretty steep (2800NT per night) because it happened to be a 民宿 that was featured in one of the 台灣偶像劇, <翻糖花園>. I guess I can catch sunrise from my 民宿 as well. =P But from the pictures posted, I kind of like the deco of the 民宿, and being located by the beach, hence I feel perhaps I can spend a little more than normal for a homestay... =P

When u r at hualien, look for 紀展男 :0921 633238
We engaged his service for 7 pax yesterday for taroko n qingshui cliff. Very engaging person and super knowledgeable. Took care of my aged granny throughout the trip.

Wanted a day at taroko and another day at hualien-taitung coast, but due to weather, we have to retreat today.

Though we paid a little more, the trip was fantastic and worthy, i am sure you may be paying lesser by engaging a taxi driver at train station, but service could be questionable.

Gixxerfied

We engaged his service for 7 pax yesterday for taroko n qingshui cliff. Very engaging person and super knowledgeable. Took care of my aged granny throughout the trip.

Wanted a day at taroko and another day at hualien-taitung coast, but due to weather, we have to retreat today.

Though we paid a little more, the trip was fantastic and worthy, i am sure you may be paying lesser by engaging a taxi driver at train station, but service could be questionable.

Hw much and if got provide for 4 pax?? :D

dilphinus

Taroko Gorge can go on your own. There's a shuttle bus from the Hualien train station. Of cos your itinerary is restricted to bus schedule/timings.

calkel20

Hw much and if got provide for 4 pax?? :D

My one he quote 4000 lor. Think if pay 3k is orike, coz train station little yellow quote 2.5-2.8k per day 4 8-9 hours tour.
Steady driver not send tofu type, so we had a smooth ride.

Gixxerfied

My one he quote 4000 lor. Think if pay 3k is orike, coz train station little yellow quote 2.5-2.8k per day 4 8-9 hours tour.
Steady driver not send tofu type, so we had a smooth ride.

3k sounds okay..I am looking at around that price for a day tour of taroko for 4 also..

calkel20

3k sounds okay..I am looking at around that price for a day tour of taroko for 4 also..

Actually friendly taiwanese la from taitung. Got taxi driver quote 2.5k but even the ride from station to minsu c beh guai lan lor. So i told minsu i pay more nvm, make sure service good hor.

That is all we care. N Mr 紀 says cross mountain is abt 7k for 7-9seaters but view shiok sia. Ride time can take up to 8 hours if chiu stop to pew pew.

yuri princess

1person nia also can ?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.