Unblock TV Discussion Thread II [consolidated]

heng_82

UB has strict policy on pricing. All their official resellers are not allowed to sell below the preset price point. If you check online, the prices are pretty much the same. If you see some1 selling much cheaper than others, likely its a fake box like the ones i have posted previously.

i bought a pro 2 in hk for $799hkd, more or less same price in the whole golden computer arcade in mongkok, 799 to 899hkd for all stores, slightly cheaper than sg abit nia.

gregory_choo

i bought a pro 2 in hk for $799hkd, more or less same price in the whole golden computer arcade in mongkok, 799 to 899hkd for all stores, slightly cheaper than sg abit nia.

better get from singapore sellers.

ub box is not so reliable, the chances that you need to bring back the box to agent for warranty claims are high.

ferocity

HK shops have alot more different brands and choices to go for like Turbotv, Lingcodtv, HKE360, PVbox to name a few. If anything, unblock is really not so recommended because their livetv app alot of channels not working or the entire app is down regularly. Also price-performance ratio of the box itself is also poor. The pro2 is considered unblock's newest flagship offering, but it only has 1gb ram for the price. Most of the other brands are offering 2gb ram models at the very least and their prices are similar, if not cheaper than UB.

heng_82

better get from singapore sellers.

ub box is not so reliable, the chances that you need to bring back the box to agent for warranty claims are high.

Okay lah, my unbox gen 2 bought from hk 3 years ago still working, I give to people liao, cos can't install kodi on Android 4.4, buying overseas will have to take the risk of no warranty.

heng_82

HK shops have alot more different brands and choices to go for like Turbotv, Lingcodtv, HKE360, PVbox to name a few. If anything, unblock is really not so recommended because their livetv app alot of channels not working or the entire app is down regularly. Also price-performance ratio of the box itself is also poor. The pro2 is considered unblock's newest flagship offering, but it only has 1gb ram for the price. Most of the other brands are offering 2gb ram models at the very least and their prices are similar, if not cheaper than UB.

I agreed with that, but nowadays hk also clamping down on these boxes, no longer like last time, the situation there very seems worse than sg, hardly any shops turn on to display, just put the boxes there for sale nia, I requested the guy to show me that the ubtv is working, he just tell me he cannot install and show me ubtv app in the store, ask me go back hotel test myself, he'll exchange for me if not working.

So no one can explain or show u more like last time, few years ago they still got promoters there to intro u which one to buy with ur watching habits, buy liao still install many add on apps for u, but now boh liao:(

ferocity

I agreed with that, but nowadays hk also clamping down on these boxes, no longer like last time, the situation there very seems worse than sg, hardly any shops turn on to display, just put the boxes there for sale nia, I requested the guy to show me that the ubtv is working, he just tell me he cannot install and show me ubtv app in the store, ask me go back hotel test myself, he'll exchange for me if not working.

So no one can explain or show u more like last time, few years ago they still got promoters there to intro u which one to buy with ur watching habits, buy liao still install many add on apps for u, but now boh liao:(

Last year around world cup period there was heavy crackdown from hong kong and taiwan authorities. Thats why nowadays brick and mortar shops they very scared to publicly display all these boxes for sale.

heng_82

Last year around world cup period there was heavy crackdown from hong kong and taiwan authorities. Thats why nowadays brick and mortar shops they very scared to publicly display all these boxes for sale.

Oh, that's why, I was still hoping I buy box there they could install everything, very lazy to install, but in the end buy a stock box and own self install:(

But ubox 2 to upro 2 really an upgrade for me, so to me can use more than 1 year can liao:o

ferocity

Oh, that's why, I was still hoping I buy box there they could install everything, very lazy to install, but in the end buy a stock box and own self install:(

But ubox 2 to upro 2 really an upgrade for me, so to me can use more than 1 year can liao:o

Yar as long it works well for you then ok lor. I used to own a gen 4 box for around 6 mths but i sold it off because the livetv app was regularly down, and when it worked, the live sport channels were literally unwatchable as they lag and buffer every 5-6 seconds. Currently looking at evpad but i hear they are not much better than unblock.

heng_82

Yar as long it works well for you then ok lor. I used to own a gen 4 box for around 6 mths but i sold it off because the livetv app was regularly down, and when it worked, the live sport channels were literally unwatchable as they lag and buffer every 5-6 seconds. Currently looking at evpad but i hear they are not much better than unblock.

Yah, I think to each his own, I just use it to watch some live news/documentary while I'm doing work at home, so most other things doesn't matter much,some channels always up and down from time to time(don't want downtime should buy subscribed service from StarHub/Singtel in my humble opinion), but I'm impressed that they manage to keep quite a handful channel up for the past few years, history channel are the always not working channels for my frequent watchlist though, but for just merely $150, what can I expect more?:o

Oyabun

My unblock box 2+ still working very good. If got problem just go setting go back factory reset and reload the software.

Sent from Vivo 1725 using GAGT

singaporean

Mu ubtv gen2 seems blocked after changing dns last few mths. ISP is M1. So i change dns server settings to other servers again. It worked 1 day, next day blocked. So I changed dns again, worked 1 day then also blocked.
Now, tried few different dns, all blocked. I changed dns settings at router and connect ubtv via wireless.

Sumimasen

Today the ubox keeps hanging at the startup screen. Any bro here know how to resolve this issue?

Just Me

My unblock box 2+ still working very good. If got problem just go setting go back factory reset and reload the software.

Today the ubox keeps hanging at the startup screen. Any bro here know how to resolve this issue?

That's the issue with ubox gen 2. I had one before. Every few weeks must reset to factory once because it will just hang at startup. Even got a green screen of death once. I am not sure about the later generations though but I owned the first gen before with no such problems :(

Sumimasen

That's the issue with ubox gen 2. I had one before. Every few weeks must reset to factory once because it will just hang at startup. Even got a green screen of death once. I am not sure about the later generations though but I owned the first gen before with no such problems
:(

Mine is Gen 4. Pai seh never reset before. Izzit use toothpick poke on the reset tiny hole? After that, will ubtv still be there?
Asking for dad. Tq.

Just Me

Mine is Gen 4. Pai seh never reset before. Izzit use toothpick poke on the reset tiny hole? After that, will ubtv still be there?
Asking for dad. Tq.
Poking the hole should be factory reset which means whatever 3rd party apps which you installed will be gone.

Oyabun

Don't need poke. Go settings select factory reset. Than install the apps back 1 by 1.

Sumimasen

I didn’t poke. Today it works can go into the main page and after install the aust dns app, ubtv able to watch.

Oyabun

Don't need care the unblock dns. Change your router to google dns.

Extech

Dad just bought this box even though I advised him not to do so as elderly not so simple to use haiz. True enough he doesn't know how to use the box. I also not sure, only know got the unblock TV app for channels. Anyone can suggest how to watch EPL on it?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.