Setting up home entertainment room

hmsweethm

don't scare of trying one wouldn't know how good it is until try it yourself like cars also got test drive but don't expect you to buy.......you wanna buy what just let me know i know the ppl there maybe can give you some discount

http://www.musiclinkav.com/store/index.php?option=com_virtuemart&page=shop.browse&category_id=61&Itemid=1

http://www.sonicsoundaudio.com/advanced_search_result.php?keywords=stand&sort=3a&page=2

absolute sound have this brand
https://en.norstone-design.com/pieds-d-enceintes

Thanks for the lobang man. Will definitely pull u along when the time arrives.:)

Thanks for the links!
The Norstone Stylum S’s height is just appropriate for centre spk.
BTW, not all centre spks’s screw holes can match with the screws on the stand rite, unless it’s the official stand.
The top tray measured 165 x 200mm.
R2C’s width & depth is 549 x 285mm.
Just wondering.... if just place on stand, the top tray area is.... sufficiently stable if screw holes not matching. Just afraid it will fall or topple easily if accidentally pull the cable.

Amon86

Thanks for the lobang man. Will definitely pull u along when the time arrives.:)

Thanks for the links!
The Norstone Stylum S’s height is just appropriate for centre spk.
BTW, not all centre spks’s screw holes can match with the screws on the stand rite, unless it’s the official stand.
The top tray measured 165 x 200mm.
R2C’s width & depth is 549 x 285mm.
Just wondering.... if just place on stand, the top tray area is.... sufficiently stable if screw holes not matching. Just afraid it will fall or topple easily if accidentally pull the cable.

What i suggest get some 3M Black Anti-Slip Tape stick onto the centre speaker then place on the stands as without rubber tips will scratch your glossy surface as well with that u prevent slip and without damage the surface as well.....mine official one came with rubber screw tips on mounting area so will not scratch the surface

petetherock

I've deleted the last few posts that have nothing to do with setting up a HT room.
Please take your non technical discussions to the EDMW section.
Please keep things cordial here.
Thanks

DirkDiggler69

Hi guys,

Am considering two external amps to power up my front stages (LCR) with either the Emotiva XPA-3 Gen 3 or the Marantz 7055. While the Emotiva is definitely more powerful at 275Ws 3 channels vs the Marantz 7055 (140W), do guys think the Emotiva is an overkill for my room which is at 3.43m x 3.97m?

I am leaning towards the Marantz because Emotiva would probably have problems with after sales service centers/warranty issues. However, my worry for the Marantz is that with only 140W it will be underwhelming and unable to power up my front stages that are all rated at more than 200W. Will my small room size ever need the >200W? Gladly appreciate if you guys can help a noob here. Thanks.

Emotiva XPA3 275W
or
Marantz 7055 140W

SVS Prime Pinnacle 20-300W
SVS Ultra Center 20-225W

Room size 3.43m x 3.97m

kenzie

Hi all, budget below $1000 what standing speaker should I get?

I have shortlisted Q Acoustic 3050, Monitor Audio Bronze 5 & 6

petetherock

Hi all, budget below $1000 what standing speaker should I get?

I have shortlisted Q Acoustic 3050, Monitor Audio Bronze 5 & 6

Is this for a pair or the entire 5.1??
What is a standing speaker?
Floor-standing?

The Bronze series is nice, but it's running out - new series now...

petetherock

Hi guys,

Am considering two external amps to power up my front stages (LCR) with either the Emotiva XPA-3 Gen 3 or the Marantz 7055. While the Emotiva is definitely more powerful at 275Ws 3 channels vs the Marantz 7055 (140W), do guys think the Emotiva is an overkill for my room which is at 3.43m x 3.97m?

I am leaning towards the Marantz because Emotiva would probably have problems with after sales service centers/warranty issues. However, my worry for the Marantz is that with only 140W it will be underwhelming and unable to power up my front stages that are all rated at more than 200W. Will my small room size ever need the >200W? Gladly appreciate if you guys can help a noob here. Thanks.

