Redmi K30 Series, Pro and Ultra

24thchromosome

Wow thanks for the information :D
Just 2 qns I want to clarify

1)will UPS possibly refund the $15 admin fee?
2)the customs will only refund GST without admin fee right?

Very good questions. Well, I called up UPS 2 times today and spoke with different agents and both times I was told they are not sure "because it is handled by the back-end brokerage dept who will contact me in 24 biz hours" and will let me know the next step....

My hunch is, if we go through UPS to apply for gst refund, there might still be a small chance of recovering that unfair $15 charges. But for sure if we pursue refund directly with Customs, we'll only get back the gst amount.

One thought came to mind, since we are quite many of us who legitimately paid way below $400 but yet charged with gst and admin fee, we can group together and make our voices heard, in the event this is not resolve to our satisfaction (i.e. refund of both gst and admin fee). For example, expose such unfair biz practice in social media, etc.

stylechap

One thought came to mind, since we are quite many of us who legitimately paid way below $400 but yet charged with gst and admin fee, we can group together and make our voices heard, in the event this is not resolve to our satisfaction (i.e. refund of both gst and admin fee). For example, expose such unfair biz practice in social media, etc.

Well..like you said it should be the forwarder being lazy and declare as item value only.
Maybe it just happen only when that guy is on duty. My phone haven't come so I'll see if the same thing happen.

Also most people who use more reputable courier are mostly businesses. They have more complex GST computation. So even putting on social media won't gain much traction.

Anyway UPS is like the last choice compared to DHL/Fedex.
My company have 4package from Japan last month,all sent on the same day. They all came on different days,1 week apart :s13:

garychengjw

24thchromosome

actually quite suay that "randomly" pick and quite a few of you on 5g racing kanna hor
you guys wanna compare what was your GST amount?

i think only worth going thru the hassle for the 5g racing.
the k30 pro cannot siam de.

UPS charges
Goods and Services Tax (GST) Refund Handling Fee

60.00 per shipment for the first 5 lines
1.50 per line for the 6th line onwards, on top of flat fee of 60.00

Disbursement Fee
In order to expedite customs clearance,
UPS may advance duty and taxes on a
customer’s behalf. A Disbursement Fee
based on the amount advanced will be
assessed and billed. The Disbursement
Fee for importation into Singapore will be
5% of the import duties and taxes,
subject to a minimum of S$15 and
maximum of S$100 per shipment.

hopefully mine comes soon and thru JT so that can siam GST

OMG... does it mean if go through UPS to apply for GST refund in the end will have to pay $60 refund handling fee + $15 disbursement fee = $75 just to get back $44 GST when in the first place GST should not have been charged.. sounds like we should petition and bring up this issue to CASE or the public for awareness.

Come to think of it when we made that purchase in JD we weren't inform upfront they gonna be using UPS nor any of these ridiculous charges.

bladez87

OMG... does it mean if go through UPS to apply for GST refund in the end will have to pay $60 refund handling fee + $15 disbursement fee = $75 just to get back $44 GST when in the first place GST should not have been charged.. sounds like we should petition and bring up this issue to CASE or the public for awareness.

Come to think of it when we made that purchase in JD we weren't inform upfront they gonna be using UPS nor any of these ridiculous charges.
because yours was not clear cut.
notice that k30 pro buyers were informed ahead of time.
your racing was not.
i sure hope my k30 basic does not kanna also. would be super ridiculous

Nakedtoes

Means those got k30pro also charged extra gst due to the 2x charges in the bill..

bladez87

Means those got k30pro also charged extra gst due to the 2x charges in the bill..
Very likely. But the loss is 7% of assumed $20 which is $1.40... Suan le...

K30 pro cannot Siam admin fee. And cannot Siam the device fee gst.

24thchromosome

because yours was not clear cut.
notice that k30 pro buyers were informed ahead of time.
your racing was not.
i sure hope my k30 basic does not kanna also. would be super ridiculous

you are aware that k30 lacks band 7 right? I was going for that too but at the very very last 3mins before I click on that submit button I changed my mind. lol....

don't worry lah if you paid 1400rmb, very high chance you won't kanna. still got over $120 buffer in your case. While for mine according to UPS, the amt which JD declared in the custom form is usd$250....

24thchromosome

same thing is cause they declare freight fee twice. so overshot 400$. thats the reason i gave fedex when i emailed them.

Thanks for this info! Very useful. This one liner "they declare freight fee twice" sums it up the entire issue. Will use it to fight.

24thchromosome

Well..like you said it should be the forwarder being lazy and declare as item value only.
Maybe it just happen only when that guy is on duty. My phone haven't come so I'll see if the same thing happen.

You can find out even now, don't have to wait till it arrive.

If you already gotten the UPS tracking number from JD order page, you can call up UPS singapore hotline and quote them the tracking number. Then ask what amount was quoted in the custom declaration form (they can see it in their computer system) and ask them specifically which field was that amount written under.

stylechap

You can find out even now, don't have to wait till it arrive.

If you already gotten the UPS tracking number from JD order page, you can call up UPS singapore hotline and quote them the tracking number. Then ask what amount was quoted in the custom declaration form (they can see it in their computer system) and ask them specifically which field was that amount written under.

Wa mlwm...later no mood eat dinner and sleep
Mine flown in by Air HK at Changi liao
Tomorrow see how it goes

bladez87

you are aware that k30 lacks band 7 right? I was going for that too but at the very very last 3mins before I click on that submit button I changed my mind. lol....

don't worry lah if you paid 1400rmb, very high chance you won't kanna. still got over $120 buffer in your case. While for mine according to UPS, the amt which JD declared in the custom form is usd$250....
heng ah.
on singtel, so not that affected.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.