Electric toothbrush

kingsen

Any lobang for electric toothbrush ?
Last time wanted to buy the 5000 series or something from Amazon but heard the charging plug diff from sg so didn't get it.

WussRedXLi

got scaler to remove tartar below gumline to recommend?

Can get ultrasonic scaler with a few specialised tips to get to the molars.
It'd probably be 2-4X the learning curve/difficulty of the waterpik/panasonic that we have been talking about. Search for my posts on this. Been doing it for quite a couple of times during the past ~ 1 year. I just shared that just for completeness sake, just in case someone is crazy enough to try.
And even then, probably you would only be able to scale subgingivally and get improvements to about 3mm max (seriously, it's not impossible). Interproximal areas definitely are not impossible, it's actually easier...but then that's for my case. Any deeper and it'd be periodontists' territory.

Seriously for the general layman, most probably you'd be better off spending your $$$ and sticking to at least 2X oral irrigation, maybe can use the special periodontal tip for problem areas, electric toothbrush, those special toothpastes that we've been mentioning, being careful with your diet (cut down on sugar and do general rinses whenever you take high carbo/sugar stuff, and then going to the dentist every 1-2 years for general checkups/cleaning.

Seriously, cutting down on sugar helps in so many ways. From helping your gastrointestinal health (cut down on the bad bacteria) to type 2 diabetes risk, to being overweight (indirectly leading to diseases from fatty liver to cancer) and of coz in our topic oral hygiene/health.
In fact, the HPB is starting on this game in public education a bit too late....

You'd need a whole set of gracey curette to be effective in manual scaling, which isn't cheap....i've bought one of the pieces to try out. Really no way one can DIY at home.

WussRedXLi

Any lobang for electric toothbrush ?
Last time wanted to buy the 5000 series or something from Amazon but heard the charging plug diff from sg so didn't get it.

Can search on my posts regarding Amazon UK. The initial shipping cost is somewhat high, but every item that you add on would cost a bit more only, so it gets better the more you buy.

Oral B 600 is enough for most (spend the extra $ on oral irrigators, as discussed quite a fair bit). You can get 2pcs of the Oral B 600 cross action ver and 3 pieces of the deep clean ver, and i think 3 pcs of the floss action ver. Total 8pcs possible, coz Amazon limits the number of pieces per account that you can buy so as to prevent resellers. See which family member/colleague wants to buy as well. It works out to be ~ SGD 25 per piece shipping included.
Oral B 600 is 8800 oscillations, 20k pulsations/min. Your Oral B 5000 costs many many times more and is 8800 oscillations, 40k pulsations. In the whole scheme of things consisting of oral irrigation, diet, brushing enough times daily and discipline, probably not much of a diff with such 20k / 40k paper specs.

And i am not just plucking such figures from the air or "trying to act as an expert", check my previous posts, the 8800 osc and 20k pul models (eg Oral B 1000) perform better than other electric toothbrushes in medical research experiments posted in NCBI.

I have been in the Amazon free shipping thread and other oral/dental threads, people buy the 7000 series and say that it's the "best", will keep their teeth in tip top condition. That kind of buying mindset is exactly what Braun/ORal B wants consumers to have. The more expensive, the better it is.

Load up on the replacement brushes. 9pcs of cross action costs about sgd 30 converted nia, shipping included. Precision clean lagi cheaper (10pcs).

Sensodyne repair and protect toothpaste with novamin? Quite cheap there as well.

Waterpik WF-03 water flosser has coupon now, quite a nice price. AA operation so it's probably going to last you years. Be careful of not dropping such devices on the floor due to water increasing the "slippery-ness", they will serve you nicely for years.
The good thing is that you can get the waterpik pik pocket rubber periodontal tip (ebay/taobao) which is specialised in reaching deep periodontal pockets, or just keeping the pockets and interproximal areas really really clean in terms of home care standards.

