Vietnam

MrTheROCK

Today, 16480 at ha tam, Mai Van only 16470, both besides ben tanh market. Second time exchanging and Ha Tam's rate is still better. Forex Online 16472. Definitely way better than the arcade and hcm airport! Haha

Sent from the rock using GAGT

koala2004

Today, 16480 at ha tam, Mai Van only 16470, both besides ben tanh market. Second time exchanging and Ha Tam's rate is still better. Forex Online 16472. Definitely way better than the arcade and hcm airport! Haha

Yes, I only go Ha Tam. Always best rate. Largest amount I change there (they deliver to me in 2 bags) is SGD32K, which is VND528m.

caytruc

Today, 16480 at ha tam, Mai Van only 16470, both besides ben tanh market. Second time exchanging and Ha Tam's rate is still better.
It's only 10 VND. So if you change $3,000 (which is quite a lot), the difference would only be 30,000 VND which is less than $2.

caytruc

Yes, I only go Ha Tam. Always best rate. Largest amount I change there (they deliver to me in 2 bags) is SGD32K, which is VND528m.
You should note than Mai Van has the sign of Agribank (which is actually the largest bank in Vietnam by total assets), so it is kinda an official foreign currency exchange location authorized by the bank. There's also always a security officer outside Mai Van, so you will always feel safe.

Ha Tam has no bank's sign at all. So it's purely a gold shop. By law, it is illegal to conduct foreign currency exchange at a gold shop (unless it is also authorized by a bank like Agribank as in the case of Mai Van). So in theory, if you get caught doing foreign currency exchange at a gold shop, the money can be confiscated by the police. They won't jail you or fine you anything (as you're only the customer), but chances are, your money will get confiscated. They may return you the money, but it can get highly troublesome. People said that the only reason Ha Tam can survive is because they bribe the police, so police doesn't care. But you will never know. Some day, they may change the police and maybe Ha Tam does not bribe them good enough. Then troubles will come. It's just not worth the hassles.

In my opinion, it's always better to change at a place that has an official license from the bank like Mai Van, even though the rate may be a little higher.

Even if you will never get caught, I don't think it's a good idea to support such an illegal activity that Ha Tam is doing (doing business without license, and bribing police). Vietnamese usually don't care about the law anyway (i.e. you can do anything as long as you don't get caught), but I think we should care. That's a moral issue.

When exchanging money, it's always a good idea to see whether they have a bank's sign or not.

MrTheROCK

You should note than Mai Van has the sign of Agribank (which is actually the largest bank in Vietnam by total assets), so it is kinda an official foreign currency exchange location authorized by the bank. There's also always a security officer outside Mai Van, so you will always feel safe.

Ha Tam has no bank's sign at all. So it's purely a gold shop. By law, it is illegal to conduct foreign currency exchange at a gold shop (unless it is also authorized by a bank like Agribank as in the case of Mai Van). So in theory, if you get caught doing foreign currency exchange at a gold shop, the money can be confiscated by the police. They won't jail you or fine you anything (as you're only the customer), but chances are, your money will get confiscated. They may return you the money, but it can get highly troublesome. People said that the only reason Ha Tam can survive is because they bribe the police, so police doesn't care. But you will never know. Some day, they may change the police and maybe Ha Tam does not bribe them good enough. Then troubles will come. It's just not worth the hassles.

In my opinion, it's always better to change at a place that has an official license from the bank like Mai Van, even though the rate may be a little higher.

Even if you will never get caught, I don't think it's a good idea to support such an illegal activity that Ha Tam is doing (doing business without license, and bribing police). Vietnamese usually don't care about the law anyway (i.e. you can do anything as long as you don't get caught), but I think we should care. That's a moral issue.

When exchanging money, it's always a good idea to see whether they have a bank's sign or not.
Something new to me. Thanks

dede1217

All cuchi tours go to the artificial one, ben dinh, meant for Tourists. The real one, Ben Duoc, is here.
http://artydubs.com/2013/05/24/the-cu-chi-tunnels-ben-duoc-how-to-get-there-by-public-bus/

This mekong tour nearer to saigon is going to MY THO AND BEN TRE to view all stuff related to coconuts.

Another mekong tour further away, VND 249K, to CAI BE floating market and VINH LONG market have more stuff to see.

Went rice biscuit, bee farm , coconut candies ...
not very expensive
rbiscuit is 10,000 vnd each.
honey is 500ml for 100,000 vnd each
coconut candies 30,000 vnd

journey kinda long
just go there c to experience haha

dede1217

16480 vnd vs 16300 which i changed at arcade few days back
difference is 180 or 0.0108 cents diff
if u change 1000sgd the diff is only 1.08 sgd only lol ...
really not much diff lo ...

koala2004

Never hear before. I'll verify what you said with my viet wife.

koala2004

16480 vnd vs 16300 which i changed at arcade few days back
difference is 180 or 0.0108 cents diff
if u change 1000sgd the diff is only 1.08 sgd only lol ...
really not much diff lo ...

People just feel good having got the higher rate...but actually if one calculates, it's really not much unless we change in the 1000s SGD.

If it ever hits 17000 again (earlier predictions is by year end) which is last seen in Jun-Aug 14, I may change SGD10K to keep since I will be going there often.

rayban

HCM airport have few stores selling 3G SIM Cards.
so far managed to find many people going this store, all the way to the left , in the arrival hall

5GB is 100,000 VND about 6sgd
8GB is 120,000, about 7.20sgd
20GB is 200,000, about 12 sgd

the rest is kinda expensive ...
speed wise is kinda slow, cox is 3g network, compared to singapore 4g network

100000? what brand i always get airport 250000 one

rayban

Went rice biscuit, bee farm , coconut candies ...
not very expensive
rbiscuit is 10,000 vnd each.
honey is 500ml for 100,000 vnd each
coconut candies 30,000 vnd

journey kinda long
just go there c to experience haha

how the honey? i doubt is pure right? i always look for those pure honey that took down from the honeycomb, a lot is mix with water or sugar liao

rayban

mai lah...Unless u below no bird bird...:s13:

Not really unless u mean those village girl or not so educated 1. Now they advance liao. Like our sg charbor...One of the problem is their country man mostly cmi.
Better siam this kind of girl if you kana this type.This type=marry the whole village 1. Those frequent vn lao jiao,we always say this,their words believe 20% jiu ho.

Mostly take up 2 jobs. Some keep traveling within their own country or keep going clubbing. End up always come back complaining boh $. YOLO lor or fb siao lor(they love face like hell 1 hor)... I met quite a few jin ** till boh dai boh ji come asking me for $...End up tio gan by me...:s8:
Some end up in debt then bcum chicken...:evil:

ya lor if i know mean a lot of type there le..... dont go to their clubbing much, a lot of misc to pay like bouncer manager, then hard liquor is cheap buy one get one is the mixer expensive and the shisha and fruit platter ex

Alpaca

how the honey? i doubt is pure right? i always look for those pure honey that took down from the honeycomb, a lot is mix with water or sugar liao

they say pure but not pure one .... in fact very diluted :s22::s22: i still got half a bottle of honey at home

rayban

they say pure but not pure one .... in fact very diluted :s22::s22: i still got half a bottle of honey at home

expected...... tat time at da lat on the mountain road got people sell honeycomb, that one raw honey .....

dede1217

never buy cox too expensive not worth haha ...
they gave us the sample to try ...
was very sweet
not sure about the bottle that they r selling ... nt much ppl buying also lol ...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.