Zero1 Mobile discussion thread

Jurong640

Ok lah, can use no lag can liao.
got lag leh. On MRT, underground or aboveground, the ping is quite high. Loading webpages is taking longer. But not complaining, at least it averages out, pretty consistent. M1 maxx on the other hand, can be quite fast and low in ping, but when it is bad, it is really bad.

twosix

got lag leh. On MRT, underground or aboveground, the ping is quite high. Loading webpages is taking longer. But not complaining, at least it averages out, pretty consistent. M1 maxx on the other hand, can be quite fast and low in ping, but when it is bad, it is really bad.
So far so good for me. Maybe I dun really use internet on the train. Just read ebook.

xiaofan

Zero-1-speedtest.png

Sharing some of field speed test done just now.

Not quite impressed with Zero1 Singtel 5G NSA. The NSA speeds are getting slower as months pass by. Zym and Zero1 are same 5G NSA. However, in recent months, i noticed Singtel's 5G NSA speeds are getting slower and slower. Last time (half a year ago), I was able to get 1gbps download speeds.

Since, the announcement of 5G+ coming to ST MVNO's, the speeds came down a lot. But i hope, when 5G SA turns on for ST MVNO, it will improve. Some places, latency very high, loading of webpages very slow. On MRT, sometimes a website take very long to load.

Maxx 5G SA still wins in latency and peak speeds. So far, i haven't got any download speeds of over 1gbps

I can reproduce the results probably easily as I can go to the place on the weekends or during my December vacation time, comparing Singtel SIM Only 5G SA versus M1 Maxx 5G SA.

I will say the results are considered very good already, even with my original expectations.

Previous expectations of 5G SA/NSA:
500 Mbps excellent​
250 Mbps, very good​
50 Mbps, good​
25 Mbps, not too bad​
10 Mbps, not so good, still acceptable​
Below 10Mbps, bad​
Current expectations for 5G SA/NSA)
100 Mbps excellent​
50 Mbps, very good​
10 Mbps, good​
5 Mbps, not too bad​
1 Mbps, still acceptable, lag a bit, can load already okay​
0.2 Mbps, ah, that is a problem ...​
No signal, ah, that is bad​

Previous expectations of 4G
100 Mbps excellent​
50 Mbps, very good​
10 Mbps, good​
5 Mbps, not so good, still acceptable​
Below 5Mbps, bad​
Current expectations for 4G
50 Mbps excellent​
10 Mbps, very good​
2 Mbps, good​
1 Mbps, still acceptable, lag a bit, can load already okay​
0.2 Mbps, ah, that is a problem ...​
No signal, ah, that is bad​

twosix

Haha, I have lowered my expectations significantly after experiencing Eight 4G and SingTel 4G, as well as some weak signal results for SingTel 5G and M1 Maxx 5G (not yet tried M1 Maxx 4G).

Now:
100 Mbps excellent
50 Mbps, very good
10 Mbps, good
5 Mbps, not too bad
1 Mbps, still acceptable, lag a bit, can load already okay
0.2 Mbps, ah, that is a problem ...
No signal, ah, that is bad

My previous expectations for 5G may be five times the above and I was thinking 10 Mbps was the minimum requirements...
Singtel 4G is still pretty good and stable for me. The icing on the cake is I am getting 5G NSA most of the time. M1-Maxx 4G is unstable, can slow down till see circles turning. 5G SA is very good. That's why I moved out to Z1.

Recently went to JB. Z1 no problem roaming. Immediate connection and no lag when I'm seaching for information or maps.

xiaofan

Singtel 4G is still pretty good and stable for me. The icing on the cake is I am getting 5G NSA most of the time. M1-Maxx 4G is unstable, can slow down till see circles turning. 5G SA is very good. That's why I moved out to Z1.

Recently went to JB. Z1 no problem roaming. Immediate connection and no lag when I'm seaching for information or maps.

Yes, Singtel 4G is still okay and Singtel 5G SA coverage has also improved a lot in year 2025.

In fact I have to force my phone to use 4G in order to carry out Singtel 4G test.

On the other hand, if you go with peak hours on some of the MRT lines, you may encounter very slow speed, even with SingTel 5G SA/NSA. I have done tests at non peak hours yet I got very slow speed at Orchard MRT Station.

Some people say Tiong Bahru and Outram are very bad, yes they are not good but Orchard seem to be the worst.

To me specifically, my work place got a few areas where SingTel is worse than Eight and Maxx. But I will say 700 MHz band has made the situation better for SingTel than last time. Areas without signal in year 2024 now has signal (usually 5G NSA).

Basically I will keep my S$15.28 per month Singtel SIM Only plan as my main. On the other hand, I have got Maxx 5G plan at S$10 per month and Eight 4G S$8 per month plan to carry out the tests.

BTW, for my use case, other than SpeedTest, 10 Mbps on a mobile phone is really good enough.

For my home WiFi, my criteria is 500 Mbps for main areas and 150 Mbps for other areas. SingTel 5G and Maxx 5G meet the 150 Mbps criteria.

xiaofan

There is a bit of worry on my side with the upcoming 5G NSA shutdown.

1) Singtel MVNOs will have 5G SA for 5G plans. Even SingTel Prepaid users will have 5G SA for 5G plans. This is no longer a privilege for Singtel SIM Only plans.

But this is good for Singtel MVNO users like Zero1 users here.