As one gets older and older, the problems pile on more and more. I have seen this in my colleagues/friends as they age. Just relying on the electric toothbrush might not cut it. Then again, this is also true for other health issues. So if one is comfortably past 30, maybe it's time to get a whole "set"...if one is serious about such things. It's really about time to get started to be serious...

kimsix

I saw the Sensodyne Novamin selling 5.90 at venus beauty shops. Going to dump Ntuc for them. Novamin works well for me so far. :s12:

Ender

Finally got to use this cheapo refills.. Although the color resembles the precision cleaning head, but the bristle are much softer, and they are more frays, not as straight as the original. So quality is not on par. But for 50cent a piece, I think this can be overlook as it still does its job of cleaning well, but it will not last as long due to inferior quality.
Will try other 3rd party refill in the future and keep some originals to brush in between.

WussRedXLi

Finally got to use this cheapo refills.. Although the color resembles the precision cleaning head, but the bristle are much softer, and they are more frays, not as straight as the original. So quality is not on par. But for 50cent a piece, I think this can be overlook as it still does its job of cleaning well, but it will not last as long due to inferior quality.
Will try other 3rd party refill in the future and keep some originals to brush in between.

Interesting, usually these 3rd party ones are not as soft, so that TB one was a decent find. Softer bristles sure fray easier anyway.

Softer bristles sure are going to be safer with these stuff that we are using.

WussRedXLi

I saw the Sensodyne Novamin selling 5.90 at venus beauty shops. Going to dump Ntuc for them. Novamin works well for me so far. :s12:

Ok, will go to Swanston to look see on Wednesday and update price. I always pass by Chinatown / Chinatown NEL but usually don't divert to OG that direction.

I'm probably going to use Sensodyne Repair & Protect Novamin as my regular toothpaste, mixed in with Colgate Optic white (bought from Amazon US free ship @ really good prices, i got my 178g at ~ S$4.50 per tube for 6 tubes after usd $4 coupon nia....effectively usd 19.xx for 6 tubes).

It went to as low as usd 11.96 for 6 tubes last year June, or about S$2.80 per 178g tube. :eek:
NTUC Fairprice is about S$8.50 per 100g tube regular and $5.90 on offer. :s13:
NB. Now S$8.50 for 2 offer until 28 Feb 17.
Still huat until buay lin chun. DTF still healthy and strong, mai spread fear. :s13:

kimsix

S$4.50 per 100g. Sensodyne Novamin. NTUC 8.90. offer 7.90 now.

n26628X.jpg

Half price of NTUC! PAP GIC huat big big!

WussRedXLi

Half price of NTUC! PAP GIC huat big big!

Expiry date is May 2018. Actually lower than 4.50 if factoring in the purchase w purchase discount. If we use Jackie Drain declogger as a benchmark at NTUC discounted price of 2.95 for 500ml in which original price is $4.35 (ie discounted price of $5.90 for 1000ml), it's an additional savings of $1.40 or 2.80 for 2pcs (2 pcs PwP is the limit).

So it's like S$3.57 per 100g Sensodyne Novamin.

WussRedXLi

Can tag on an Omron M3 as well..... SGD40 after 15% discount. Mother's Father's day coming. You check the Singapore retail prices, your eyes will pop.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Omron-Comf...ie=UTF8&qid=1487745755&sr=8-10&keywords=omron

61KaQwx7l3L._SL1000_.jpg

SGD 36

https://www.amazon.co.uk/BRAUN-IRT3...Thermometer/dp/B01LX5Y7RG/ref=dp_ob_title_hpc

61q1vTvL6uL._SL1500_.jpg

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Braun-Ther...1487746136&sr=8-2&keywords=Braun++thermometer

Replacement caps. Can wipe with rubbing alcohol and re-use for a couple of times before disposing.

51l-D7Mrv1L.jpg

So Oral B 600, Waterpik WF-03, Oral B replacement brushes (9-12 brushes is cool), Omron M3, Braun IR ear thermometer esp useful for kids.
Shipping not expensive, a tad over 20 pounds.

Amazon US might get you to free ship amount, however it's a different pricing set over there.......coz stuff like the ORal B replacement brushes are much more expensive on the US site.

WussRedXLi

The Waterpik pik pocket tips came.

