[Recommend] Good Mechanical Keyboard

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
Jialat.. My minila still holding well can't bear to swap with either a anne pro2 or keychron K6. But no backlight is really sian.. :(

FroztSpectre

can't ship direct?
didn't consider Anne Pro 2?

My considerations were:
1) Must be full keys with numpad
2) Must have backlight
3) Silent switches

Cant find many keyboards with silent switches,
and the ikbc one fulfills all the above with cherry mx silent red switches for ~$100 after shipping. So i just went with that.

nez

My considerations were:
1) Must be full keys with numpad
2) Must have backlight
3) Silent switches

Cant find many keyboards with silent switches,
and the ikbc one fulfills all the above with cherry mx silent red switches for ~$100 after shipping. So i just went with that.

Is it waterproof or water resistance? Ok to rinse it under the water tap?

royfrosty

Jialat.. My minila still holding well can't bear to swap with either a anne pro2 or keychron K6. But no backlight is really sian.. :(

Till today im with no backlight lol.

Topre FTW! You got see and type at the same time meh? Or you play in the dark lol

carmelmore

for laptop feel and some tactile feel , u can consider thinkpad trackpoint bluetooth wireless keyboard. It's almost like ripping out the thinkpad keyboard as a standalone. Using one now.

Bought this few years ago and it doesn't feel the same but it's as close as you can get. The legends are printed on sticker like those cheap keyboards while it's unified on the laptop.

carmelmore

Is it waterproof or water resistance? Ok to rinse it under the water tap?

Most mechanical keyboards are not advertised as waterproof but if spill little bit shouldn't be a problem. If need complete waterproof, search for spill resistant keyboard.

carmelmore

HHKB comes in only 60% right, closest i could find to full size is leopold 980c, and even that one is only compact 1800, not full size. For my work, v hard to work with no numpad because a lot of data input.

Thought FC980C has a good layout due to the numpad. But after getting it, I realised the position of the navigation cluster on 980C got some compromise if you use it often.

It's either too high up on the top right, have to press FN+Arrow keys for missing keys or to switch Numlock frequently which was quite annoying. Switched back to TKL and felt much better.

carmelmore

you are not gonna get a laptop sensation buying a g915 :s13:

look at logitech mx keys

Logitech scissor switch keyboards are overrated. :s13:

Had a K800 before and the bottom row felt odd to use as it's rounded compared to other keys. The feel is also worst than Thinkpad keyboards.

vamprose

Had a K800 before and the bottom row felt odd to use as it's rounded compared to other keys. The feel is also worst than Thinkpad keyboards.
hmm the mx keys that i tried felt as good as my macbook (well idk if that is the benchmark for good or bad but i quite like both).

also the logitech software is impeccable for office work across multiple computers.

granted ive not tried the thinkpad keyboard before, and if it comes with trackpoint i think it is an easy 100% buy

trenzterra

Does anyone fix mechanical keyboards here? Have a niz plum that suddenly died and no idea why

KoChi

Is keychron k2 worth it? Currently using Razer keyboard.. thinking of changing due to Bluetooth and mac layout

fzhfzh

Thought FC980C has a good layout due to the numpad. But after getting it, I realised the position of the navigation cluster on 980C got some compromise if you use it often.

It's either too high up on the top right, have to press FN+Arrow keys for missing keys or to switch Numlock frequently which was quite annoying. Switched back to TKL and felt much better.

Yeah personally I’m not a fan of full sized keyboard as well. But if want full sized topre realforce makes them.

purpleberry

Logitech's glory days were when Dinovo was launched. Mech keyboards were non-existent back then. Typing experience was excellent but after a while, some keys failed to register and need to RMA.

Here's how I got a free keyboard from Logitech every few years. First buy a premium keyboard like dinovo edge with warranty 5 years (at that time). Keyboard start to fail after 3-4 years. RMA and they give you a replacement. That also fail after few years. Model then discontinued. They gave you a selection of the latest keyboards. That also failed after few years. Cycle repeats. New keyboards fail after 1 year only. So I didnt buy any new keyboarf for about 10 years until the cost of my time to RMA outweight the benefits. That's when I opened this thread lol

Shutterbox

Can recommend a gateron yellow or black keyboard? Possible to get them under 100?

hg2

Logitech's glory days were when Dinovo was launched. Mech keyboards were non-existent back then. Typing experience was excellent but after a while, some keys failed to register and need to RMA.

