StarHub MaxInfinity Fiber Optic - Experience

Henry Ng

Contact hotline 1633 direct to Broadband tech support line, not cs.
Explain u have just swap router due to upgrade plan.
Request the staff to Refresh IP, as ur speed is below.
They can check ur connection at their end.
Follow their procedure which may take several minutes.
If line busy, call later.
Most router do retain previous IP and this may be the cause on having multi IP address, which may also cause speed issue.
As u may be on ur previous plan IP.:D

I think most of the time, it is isp fault. I also suggest calling them but night time hard to get them and need to wait for support to pick up. May be call during office hours.

MrMundy

I think most of the time, it is isp fault. I also suggest calling them but night time hard to get them and need to wait for support to pick up. May be call during office hours.

Actually my experience over the 10 years is now their hotline improved alot, be it night or day, last time call Liao can wait up to 30mins or more before somebody pick up, now within 3mins got ppl serve u riaos, and the call quality is definitely better, clearer audio

eric3743

Are there issues with this provider compared to the other ISP?
Each isp has its own unique issues.
As each user do has its own unique issues.
Some issues are related as it depend.
Location as some users in certain location do have issue as compare to none in other location.
Gamers do have issue in playing certain games in certain countries where the server is located.
So there are issue in some whereas none for others.
Moi is lucky in not having issue since from cable to fibre broadband.
Just specify which isp, plan, etc, so as others could assist u.:D

Sent from Seven Enlightenment using GAGT

elmariachi

Guys, just curious if I'm on IPV6 configuration on my DIR-868L, do I still need to key in my DNS for primary and secondary? I left it blank. My IPV6 address is automatic so it is Starhub. Do you guys use Google IPV6 DNS? If so, is it in 64 format? Some ideas would be great to optimise wherever I have currently and many thanks in advance.

Secondly, I'm also due for recontract and not sure if I should get the E7500 from Linksys as that is the recontract modem. I am on ONR and wondering if I should go ONT and get another brand router. Anyone with experience on this? I do heavy gaming on Battlefront and US servers ping is ****.

My DIR-868L has been running stably and get around 430 Mbps down / 600 Mbps up with wired connection getting around 800-900 up/down consistently so far.

Any gamers who managed to configure on 3rd party routers successfully with good connections? Asus router like alot of them have 5G network dropping issues so not sure if that is a good one to upgrade to.

Thanks for your time guys.

cct75

For Starhub Infinity Fiber Broadband sign-up, there will be a :

Optical Fibre Network Point installation
$235.40 (High rise – Condo or HDB)
$481.50 (Landed)

and

Fibre service cancellation
$235.40 (High rise)
$481.50 (Landed)

Still wondering to return to Starhub for my Fiber Broadband.

derrickgoh

Each isp has its own unique issues.
As each user do has its own unique issues.
Some issues are related as it depend.
Location as some users in certain location do have issue as compare to none in other location.
Gamers do have issue in playing certain games in certain countries where the server is located.
So there are issue in some whereas none for others.
Moi is lucky in not having issue since from cable to fibre broadband.
Just specify which isp, plan, etc, so as others could assist u.:D

Sent from Seven Enlightenment using GAGT
I guess the concern is just getting s decent speed on direct wired connection (im happy with 800 to 900 mbps on a 1 gbps plan) and not having disconnection ever so often. But i read so many posts here & on starhub fb page about speed & stability.

Some claim its cos of their previous dlink router. Some claim its cos of their dns server. Some say use google dns will be ok, others say still have issues. I dont game or host content. I just want a stable connection at decent speed so there is no disruption should i wish to casually surf the net. And if i am using fibre tv then a stable & decently fast connection is even more vital.

I have been starhub cable tv customer since spore cable vision days. Unfortunately starhub is phasing out cable tv in 2019 so its either u use fibre tv or not at all.

I have no issues changing isp to starhub & converting my cable tv to fibre tv. But its all the negative feedback about speed & connection issues on starhub that is keeping me away.

Sure no isp is perfect but the sheer no of negative feedback about starhub compared to say singtel or m1, really makes me wonder if something is genuinely wrong with starhub's backend.

I know some ppl here claim to be on starhub fibre all along & no issues. But these seem to be a small number compared to the negative voices.

Hive

About starhub cable TV, mobile and broadband bill, if my bill generated on 15th of Aug 2017 and pay on Night 14 Sep 2017 in full as 15 Sep 2017 will generated another bill, will any of my line be suspended as outstanding amount less than S$200?

eric3743

About starhub cable TV, mobile and broadband bill, if my bill generated on 15th of Aug 2017 and pay on Night 14 Sep 2017 in full as 15 Sep 2017 will generated another bill, will any of my line be suspended as outstanding amount less than S$200?
As long as u pay by the due date which is about 15 days from the bill date, u should not be worry on this suspension issue.
So far I am paying by due date n have no issue n with about the same amount.

Sent from ---- using GAGT

MrMundy

Sure no isp is perfect but the sheer no of negative feedback about starhub compared to say singtel or m1, really makes me wonder if something is genuinely wrong with starhub's backend.

I know some ppl here claim to be on starhub fibre all along & no issues. But these seem to be a small number compared to the negative voices.

ppl who don't have issues and don't use hwz won't post here... ppl who got problems and use hwz will kpkb here.

of course u will see a smaller number of happy users vs negative voices:s22::s22:

eric3743

I guess the concern is just getting s decent speed on direct wired connection (im happy with 800 to 900 mbps on a 1 gbps plan) and not having disconnection ever so often. But i read so many posts here & on starhub fb page about speed & stability.