Looks legit to me, quality is good. Source is from Taobao.
Came packed in 2 rolled up in 3 rolls/rounds of bubble wrap. When the wrapping is cut into half as pictured, the transparent PET and smaller cardboard really gives the packaging a fair bit of solidness, with the 3 layered rounds of bubble wrap some good amount of knock protection. The cardboard box housing it has really solid sides, but still one side was crushed (typical china 快递 violence, so these stuff really need to pack very properly). External layer is a polyethylene 快递袋, and of coz the CN-SIN fowarder packaging.

For those wondering, the PP-100E of course does not fit. But if you are also wondering if the shorter neck PP-70E fits, i don't think so, look at the notches on the locking mechanism (last pic). The diameter fits though, so there is a chance that the PP-70E might spray a bit of water in the Panasonic oral irrigator without locking, but that's about it.

oLcM1zx.jpg

7Ka69IZ.jpg

4C7RzR7.jpg

cHHPlwG.jpg

WussRedXLi

This one from ebay. Definitely won't be able to lock in the Panasonic. Diameter same, so might have a bit of leakage if no lock or something. Will the PP-70E work even at a certain %? Looks like can't. I have tried holding the PP-100E in the PAnasonic and as long as there is a gap between the base of the tip and the top part of the irrigator horizontal surface/water outlet hole, water would flow out.....locking or no locking doesn't matter. ie got gap, pressured water would flow.

So looks like PP-70E is also a bit longer than the Panasonic.

PP-100E
s-l300.jpg

PP-70E
516K-3-hDeL._SY355_.jpg

WussRedXLi

So, to samurai, the tips don't work with the Panasonic?

Sent from Samsung GT-P6200 using GAGT

Nope, unfortunately. I am sure some are "enterprising" to be wondering if the Waterpik tips can be used on the Panny or not....be it the 70 model tips (seems to be able to fit coz shorter) or 100 model tips (one look already can tell 100% cannot fit :D ). NOPE, cannot.

So for those who don't want to spend a lot of $$ for the Waterpik WF-03 + special periodontal pocket tips, the only option is the H2Oflosser brand.
Yeah it's ah-tiong brand and probably won't really last past 1 year, but at least it's an option that's like 1/3 the cost.

I must remember that some pax might not even stock NiMH AA and charger. For me no issue coz of my kids toys, photography flash guns etc. Since year 1998 or so already started to whack Sanyos, Sonys etc. If can buy Amazon FSSG or TB then ok, won't sweat that much.
But some pax might still be buying Singapore retail.....really, if that's the case earning ~ 5k income is really "nothing" based on SG retail. *sweat* :eek:

Now with Taobao lagi cheaper.

NTUC sells 2 x AA Lithiums at S$9.60 and normal Energizer Alkalines 4pcs AA at S$6.70.
My NiZn AA is only $1.4 per piece, and Enelongs AA $1 a piece. NiZn charger (legit BPI brand, the biggest chinese Ni-xx based battery maker) like $5?

WussRedXLi

I think in Taobao thread, some pax also say such tiong cells cannot last > 6 months.
Granted, there are indeed fake tiong cells copying legit tiong cells :D
In addition to fake tiong cells copying LG, Samsung, Panny etc.

I have been using close to 1 year already. Somemore high current draw devices, 1st and foremost is the pretty high current draw Panasonic oral irrigator. Second is the electric toothbrush (i think moderate ba).

When i take out the overvolted BPI NiZn from the Panasonic oral irrigator, they are pretty hot one, i really WHACK the buggers no chance spared until i need to change out to second set coz straight 1 time discharge to near empty....coz i know they are safe chemistry and at most is burn out the Panny (which has not, safe even pumping 2000-3000ml past them.

I'm not whacking my gums with 2-3L, it's aircon washing, very *serious* pumping application. :D 3000ml = 18 times refill.