Here's how I got a free keyboard from Logitech every few years. First buy a premium keyboard like dinovo edge with warranty 5 years (at that time). Keyboard start to fail after 3-4 years. RMA and they give you a replacement. That also fail after few years. Model then discontinued. They gave you a selection of the latest keyboards. That also failed after few years. Cycle repeats. New keyboards fail after 1 year only. So I didnt buy any new keyboarf for about 10 years until the cost of my time to RMA outweight the benefits. That's when I opened this thread lol

Wondering why MX series only got 1yr warranty...now I know... :s13::s13::s13:
Own 3 apple keyboard each have 1 or 2 keys spoil, was like RMA every 9mnths. So feed up, until Logitech launch the MX and quickly switch over.... still keep them for recovery mode boot...

Tried a red mechanical, but its cap font is so horrible and make soo much noise that I have to giveaway in carousell...

Maximus_XXVIII

Recent purchases during my WFH period.

A brief history of the keyboards and type of switches I own in the spoiler below.

Providing my personal opinions and hope this will help some of the bros here to decide on their next keyboard or switch purchase. This is not an exhaustive list and I have not tested all the other types of mechanical switches in the market. I am by no means a purist, just an average dude and causal gamer. Thus, my opinions will likely differ from others and it is best to test the actual product before making your purchase.

2010 – Cherry MX Blue (Razer BlackWidow Ultimate)
My first mechanical switch keyboard. Razer products were solid and well-built back then and the keyboard is still functioning today lol. The tactile feedback and ‘clicky’ sound of the Cherry MX Blue feels quite ‘shiok’ while typing but the loud ‘clicky’ sound got on my nerves after some time :s22:

2015 – Cherry MX Brown (Filco Majestouch Convertible 2)
The Cherry MX Brown switches provided the tactile feedback that I still love but less noisy than the Cherry MX Blue, it performs well in both typing and gaming. The Filco Majestouch Convertible 2 had the flexibility to connect either via USB cable or Bluetooth, a no-frills solid keyboard without any backlight or RGB but served its purpose. Not too long ago, it started exhibiting double/triple typing on the spacebar, sadge :sad:

2019 – Cherry MX Speed Silver (Corsair K70 RGB MK.2 SE)
Wanted a ‘gaming’ keyboard with RGB and linear switch, the Cherry MX Speed Silver works very well in gaming, especially in FPS games. The shorter travel distance and actuation point makes reaction time a tad bit faster, well that’s what I felt in game :s13:
But I tend to have more typo errors with this switch as it registers keypress very easily when I accidently hit them.

2020 – Topre 55g Silent (Realforce R2)
My first experience with Topre switch was on the NovaTouch TKL at a Cooler Master event back in 2015. The switch left a good impression, but I didn’t get to use it long enough to warrant a purchase back then. Moreover, I needed a full-size keyboard and I had just purchased the Filco keyboard.

I had the chance to test a few more Topre switch (45g & 55g) keyboards over the years. Fast forward to 2020 with the WFH arrangement, I decided to get the Realforce R2 with 55g silent switches. I am a heavy-handed typist and I felt the Topre 55g silent suits me the best as the 45g feels a little ‘light weight’ for my preference. No more accidental keypress, has tactile feedback, satisfying ‘thocc’ sound albeit less prominent than the non-silent variant.

2020 – ‘Perfect Stroke’ Scissor switch (Logitech MX Keys)
For office use, typing on it feels the same as my Thinkpad’s keyboard but in full size layout. Wireless or wired connectivity, good battery life, very stable and it doesn't flex or move about on the desk while typing even though I’m a heavy-handed typist.

50125007886_dd71c43ce8_b.jpg

50124435428_66098cf48f_b.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.