Official August 2020 BTO

Coollplay

Such a nice plan only to be ruined by the (expanding) tengah air base over there. They don't dare to report that it'll be noisy but a look at Punggol/sengkang or jurong west residents complains everyday and you'll know.:s13::s13::s13:

Forest-y life style paired with noise from fighter jets....something doesn't match up.

So, why still so many people choose Punggol or sengkang ? Any reason make them make the decision ?

shallow

So, why still so many people choose Punggol or sengkang ? Any reason make them make the decision ?

Probably people didn't thought it would be that BAD, and ultimately it is the cost factor.

As for Tengah estate, people has the prior knowledge of noise issue (based on punggol) and the price is not even that attractive. Its a long bet (20 years) for Tengah to be fully developed. Punggol town is also about 20 years old to gauge the amount of development. For those interested in Tengah, understand how fighter jets create sound (path) and find out the existing flight path of TAB and what is the flight path orientation of the expansion.

Coollplay

Probably people didn't thought it would be that BAD, and ultimately it is the cost factor.

As for Tengah estate, people has the prior knowledge of noise issue (based on punggol) and the price is not even that attractive. Its a long bet (20 years) for Tengah to be fully developed. Punggol town is also about 20 years old to gauge the amount of development. For those interested in Tengah, understand how fighter jets create sound (path) and find out the existing flight path of TAB and what is the flight path orientation of the expansion.

I see 👍🏻......

shallow

A consolation is that the runway orientation is north-south orientated so the jets will not fly directly above the upcoming Tengah estate for landing and taking off wise. However during take-off, jets gotta make a U-turn because they can't fly directly into Msia, so sometimes they might fly near tengah, especially during live-fire exercises and the U-turn has to be to the east. Constraints of RSAF air bases.

Best is people head down directly to listen to the noise for yourself (just missed the perfect period bc lots of jets are flying for ndp :p ). there is a heavy-vehicles parking space near the estate and you can just chill out there for awhile to listen.

https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/noise-study-guide-planning-new-homes-near-tengah-air-base

pc1988

Is there a website to check for all flight paths? I heard that Pasir Ris is also affected by jets landing at Paya Lebar Airbase.

shallow

Is there a website to check for all flight paths? I heard that Pasir Ris is also affected by jets landing at Paya Lebar Airbase.

I'm not sure because I have given up on Tengah, we wanted to apply for it because the idea of being a pioneer in a new estate was exciting but decided not to take a risk. House is a life-long decision for us.

But knowing the expansion is towards the west, you can roughly know the flight path. I remember vaguely I saw on some news site that the new runway is still north-south orientation but is slightly tilted to the existing 1 at e top. Can't seem to find it now...

edit: on a second thought, RSAF won't release their flight schedule and route as it undermines SG's security.

jess_sy

I'm not sure because I have given up on Tengah, we wanted to apply for it because the idea of being a pioneer in a new estate was exciting but decided not to take a risk. House is a life-long decision for us.

But knowing the expansion is towards the west, you can roughly know the flight path. I remember vaguely I saw on some news site that the new runway is still north-south orientation but is slightly tilted to the existing 1 at e top. Can't seem to find it now...

edit: on a second thought, RSAF won't release their flight schedule and route as it undermines SG's security.

those BTO nearer to bukit batok side shouldn't be a problem bah?

Gixxerfied

Take off is towards LCK(My wife works in a landscape coy there so can see take off), landing path is from Jurong over KJE/PIE that intersection, you can see the landing lights if you take bus 172..

Noise can be heard everywhere else since they have to circle before landing(Brickland can hear also)..

I got friends living at BB new BTO also can hear..Just not as loud as the JW people.

pc1988

From this picture I think Tengah will be impacted...
005.jpg

azeris10

Don’t believe they can minimise the noise pollution from airplanes.

End of day, MINDEF is the biggest fk, nobody will tell them off.

SK / PG ppl need tahan 10 more years before PLAB finally close down.

If get Tengah pls go in with eyes and ears open.

shallow

Yup, on period where there is high alert or NDP practices (3 to 4 months before national days), Tengah residents gonna have hell. They won't tell you its noisy because its political and career suicide, they will only tell you they have done noise study so that the least amount of residents will be affect, do you think tengah residents is included from the pool of "non-affected residents"? :D:D

People may argue its far away... but 5km lateral distance is not that far and noise travel in all directions.

From this picture I think Tengah will be impacted...
005.jpg

Falafell

There is alot of transformation in Punggol being a newer town: Upcoming Punggol Town Hub, Upcoming NorthShore Plaza, Upcoming Sports & Recreation Hub, Upcoming Punggol Digital Hub, and many more to come. These do not include the Waterway, Waterway point and all the previous developments. All these will definitely positively impact property price when they are up, and so will Tengah Town when it matures.

However for the story of Punggol, it took over 20 years to realise since the Government announced in 1996 the Punggol 21 plan. It took so long because the construction sector was badly affected by the Asian Financial Crisis.

The issue for Tengah is that entering this BTO exercise, you will be one of the first movers for Tengah, just like entering Punggol back in 2000s. There will be a significant lack of amenities till they are up. Yes there is reward at the end of the day (JRL line, future tengah commercial central, possible LRT, many many more amenities), but will you be able to handle the inconveniences till its all done? Thats a question you must ask yourself.

spangaporean

There is alot of transformation in Punggol being a newer town: Upcoming Punggol Town Hub, Upcoming NorthShore Plaza, Upcoming Sports & Recreation Hub, Upcoming Punggol Digital Hub, and many more to come. These do not include the Waterway, Waterway point and all the previous developments. All these will definitely positively impact property price when they are up, and so will Tengah Town when it matures.

However for the story of Punggol, it took over 20 years to realise since the Government announced in 1996 the Punggol 21 plan. It took so long because the construction sector was badly affected by the Asian Financial Crisis.

The issue for Tengah is that entering this BTO exercise, you will be one of the first movers for Tengah, just like entering Punggol back in 2000s. There will be a significant lack of amenities till they are up. Yes there is reward at the end of the day (JRL line, future tengah commercial central, possible LRT, many many more amenities), but will you be able to handle the inconveniences till its all done? Thats a question you must ask yourself.

actually moi miss punggol back in 2000s ...naw is terrible :(

1982-1994

more transformation equates to more people, the population just gonna get denser

I am missing punggol from 2007 to 2012,
the mist in the forest when I woke up,the big vessels on the sea when I makan at the service yard...
cXq7owk.jpg

vUQkxZM.jpg

5PvS0lk.jpg

all gone for condos and BTOs

I am shifting out of punggol soon though

spangaporean

more transformation equates to more people, the population just gonna get denser

I am missing punggol from 2007 to 2012,
the mist in the forest when I woke up,the big vessels on the sea when I makan at the service yard...
cXq7owk.jpg

vUQkxZM.jpg

5PvS0lk.jpg

all gone for condos and BTOs

I am shifting out of punggol soon though
Cool...
ya lor..escaping from punggol ish a must

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.