MoCA Network Setup | Ethernet over TV cable

manyu882

DC? DC = disconnect?

So u saying disconnect the Starhub incoming cable to the splitter yah? In Gocoax case, they need to apply a PPPOE filter - any idea if i still need this to cap it off with similar filter?

I’m sure u can configure gocoax. just force it to use band D ext and the signal will not flow upstream as i assume the splitter is rated 5-1000mhz pass. a moca poe (5-1000mhz) is not required.

why is it mentioned in many website to use a poe is because ang moh country using 5-2000mhz splitters.

capping off with termination cap is an option

manyu882

Just a note: I’ve provided technical support for many of my clients (world wide) on MoCa adapter due to return request and this is what i learned:

#1) Houses internal coax wiring and their fittings has deteriorated.

#2) They don’t know how moca and their accessories works.

#3)Don’t have a clear view of their coaxial schematics and how to install them.

So far never was the fault on the adapters. 100% return request was cancelled. Except for point #1, I request them to return to me with a small restocking fee..

magix

Just a note: I’ve provided technical support for many of my clients (world wide) on MoCa adapter due to return request and this is what i learned:

#1) Houses internal coax wiring and their fittings has deteriorated.

#2) They don’t know how moca and their accessories works.

#3)Don’t have a clear view of their coaxial schematics and how to install them.

So far never was the fault on the adapters. 100% return request was cancelled. Except for point #1, I request them to return to me with a small restocking fee..

So u have an online store selling MoCA adaptor?

Anything_Whatever

Gocoax now in stock - 17-Jul-2020

For those wanting to setup Moca network, good news!

Gocoax adaptors are now available after a super long-standing OOS hiatus....

https://www.gocoax.com/buy-now

Don’t forget to add a *note to request for UK power plugs for Singapore use.

BBBMTL

Compose

For those wanting to setup Moca network, good news!

Gocoax adaptors are now available after a super long-standing OOS hiatus....

https://www.gocoax.com/buy-now

Do forget to add a *note to request for UK power plugs for Singapore use.

BBBMTL

Nice, thanks for the update. Will hold for now as waiting for the wifi 6e mesh routers as the coverage is supposed to be better. Can save on power points.

XiaoFu99

JmsX3cHl.jpg

For those unable to get previously, time to hoot liao!

Sent from Samsung SM-G965F using GAGT

networked

Alright, here's my short but straight-to-the-point review of the Comtrend GCA-6000 kit.

As you all know my preference was still on GOCOAX but it has been virtually almost impossible to get it in the last few weeks due to the super-duper limited stocks (likely due to COVID19), i went ahead and purchase the above instead after reading up a bit about it. For half the price and with still quite a decent performance, I thought its worth a shot. You can find it sold on Amazon

Its rated at 1.2gbps although from user reviews, most could get it maxed out between 600-800mbps depending on your cable quality and broadband service provider and subscription.

photo-2020-06-22-12-51-20.jpg

Very well packaged and although the box does state 2-yr warranty, not sure whether using outside of USA will cover as i don't see any further info about the warranty clauses.

The setup instructions are quite straight forward, given at the rear of the box and also a quick installation guide.

photo-2020-06-22-12-51-17.jpg

Connection takes up less than 5mins on each point, just need to screw in your coaxial cables (not provided so you gotta make sure you have them) to the wall unit and ensure that the master unit is connected to the router via Ethernet (they provided 2 x Cat.5e).

Power up both units - press the config on both sides to pair-up and create a secure connection - and all 3 LED lights will light up as shown in the picture.

photo-2020-06-22-12-51-19.jpg

Now on to the speed test ... I'm currently subscribed to Starhub 1gbps and am living in a 15yr-old house. Few years back, i was told by a Starhub technician that 2 of my bedrooms coaxial cables seemed to have oxidised but useable although data transmission may not be at its optimum.

So the room that I connected the G.hn coax is to this room - unfortunately. But to my surprise, the speedtest readings came back pretty decent!

Cabled connection direct to the G.hn:
photo-2020-06-22-12-51-24-2.jpg

Wifi connection on 5ghz on iPhone 11 via Linksys EA-7500:
photo-2020-06-22-12-51-21.jpg

Yes ... pleasantly surprised by the results as i thought that it would barely register anywhere between 100-200mbps on wired connection due to the oxidisation of my cables.

I'll try repositioning it to another room and give a review again and see if I can get nearer to 600-800mbps as some reviewers have mentioned!

Otherwise ... i'm giving it Triple :s12::s12::s12: for $ paid vs. performance!

