YTD 2026 Networth tracking thread

d5dude

after you die, when the beneficiaries swoop in to divide your assets, the value of the home you stayed in is definitely very relevant. no one is going to say its not part of net worth at that point.

I guess thats why some people prefer to focus on the part of your wealth that actually makes a difference to their retirement lifestyle instead, which is the liquid net worth. But if I am lazy and say 'net worth' instead of the full term 'liquid net worth'... so what? Call police?
:ROFLMAO:

A home with a higher value usually means that its a nicer home, I wouldnt say it makes no difference to one's retirement lifestyle.

Also theres been a growing trend of rich oldies selling their homes to live in luxurious retirement homes, a primary residence with a high value will definitely help to fund this.

limster

Also theres been a growing trend of rich oldies selling their homes to live in luxurious retirement homes, a primary residence with a high value will definitely help to fund this.
Yes thats probably the default option for the next generation that are single/no children,

This is the model in Australia - unfortunately when you live in the retirement home, you do not have a title/ownership of the land (even if the retirement home consists of separate houses) , so if the retirement home goes in the financial trouble or the directors embezzle money, you may get evicted by creditors. Doing an internet search, such scandals have occurred before.

I am thinking maybe retirement I buy a 3 storey + basement cluster terrace and convert to retirement home. lease out one floor to a rich oldie I can get along with, I stay on the other floor, and then employ nurse/physio etc.... still far off but something to think about because then I have the title to the property.

Current thinking seems to be that children (may not be all, may be selected children) take care of parents and inherit their property.

laokorkor

I can see both sides of the argument and agree somewhat to both.

On the one hand, you can't eat real estate during retirement.

On the other hand, especially for young people owning their own homes, they're probably 300% (?) net worth in their own home.

I always think that (1) it's important to own your own home to avoid rentals and (2) own a home that's within your own limit. For me, that's a fully paid HDB 4rm in Jurong West being a middle-class family. There's no need to keep up with the Jones and haolian by owning private property. Only when you've made it in your career then should you upgrade.

LOL!

elvintay07

For me very simple. If bank willing to take in as collateral means it is asset la. Don’t need to F care what your dog, wiki or grandmother say. Today one can buy penny stocks and call it an asset but bank don’t take in, also LPPL.

elvintay07

On the other hand, especially for young people owning their own homes, they're probably 300% (?) net worth in their own home.

I always think that (1) it's important to own your own home to avoid rentals and (2) own a home that's within your own limit. For me, that's a fully paid HDB 4rm in Jurong West being a middle-class family. There's no need to keep up with the Jones and haolian by owning private property. Only when you've made it in your career then should you upgrade.

LOL!
As if you can eat 1000 shares of Google meh? Or if you own stocks of DFI retail, can walk in and drink their vitamin C meh.

Anyway just follow your own rules can liao la. The talk of new bird cannot 🙅 own private property is also ********. Machiam I tell someone you only can buy penny stocks as fresh grad and only can own Amazon when you become director.

Ownself song, ownself answer.

d5dude

Yes thats probably the default option for the next generation that are single/no children,

This is the model in Australia - unfortunately when you live in the retirement home, you do not have a title/ownership of the land (even if the retirement home consists of separate houses) , so if the retirement home goes in the financial trouble or the directors embezzle money, you may get evicted by creditors. Doing an internet search, such scandals have occurred before.

I am thinking maybe retirement I buy a 3 storey + basement cluster terrace and convert to retirement home. lease out one floor to a rich oldie I can get along with, I stay on the other floor, and then employ nurse/physio etc.... still far off but something to think about because then I have the title to the property.

Current thinking seems to be that children (may not be all, may be selected children) take care of parents and inherit their property.

Yea but the whole pt of retirement homes is to not own them, many of these retirement homes are like 5 star hotels, but with elder care facilities. Like this one for example:

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/sin...ted-living-perennial-holdings-seniors-5317156

The monthly cost is rather steep, but it’s a nice option for people who can afford it, or have tons of home equity they want to unlock during retirement.

I will probably check myself into one of these things if my wife pass before me, though I think it’s unlikely since women tend to live longer than men.

limster

CD0bXg2.png

S&P500 went down, but portfolio still holding steady.

DevilPlate

LOL!
Why owning condos == haolian?

I bought and rent them out as investment.

limster

Why owning condos == haolian?

I bought and rent them out as investment.
I think he's trying to say that if you are middle class, owning private property is overstretching yourself financially, because you must take on a lot of debt.

if you can own private property for investment without taking on a lot of debt, you are not middle class ;)

DevilPlate

I think he's trying to say that if you are middle class, owning private property is overstretching yourself financially, because you must take on a lot of debt.

if you can own private property for investment without taking on a lot of debt, you are not middle class ;)
I always try to max my loan last time at around ~80% lol

CrashWire

Yea but the whole pt of retirement homes is to not own them, many of these retirement homes are like 5 star hotels, but with elder care facilities. Like this one for example:

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/sin...ted-living-perennial-holdings-seniors-5317156

The monthly cost is rather steep, but it’s a nice option for people who can afford it, or have tons of home equity they want to unlock during retirement.

I will probably check myself into one of these things if my wife pass before me, though I think it’s unlikely since women tend to live longer than men.
I think the risk you pointed out yourself is that some people sell their homes to fund their entrance into such facilities (which can be ~$100k+), which then goes bankrupt.

https://www.wsj.com/finance/she-paid-1-million-to-join-a-senior-facility-its-bankruptcy-wiped-her-out-1732159d (no paywall https://archive.ph/t89uf)

https://www.cbsnews.com/news/continuing-care-retirement-community-bankruptcy-fee-refunds/

d5dude

I think the risk you pointed out yourself is that some people sell their homes to fund their entrance into such facilities (which can be ~$100k+), which then goes bankrupt.

https://www.wsj.com/finance/she-paid-1-million-to-join-a-senior-facility-its-bankruptcy-wiped-her-out-1732159d (no paywall https://archive.ph/t89uf)

https://www.cbsnews.com/news/continuing-care-retirement-community-bankruptcy-fee-refunds/

These people made bad financial decisions by opting to pay the incredibly high "entrance fees", these are like annuities except that the counter party have weak financials.

There are many such facilities that offer very low/negligible entrance fees, of course the monthly costs will be higher but most smart people will opt for this, it makes no sense to be stuck in what is essentially a long term contract with these care facilities (by paying the exorbitant entrance fees), nobody even knows if the quality of care will remain consistent over time.

Btw the care facility operated by perennial doesnt even feature an entrance fee, minimum is just a 3 month stay, thats far shorter than all apartment rental contracts in SG.

d5dude

SG got cheap and affordable CCA 2 rm flat for widow/widowers/singles

I think I saw ST or zaobao feature this elderly woman that sold her landed property to move in to a 2rm HDB flat. I personally would never consider this since its I think its quite risky for elders to live alone.

Dun really understand why anyone with reasonably high networth would ever consider this...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.