YTD 2025 Networth tracking thread

blue_denim24

how did you set up for IBKR? So they also auto convert your SGD into USD and then use the USD to buy the nearest unit of ETF? Can you set what date/time for the USD and ETF buying?
I got a prompt to enable fractional trading first. It was just a form and it was approved in less then 24 hours. My purchase shows I bought 18.2508 units of vwra so it purchases for exact amount you set (I set for 2k USD). You can choose date but time is not allowed to be chosen. My account has sufficient liquid USD but I think if USD is less it will auto convert. Go to trade menu on left and you should see recurring investment icon

westtraveller

Not sure it was available in SG already but last week I noticed option of recurring investment on VWRA/IWDA/EIMI in IBKR and I set it up for 2 monthly buys 15 days apart (although I am using IBKR for 5+ years now, I never noticed this option earlier). With additional standing instruction for transfer from dbs to IBKR, I am all set. Very good for those who are busy with work and end up forgetting / delaying buys due to lack of time or due to fear coz of recent market movements

Thanks for this heads up! I was too busy to notice also. Went through the process of allowing fractional shares and also tried to set up recurring buy for VWRA (my pick of CSPX not eligible for fractional shares), but it said I’m not allowed to do recurring buy. Hopefully it’s a system issue and can set up in next few days.

highsulphur

I got a prompt to enable fractional trading first. It was just a form and it was approved in less then 24 hours. My purchase shows I bought 18.2508 units of vwra so it purchases for exact amount you set (I set for 2k USD). You can choose date but time is not allowed to be chosen. My account has sufficient liquid USD but I think if USD is less it will auto convert. Go to trade menu on left and you should see recurring investment icon
thanks

perhaps not for me now. So far it is just the few steps for that one day per month. Seems relatively easy for now and at least keep me excited for that one day of the month

1) transfer SGD
2) convert SGD to USD
3) put in order for ISAC

hwarzoner

Near 50 yo single man, low income earner here, 1050000 cash n investment, cpf 720k. No house, no car, no women.

limster

Near 50 yo single man, low income earner here, 1050000 cash n investment, cpf 720k. No house, no car, no women.
congrats on your savings of 1.8m. In Singapore, if you had ploughed some of that cash into buying a property earlier on when loan rates were so low you would probably have a benefited from the increase in housing prices now.

If you got no property, you are at the mercy of unreasonable landlords that keep jacking up the rent - unless you are single and staying with parents, waiting to inherit their property?

bo_tak_chek_bbfa

Portfolio hit 100k finally.

i have 40k in OA, and 60k SA. Turning 30 this year

If stay single and live with my parents, dont buy property, then inherit HDB, you all think possible to quit my job and lie flat? I can do food delivery and earn $2500 per month good enough
You have everything in your cpf?

hwmook

If stay single and live with my parents, dont buy property, then inherit HDB, you all think possible to quit my job and lie flat? I can do food delivery and earn $2500 per month good enough

Food delivery earn $2500 is not easy, how to lie flat?

highsulphur

Why give up at 30?

sohguanh

If you are very sure confirmed single no shotgun marriage then yes can retire now liao. Assumption there are no other siblings and only just you so no one to contest with you the parent HDB upon their death I guess.

bo_tak_chek_bbfa

No. 100k portfolio is not in cpf.

Because I am not interested in anything.
Why not keep your day time job for the salary and benefits but dial back your commitment? As someone above pointed out, to hit 2500 for food delivery is really tough and you can't exactly lie flat.

I still think 100k liquid is still a little low to quit cold turkey.

limster

Food delivery earn $2500 is not easy, how to lie flat?
I was wondering about this. What job he is doing now that makes food delivery seem like an easy job. 😅

After watching the CNA documentary, I am pretty sure my white collar sit in office, sit at home to take zoom call type of job is much easier. And the current heat makes me appreciate the free office aircon even more:

boringLife-

Food delivery I can choose when I feel like working and guaranteed to generate income.

I work as insurance agent before I graduated but no basic and the agency make you pay for roadshows. In the end your pnl can be negative after commiting your time and effort.

What other jobs are there I can work freely and sure have income as long I clock the hours

westtraveller

Food delivery I can choose when I feel like working and guaranteed to generate income.

I work as insurance agent before I graduated but no basic and the agency make you pay for roadshows. In the end your pnl can be negative after commiting your time and effort.

What other jobs are there I can work freely and sure have income as long I clock the hours

Bank back office? Or any company admin work..

revhappy

Singapore is good only for white collar jobs. How about teaching? Tuition classes is a huge industry. Choose a field where you can scale up easily and mint a lot of money. Maybe try your hand at import export also or similar business.

wira

how about PHV drivers ?
Probably sure have few $K income a month if clock hours and still in air con environment and safer than food delivery i feel.

limster

how about PHV drivers ?
Probably sure have few $K income a month if clock hours and still in air con environment and safer than food delivery i feel.
if you own a car and want to 'monetise' it after retirement, PHV is a good way to do so. for 'casual' PHV, the current car rental rates may not be worth it and the rental companies keep on jacking up the price and often grab your deposit for whatever scratches they find on your car.

if you are not an experienced driver, starting out in PHV might be quite stressful and there is always a risk of accident/ traffic police summons etc.

d9_lives

Also looking for something similar. A more physically demanding job but indoor.

I am really strong for my age and I feel a bit wasted to just let my body rot by sitting for hours in office.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.