The worry is whether Singtel 5G Core network can handle the increased number of 5G SA users or not. If not, then Singtel MVNO users may suffer as well. And I guess Singtel SIM only users will get the priority compared to Singtel MVNOs.

2) I usually see SingTel 5G SA to 5G NSA transition only and almost never see fallback to 4G. Without 5G NSA, it will fall back to 4G.

On the positive side, Singtel 4G performance may get better with 5G NSA shutdown. 5G NSA share the 4G Core Network with 4G.

3) Overall, I kind of expect to see a degradation in performance in terms of my main Singtel SIM Only line. But I could be wrong and I do hope that I am wrong. Let's see.

4) And since I am keeping my Singtel SIM Only line, I have zero interests in Singtel MVNOs as well as Gomo. In fact I am testing Maxx S$10 5G plan and Eight S$8 4G plan to see which to keep as the backup.

5) To put it more bluntly, my perspective may be quite different from Singtel MVNO users...

perfectlight

There is a bit of worry on my side with the upcoming 5G NSA shutdown.

1) Singtel MVNOs will have 5G SA for 5G plans. Even SingTel Prepaid users will have 5G SA for 5G plans. This is no longer a privilege for Singtel SIM Only plans.

The worry is whether Singtel 5G network can handle the increased number of users or not. If not, then Singtel MVNO users may suffer as well. And I guess Singtel SIM only users will get the priority compared to Singtel MVNOs.

2) I usually see SingTel 5G SA to 5G NSA transition only and almost never see fallback to 4G. Without 5G NSA, it will fall back to 4G.

3) Overall, I kind of expect to see a degradation in performance in terms of my main Singtel SIM Only line. But I could be wrong and I do hope that I am wrong. Let's see.

4) And since I am keeping my Singtel SIM Only line, I have zero interests in Singtel MVNOs as well as Gomo. In fact I am testing Maxx S$10 5G plan and Eight S$8 4G plan to see which to keep as the backup.

5) To put it more bluntly, my perspective may be quite different from Singtel MVNO users...
isn't it good for the singtel MVNO users after all that all Singtel MVNO will move to 5G NSA?

xiaofan

isn't it good for the singtel MVNO users after all that all Singtel MVNO will move to 5G NSA?

Yes, most likely.

One potential exception (with minor updates as I just edited my post a moment ago).

The worry is whether Singtel 5G Core network can handle the increased number of 5G SA users or not. If not, then Singtel MVNO users may suffer as well. And I guess Singtel SIM only users will get the priority compared to Singtel MVNOs.

perfectlight

Yes, most likely.

One potential exception (with minor updates as I just edited my post a moment ago).

so for the mvno provider there is only one type of 5G which is 5G SA. so all singtel mvno user will only get that 5G am i right. well singtel should have planned for that. then is there a point of getting singtel sim only 5G?
to me so long it works for daily use the statistic doesn't means much .. so long don't have aeroplane mode
true.

xiaofan

so for the mvno provider there is only one type of 5G which is 5G SA. so all singtel mvno user will only get that 5G am i right. well singtel should have planned for that. then is there a point of getting singtel sim only 5G?

Yes, this question has been asked and answered extensively in the Singtel SIM Only plan thread recently. I will not repeat here.

Even for the same 5G SA network, Singtel has different tiers.

5G+ Priority
5G+ Enhanced
5G+ (Singtel SIM Only S$15.28 per month plan)
5G+ Gomo and Singtel MVNOs.

In certain places, Singtel "5G+ Enhanced" may also encounter signal drop.

Happy to report that the 19.25 plan worked rather well during this morning peak hour ride 830-9. I was able to listen to radio, read news article, Reddit, received WA. Connection broke between Bishan to Braddel which require a manual trigger to restart radio. Just leaving orchard, connection went down for like 10 secs but doesn’t require manual restart (it auto connect back).

xiaofan

to me so long it works for daily use the statistic doesn't means much .. so long don't have aeroplane mode

Yes you may get such situations in some areas. So even this has to be accepted for certain locations.

I do encounter such issues myself with my SingTel SIM Only plan, especially in some lifts.

xiaofan

BTW, my view is that S$7.5 per month 5G plans are not sustainable.

That is why the 50% OFF promotion is limited duration promotion. And even Eight/Maxx/SIMBA cannot match the offer

Enjoy while you can. :ROFLMAO:

xiaofan

For the price, it is fine ... we are not playing for priority queues like ST plans

Exactly, just tame the expectations.

I can see many Singtel MVNO users are excited about the 5G SA upgrade.

Yes it may get better in some aspects but it could be worse in certain areas now that you will fall back to 4G and not 5G NSA

xiaofan

Main advantages of Singtel MVNOs 5G plan Vs Singtel SIM Only S$15.28 per month plan:
1) cheaper price with 50% OFF offer. Without the offer the price is comparable.
2) more roaming destinations and roaming data bundle
3) more data but 250 GB is good enough for most users.
4) no contract.

Let's see the sentiment here after the promotion is gone.

For #2, there is a different perspective. For example Eight/SIMBA may offer unique benefits with roaming voice.

my view is that singtel-based (mno, mvno) are acceptable for local use, but for overseas, non-singtel mno/mvno are better. fixed duration travel/roaming psim/esim are a good alternative, depending on where the actual telco is based.

kelvinti

I'm still waiting for my new Zero1 sim card to be delivered since I ordered it last Friday early morning.

Hopefully it will be later today, and porting completes overnight 🤗

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.