The AMD Zen2 Ryzen 3000 Discussion Thread

Koenig168

Went down convergent.. Seems all the units at test stations and new unit also got this problem.. The bigger the wattage.. Louder it is.. Sian..

all I can say is that after I installed the AX1200i, the loudest thing are my case fans until the GPU fans spin up. :)

Rashkae

Weird leh. My new AX1200i is whisper quiet. Even my previous 2 year old HX1000i was also the same. The Corsair high end model don't even have the fan running at default unless the load is significant enough to heat it up then only the fans will run. Both the units also had no coil whine.

I used a Seasonic Prime Titanium. Fantastic PSU. Now on Asus ROG Thor. The power consumption readout is nice

elmariachi

Dunno le.. Is the I model good? Does it give ampre and voltage level readings?

The only difference with the i model is to allow monitoring via the Corsair ICue software via a provided cable. To be honest I never ever used it because my motherboard internal USB headers are always used up. So you might as well get the non I version if you don't have space for an internal USB header. Essentially the ones without the I is the same PSU. No other differences.

Noirkw

Bought the 3900x and joined the Ryzen club. Waiting to move hse before setting up!

kimsix

https://www.techpowerup.com/download/ryzen-dram-calculator/

Using the above to set the e-die crucial 2x16gb.
Seems with Ryzen, you cannot let motherboard auto the ram settings. You can push higher with manual values.

Before that can get 3533mhz 1:1 @ 1.35v + auto settings, with rest stock volts autoOC PBO.
OCD with uneven numbers so follow the calculator
After can get 3600mhz @ 1.36v 1:1, with rest stock volts autoOC PBO.
Slightly better aida64 mem scores. =:p

I find 7zip benchmark is a free and fast way to check ram stability.
Afterwards load some P95 to confirm.
Cpuz and CbR20 both not good ram testers.

P95 have spike to 90c but mostly also around 75c like CbR20. It seem depends on the app requesting how much auto vcore that cause temps to rise.

Made in malaysia ryzen, 2 cores can hit 4.7ghz on latest gigabyte x570 bios.
9Jtj5nj.jpg

Some findings...

Tornesoul

cant see......?

i just bought Adata XPG SX8200 Pro 512gb from corbell (lazada) for $80... hopefully it lasts long :X
If u dun mind, how did u get that for 80?

I bought corbell too, stacked 109 - 12 laz voucher - 10 bank voucher only 87.

Didnt count shopback / cc rebate bah.

Sent from Xiaomi REDMI NOTE 6 PRO using GAGT

radioshack

It's it normal for a Ryzen 5 3600 to boot up longer than a Intel based PC?

Using a ASRock B450 Pro Mobo

The longest wait is at the ASRock Splash screen

PPkiller

https://www.techpowerup.com/download/ryzen-dram-calculator/

Using the above to set the e-die crucial 2x16gb.
Seems with Ryzen, you cannot let motherboard auto the ram settings. You can push higher with manual values.

Before that can get 3533mhz 1:1 @ 1.35v + auto settings, with rest stock volts autoOC PBO.
OCD with uneven numbers so follow the calculator
After can get 3600mhz @ 1.36v 1:1, with rest stock volts autoOC PBO.
Slightly better aida64 mem scores. =:p

I find 7zip benchmark is a free and fast way to check ram stability.
Afterwards load some P95 to confirm.
Cpuz and CbR20 both not good ram testers.

P95 have spike to 90c but mostly also around 75c like CbR20. It seem depends on the app requesting how much auto vcore that cause temps to rise.

Made in malaysia ryzen, 2 cores can hit 4.7ghz on latest gigabyte x570 bios.
9Jtj5nj.jpg

Some findings...
Got try running 24hr p95?

StationA

Got try running 24hr p95?

24hr P95 is kind of waste time and power. :vijayadmin: if P95 small FFTs with AVX2 can be stable for 10 minutes means the CPU will be stable for all normal "real" applications. run that for 24hr is just to test the power supply to your home is stable. it's testing SPService, not your CPU.

MrAwesomeX

It's it normal for a Ryzen 5 3600 to boot up longer than a Intel based PC?

Using a ASRock B450 Pro Mobo

The longest wait is at the ASRock Splash screen

I tot is dependent on OS storage speed? where got do with chipset one:s22:

You can select fastboot in BIOS and disable the loading BIOS screen in most motherboard also.

elmariachi

24hr P95 is kind of waste time and power. :vijayadmin: if P95 small FFTs with AVX2 can be stable for 10 minutes means the CPU will be stable for all normal "real" applications. run that for 24hr is just to test the power supply to your home is stable. it's testing SPService, not your CPU.

Totally agree. I find that while you can pass these tests under long straining it takes games less than an hour to crash.I personally find Battlefield and Battlefront 2 very good to test for stability. I had a crash even after passing P95 small FFTs after an hour. Apparently my cache overclock was high and I had to add another 0.005V to get it to be perfectly stable.

So P95 is not the whole story. If you can game with those kind of games like Battlefield 5 for hours, etc, I would say you are GOLDEN.

wongminmin

If u dun mind, how did u get that for 80?

I bought corbell too, stacked 109 - 12 laz voucher - 10 bank voucher only 87.

Didnt count shopback / cc rebate bah.

Sent from Xiaomi REDMI NOTE 6 PRO using GAGT

$109 - $20 - $10 = $79 , rounded off $80

edit
OpiY8L1.jpg

PPkiller

Totally agree. I find that while you can pass these tests under long straining it takes games less than an hour to crash.I personally find Battlefield and Battlefront 2 very good to test for stability. I had a crash even after passing P95 small FFTs after an hour. Apparently my cache overclock was high and I had to add another 0.005V to get it to be perfectly stable.

So P95 is not the whole story. If you can game with those kind of games like Battlefield 5 for hours, etc, I would say you are GOLDEN.
P95 under blend.. Can fail even after 8 hrs of ok testing.. So depends on what u want.. If want ultimate stability, 24hrs of p95 is still the golden rule..

kimsix

Yes.. it's the latest....

Earlier bios did have slow 3000 Ryzen boot times. Latest bios fixed it, mine is as fast as Intel.
I see your asrock b450p sadly is still on old bios. Gotta wait or try email asrock.

Amd socket compatibility sounds good on paper nia.. My own experience 2600 was terrible buggy on x570. After switch to 3000, no issues.

Koenig168

... Amd socket compatibility sounds good on paper nia.. My own experience 2600 was terrible buggy on x570. After switch to 3000, no issues.

I'm using 3700X on X370 with no issues, can hit 4.4 GHz with AGESA 1.0.0.4b and OC DDR4-3200 to DDR4-3866 1:1 Infinity Fabric. So AM4 socket compatibility does work.

haylui

Earlier bios did have slow 3000 Ryzen boot times. Latest bios fixed it, mine is as fast as Intel.
I see your asrock b450p sadly is still on old bios. Gotta wait or try email asrock.

Amd socket compatibility sounds good on paper nia.. My own experience 2600 was terrible buggy on x570. After switch to 3000, no issues.

It depends on motherboard makers bios ma.
Socket compatible is make sure you put am4 CPU into am4 socket and it will work. Buggy or not is bios related. And that's not related to socket itself.

Rashkae

let me know the temperature.. i'm using noctua dh-d15 chroma.max.. but single fan cos of the chassis clearance.. have to buy another 120mm for the 2nd fan..

Non-aircon room, idle 31c, Prime95 full load maxed at 62.5c

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.