Bloody workhorse. :D

WussRedXLi

Just for reference, i got from the second most popular and slightly more expensive seller.

https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a312a.7700846.0.0.FKZaiI&id=43856331814&_u=n1u0hcib742c

Most popular only RMB 80 包邮. This one is RMB 83.80 final cost coz 76.80 unit price but rmb 7 快递。
The most popular seller i think got some packing issues from the review....and sometimes for such sensitive/fragile pdts it's better not to get from those huge volume 1 day sell 1000 orders sellers due to screw up risk. But of coz if huge volume seller can handle and all excellent reviews @ 4.9 or 5.0 rating then go ahead.

BTW one must look at the left side, the top few selling items....not only look at one single item. That'd indicate the volume of the seller. Of coz some are just "dropshippers", in which then it doesn't matter in reality.

WussRedXLi

Qoolife on qoo10 promo back. $20 coupon and $20 disc. So can get Oral B 3000 (in reality is same "number of modes" spec and same internal contents packaging as Ebay/Amazon US/Amazon UK Oral B 4000) there for those looking at 1pc purchase.
S$70 everything in.

Ebay 2500 model is $62 for comparison. I'd spend the $8 more no issue.

Multiple piece purchases for family members, go for Amazon UK look no further. Oral B 600 is cool, 8800 oscillations/min and 20k pulsations/min model. No need bells and whistles. Tag on your 9pc cross action or 12 pc precision model replacement heads, heck you can get 18pcs and 24pcs respectively with 2 count also can....the shipping probably doesn't even rise. Waterpik WF-03, Braun blood pressure monitor, ear thermo, protection caps etc.....your pick.
Most are like 1/3rd the price of local retail.

Currently can buy 5 pcs max.....2pcs Precision clean and 3pcs 3D white. Oral B 600 on Amazon UK. SGD25 each piece, shipped/inclusive of shipping as tag on.

Father's Day n Mother's Day coming anyway.....

PS. Remember to be very careful and clip the 15%, 10 pounds coupons on Amazon UK. Checkout in british pounds, NOT SGD. Same goes for Amazon US, NEVER EVER checkout in SGD

WussRedXLi

Come to think of it, even if you don't like TB, my Amazonbasics AA low self-discharge 2100mAh NiMH is only S$2.10 per piece for 16 pack. 4pcs = 8.40. It's just a little bit more expensive than Energizer Advanced Alkaline 4pcs @ S$6.70 in NTUC.
These buggers and Eneloop you can use for years, really years like 4-5 years no issue.

So do remember to plan ahead and get in advance/bulk.

WussRedXLi

Using 2 x Amazonbasics LSD 2100mAh NiMH, fresh and fully charged

Very easy to change between speed 1 and 2 coz i reckon it'd be useful with the pik pocket (normal jet tip just full blast turbo!).

Switch does not have that much of a "notched feeling" vs the Panasonic oral irrigator.

WussRedXLi

All batteries fresh n fully charged, checked with a DMM as well.

First face-off.
Waterpik WF-03 with jet tips. 3 x Amazonbasics LSD NiMH 2100mAh.
Panasonic oral irrigator with 2 x Amazonbasics LSD NiMH 2100mAh.

Result : Panasonic pulsation freq is somewhat below the Waterpik.
Suspect the Panasonic on 2 x NiMH is below 1200-1400 cycles / min which is researched to yield optimal results for oral irrigation. (20-23Hz). The other optimal factor being the water pressure, ie ~ 90 PSI is great.
Those playing with subwoofers would know how "fast" is 20-23Hz.

Changed out the cells in the Panasonic to 1 x Amazonbasics NiMH 2100mAh and BPI NiZn 1.6V.

Result : Waterpik WF-03 same performance as Panasonic oral irrigator.

Note : 2 x NiZn in the Panasonic probably a bit "overspeed", more than 1200-1400 cycles per minute.

Conclusion : As expected, 3 cells mean that less emphasis is based on the cell performance. The water flossers really do consume quite a lot of current at 2.x to 3.0V, and if your cells cannot provide the current and thus sag, (depends on cell internal resistance), performance may suffer a bit.

Forget about Alkalines. Won't work in 98% of the cases as most are not designed to have low internal resistance.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.