Thanks for the sic. Is this the complete kit required for fiber over coaxial. I rem reading initially that need a splitter and filter. I guess the kit is enough if so, its very affordable from Amazon.

Sent from Toilet While Making Cake. using GAGT

ah_cleo

so this is suitable for those old hdb without ethernet ready?

for the coaxial cable point, as long as both side connected and it will work?

since it comes in a pair, i will have 1 in living room connect to my router and the other in my desire room also with tv port on the wall. from there on, it will be "Ethernet backhual" ?

if another room need, i can jus grab 1 more and from there connect and link to another device in another room?

Anything_Whatever

so this is suitable for those old hdb without ethernet ready?

since it comes in a pair, i will have 1 in living room connect to my router and the other in my desire room also with tv port on the wall. from there on, it will be "Ethernet backhual" ?

if another room need, i can jus grab 1 more and from there connect and link to another device in another room?

Yes .... basically that’s the idea.

candrox

There is a little bit more to it as mentioned in the first post. You might need to install a POE filter or disconnect your coax network from the rest of the network so that you don't send signals to your neighbours or back to Starhub.

hawthorne

There is a little bit more to it as mentioned in the first post. You might need to install a POE filter or disconnect your coax network from the rest of the network so that you don't send signals to your neighbours or back to Starhub.
Starhub coax network is already decommissioned. Still need the POE filter?

Sent from 雪花飘飘北风啸啸, 天地一片苍茫
一剪寒梅, 傲立雪中, 只为伊人飘香 using GAGT

BlurSotongKia

-snip-

Is this the coaxial port that is required for this?

Hey guys, just sharing about the MoCA network in my new home. I am currently getting speeds of up to 840Mpbs on my PC. That is what my apple TV is getting while directly connected to my main router. Only reason I got this was because the phone lines in my home can't be converted to RJ45.

My setup:

Router to Lyra Trio > Lyra Trio to MoCA 1 w/ ethernet> MoCA 1 to coax network > coax network to MoCA 2 in study room> MoCA 2 to Lyra Trio > Lyra Trio to PC w/ ethernet.

MoCA 1 and 2 are connected in using a female to female connector direct. Both Lyras are connected using ethernet backhaul. So now I have better WIFI and ethernet at the same time. Satisfied buyer!

manyu882

Hey guys, just sharing about the MoCA network in my new home. I am currently getting speeds of up to 840Mpbs on my PC. That is what my apple TV is getting while directly connected to my main router. Only reason I got this was because the phone lines in my home can't be converted to RJ45.

My setup:

Router to Lyra Trio > Lyra Trio to MoCA 1 w/ ethernet> MoCA 1 to coax network > coax network to MoCA 2 in study room> MoCA 2 to Lyra Trio > Lyra Trio to PC w/ ethernet.

MoCA 1 and 2 are connected in using a female to female connector direct. Both Lyras are connected using ethernet backhaul. So now I have better WIFI and ethernet at the same time. Satisfied buyer!

Yes a female to female f type connector is much better option if you are using just 2 moca adapters. Just changed my configuration last month to suit most of buyers

It’s basically far more secure, faster and stronger signal than using encrypted network. If any of you on BluEMeta and only use 2 adapters, PM me your order no. and I will send you 2 pcs of female to female f-type connector FOC.

Anything_Whatever

Setup a pair of new Gocoax MOCA this early morning ...

The speed is really amazing man... hitting above 900+ Mbps both for upload and download.

Highly recommended for houses that have multiple TV points in rooms...

Anything_Whatever

Yes... just to play safe, I also disconnect the INcoming coaxial cable... then not necessary to use any POE filter.

badsector

Setup a pair of new Gocoax MOCA this early morning ...

The speed is really amazing man... hitting above 900+ Mbps both for upload and download.

Highly recommended for houses that have multiple TV points in rooms...

but the cost for MoCA kinda high.
i'm still considering changing the existing coaxial cables to CAT-8.
since it's >20yrs liao. the total cost should be cheaper too

TB2pw8Ow3KTBuNkSne1XXaJoXXa_!!282151009.jpg

O1CN01d1Mlxs1JKAEuNPgU2_!!282151009.jpg

xiaofan

but the cost for MoCA kinda high.
i'm still considering changing the existing coaxial cables to CAT-8.
since it's >20yrs liao. the total cost should be cheaper too

Wow, CAT6/6A is already good enough for 10Gbps. You are already considering CAT 8 already (25 to 40Gbps, shielded only). Really advanced.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.