Some claim its cos of their previous dlink router. Some claim its cos of their dns server. Some say use google dns will be ok, others say still have issues. I dont game or host content. I just want a stable connection at decent speed so there is no disruption should i wish to casually surf the net. And if i am using fibre tv then a stable & decently fast connection is even more vital.

I have been starhub cable tv customer since spore cable vision days. Unfortunately starhub is phasing out cable tv in 2019 so its either u use fibre tv or not at all.

I have no issues changing isp to starhub & converting my cable tv to fibre tv. But its all the negative feedback about speed & connection issues on starhub that is keeping me away.

As what i am to say:
You are one of the few who is afraid of change and uncertainty ahead.

For me moi did upgrade to fibre immediately after installation of TP on several occasions, moving house as each time the TP installation done while I was present.
All along is from Starhub cable to fibre.
Although after 1 term and was offer HomeHub 1000 $49.90 with free IPTV subscription to recontract.
So far my fibre broadband do not have any issue as I do not like to "play" with the settings.

Recently Starhub make some major changes as in to use Linksys MU-MIMO router and Google Mesh.
Not saying, there may had issue on dlink routers.

As you are regular customer moi am sure there may have something u can look forward.
This is your decision.

derrickgoh

As what i am to say:
You are one of the few who is afraid of change and uncertainty ahead.

For me moi did upgrade to fibre immediately after installation of TP on several occasions, moving house as each time the TP installation done while I was present.
All along is from Starhub cable to fibre.
Although after 1 term and was offer HomeHub 1000 $49.90 with free IPTV subscription to recontract.
So far my fibre broadband do not have any issue as I do not like to "play" with the settings.

Recently Starhub make some major changes as in to use Linksys MU-MIMO router and Google Mesh.
Not saying, there may had issue on dlink routers.

As you are regular customer moi am sure there may have something u can look forward.
This is your decision.

As i said, there is no perfect ISP but what concerns me is the sheer amount of negative feedback. I dont mind if there is a short term contract to try but its 2 years. So if it really sucks as the general feedback seems to be, then its a matter of vomiting blood for 2 years. Either that or paying penalty fee to cancel which is just as painful.

On the topic of playing with the settings, from the comments i read, its both simple users who use the router as is, as well as power users who have tried configuring & tweaking everything.

cct75

As i said, there is no perfect ISP but what concerns me is the sheer amount of negative feedback. I dont mind if there is a short term contract to try but its 2 years. So if it really sucks as the general feedback seems to be, then its a matter of vomiting blood for 2 years. Either that or paying penalty fee to cancel which is just as painful.

On the topic of playing with the settings, from the comments i read, its both simple users who use the router as is, as well as power users who have tried configuring & tweaking everything.

Which ever ISP you are going to go with, unless you let your current ISP subscriptions run on rolling contract. If you want to sign up and try another ISP, typically you would have to sign up at least 1 or 2 years contract. For me, I am thinking still should I return to Starhub as I do not encounter any issues back then while on Cable. I moved to AMK and thought I try VQ and not much issue either though you can see many complaining and some even listed every single date of the "outage" he experienced. Well, perhaps as a working adult, I only use Internet back home some time weekdays between 1900-0000 and hardly see any downtime. Youtube buffering maybe but not that bad.

To switch back to Starhub is easy but to rejoin via HomeHub, I got to wait till my current Starhub 4 mobile lines expires. My Starhub TV expires Jan 2018. Still awaiting Starhub to come back to me to seek further equries before I decide to re-contract with VQ or switch.

Henry Ng

ppl who don't have issues and don't use hwz won't post here... ppl who got problems and use hwz will kpkb here.

of course u will see a smaller number of happy users vs negative voices:s22::s22:

True la. Actually can use your own router for SH broadband.

Henry Ng

For Internet with IPTV, it is either Starhub or Singtel so if you do not like Starhub you can always sign up Singtel with Singtel Tv. If really like what you say then Starhub would not have so much users.

elmariachi

Guys, just curious if I'm on IPV6 configuration on my DIR-868L, do I still need to key in my DNS for primary and secondary? I left it blank. My IPV6 address is automatic so it is Starhub. Do you guys use Google IPV6 DNS? If so, is it in 64 format? Some ideas would be great to optimise wherever I have currently and many thanks in advance.

Secondly, I'm also due for recontract and not sure if I should get the E7500 from Linksys as that is the recontract modem. I am on ONR and wondering if I should go ONT and get another brand router. Anyone with experience on this? I do heavy gaming on Battlefront and US servers ping is ****.

My DIR-868L has been running stably and get around 430 Mbps down / 600 Mbps up with wired connection getting around 800-900 up/down consistently so far.

Any gamers who managed to configure on 3rd party routers successfully with good connections? Asus router like alot of them have 5G network dropping issues so not sure if that is a good one to upgrade to.

Thanks for your time guys.

Anyone can assist?

kenchi

Hub free ac7500 Linksys good enough vs Google wifi ?
I'm now using Asus ac66 overall decent
Much better then the old dlink 868
As I will be renewing hub fibre soon so it will comes with the free Linksys ea7500 or I hoot the Google wifi ?

I got more wifi device now than lan device but if fibre tv is confirm pushing it then I will need go link up in the living room and bed rooms

Cableing issue I have no issue as I could DIY cat 6

kenchi

If I will go fibre tv I will invest in a good cat 6 cable at least we do our home work and if fibre is down we also lan lan can't do much about it for now I sticking cable tv until it last days

Singtel tv also using its own network too but I heard a lot of laggy on tv not in sync and the freq of down time it's bad for SingNet fibre keep me away from it

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.