Emotiva XPA3 275W
or
Marantz 7055 140W

SVS Prime Pinnacle 20-300W
SVS Ultra Center 20-225W

Room size 3.43m x 3.97m

You may not even need any power amp in that room size.
Try your speakers first and see what's missing.
The Marantz one isn't very powerful and won't add a lot more.

LiLAsN

Maybe it's easier to see their setup through this video.
Seems like they have another copy of this setup in their master bedroom too.

petetherock

If I were to take umbrage with their system, I would have no end...
I see that it's mainly assembled to give some kind of HT system, but it's not done by a pro..

I think they used the same ceiling mount type speakers and have placed them in a row - nice transition of sound, but they are too close and too low..
The ceiling speakers are mounted to provide top Atmos I suspect, plus two rear speakers - spread further out..
That Rotel amp only has seven internal amps if I'm not wrong.
Very muscular, very sweet sounding too, but the feature list isn't very long.
Hope the shelf will withstanding the weight.
However it may sound really good in their home OR they are content and that's what matter most.
Many people shoot the breeze, do a ton of tweaks, or measurements and never commit to something.
What they have done is assembled a nice home, that has some HT systems within and it's commendable.
Too many people just plonk a $200 soundbar and hope for the best or worse, ask why there's no good surround from a budget Atmos soundbar in a room which is eminently not suitable or up to the task.

At least here, the owner has given some thought to it, and also done some acoustic treatment, mixed with light treatment and good WAF too.

I'll give due credit when it's due.

illumnae

Hopefully my HT room will also look and sound good after it's ready :) things are finally starting to move after a long delay and the ID is now wiring up the room plus laying the air con trunking.

Yesterday just went shopping for recliner sofas for the room and last week decided to go back to audio house and top up to upgrade the 65" Q60R to a 75" Q60T. Was thinking of getting an 82" LG normal led for slightly less top up but got vetoed by my wife - she preferred the Samsung colors over size (don't need to mention oled... we considered and decided against it in round 1 if shopping liao). Now looking for a 4k uhd bluray player, but I posted about that in another thread.

Another consideration is that my tv already has Netflix and Viu apps, do I need a inbox or nvidia shield? What benefits do discrete media boxes give?

After the initial excitement of buying the equipment, got a long period of lull so it's good that got more excitement now buying the other stuff :s12:

hmsweethm

Hopefully my HT room will also look and sound good after it's ready :) things are finally starting to move after a long delay and the ID is now wiring up the room plus laying the air con trunking.

Yesterday just went shopping for recliner sofas for the room and last week decided to go back to audio house and top up to upgrade the 65" Q60R to a 75" Q60T. Was thinking of getting an 82" LG normal led for slightly less top up but got vetoed by my wife - she preferred the Samsung colors over size (don't need to mention oled... we considered and decided against it in round 1 if shopping liao). Now looking for a 4k uhd bluray player, but I posted about that in another thread.

Another consideration is that my tv already has Netflix and Viu apps, do I need a inbox or nvidia shield? What benefits do discrete media boxes give?

After the initial excitement of buying the equipment, got a long period of lull so it's good that got more excitement now buying the other stuff :s12:
Congrats! Spending money for your house must feel shiok shiok.

SHield pro can connect a hdd to play movies with atmos support.
Shield no USB port.
Mibox i don’t think can play High bitrate 4k movies.
Discrete boxes allows u to play movies from hdd.

I’m just using Netflix.
I don’t think Netflix got Dolby atmos or 5.1 sound. Maybe experienced Netflix users can comment.
If you have 5.1 sound system at home, it’s better to have discrete player like bluray player or nvidia shield pro.

petetherock

My own personal preference is for size and / or the best quality..
The Sony Master series, since you can afford it.
But you can start a thread in the display section on this...

M4tchb0X_

For those who can't do 5.1 surround, i think pairing with a 5" powered/active speakers would simply do the trick.

I'm using Yammy MSP5 without any fancy decoders, awesome SQ, helis landing makes the window vibrates, glass shatters realistically and really save some $$$.

Pioneer BDPLX55 --> Schiit Sys (to control volume) --> Yammy MSP5.

hmsweethm

After 30days, stock for R2C arrived.
Taller but narrower than R3.
Retiring Q95C.
VYFcMx1l.jpg
zk3Xedbl.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.