Impact for COVID
Rising xenophobia

Issues that Louis Ng is taking :
Smoking at home
Allow cats in HDB

LeiHongYi

Ever since they mentioned Parliament going to talk about this, my neighbour has been smoking excessively at home. I think he’s protesting. But I get all the 2nd hand smoke. kns la he!.

mansae

Trying to take better control of your health? Steer clear of secondhand smoke.

Here’s the surprising reason: The amount of many cancer-causing chemicals is higher in secondhand smoke than in the smoke inhaled by smokers, accroding to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. As a result, nearly 3,400 nonsmokers die of lung cancer in the United States each year.

Even limited exposure to secondhand smoke can cause heart disease and trigger a heart attack. And if you’re a cancer patient, secondhand smoke can make your cancer treatments, including chemotherapy, less effective.

You may already be familiar with the dangers of smoking, but can one cigarette have an impact on your health?

Yes, according to “How Tobacco Smoke Causes Disease,” a 704-page report from the United States Surgeon General’s office. Because tobacco has thousands of addictive chemicals that cause cancer, even a whiff of tobacco can adversely affect the body, the report found.

https://www.mdanderson.org/publications/focused-on-health/avoid-secondhand-smoke.h19-1589046.html

https://www.keckmedicine.org/what-happens-to-your-body-when-you-take-a-puff-of-a-cigarette/

Langrisser999

This one I support wholeheartedly. Own home but don’t inconvenience others. Many of this group is because don’t want let own children inhale the secondhand smoke but to others, treat like dirt.

Most smokers are selfish like my neighbour, no children at home and the owner plus his tenants are heavy smokers yet they still dun want to smoke inside their own house.

Keep smoking at the corridors outside their unit, some time like 2 times per hour.

virtualape

Most smokers are selfish like my neighbour, no children at home and the owner plus his tenants are heavy smokers yet they still dun want to smoke inside their own house.

Keep smoking at the corridors outside their unit, some time like 2 times per hour.

you can secretly record them smoking and send to nea. let nea plant those cameras to capture them in action.

rogerfederer

Even in the midst of covid, smokers are given exception to mask wearing. You think the MPs would have the balls to prohibit them from smoking in their own homes? LOL

Langrisser999

you can secretly record them smoking and send to nea. let nea plant those cameras to capture them in action.

I have already logged a case with my town council 8 months back and they stop smoking at the corridor when my town council pasted a warning notice at the corridor. Now they back to their action again.

Ok will secretly record their action and email to NEA instead.

virtualape

I have already logged a case with my town council 8 months back and they stop smoking at the corridor when my town council pasted a warning notice at the corridor. Now they back to their action again.

Ok will secretly record their action and email to NEA instead.

hope nea can catch them. opp my block had high rise littering including cigarette butts. they planted a cam at the stairwell pointing at a particular direction.

but it was too obvious...and dont think the culprit will do it while its there. think after about 2 weeks, they removed it.

so your own recording might be more useful

tank_t

No need to bend just have a block dedicated to smokers. Or maybd 1st 6 floor below.

anyhowsaysay

Build smoking rooms on the ground floor of every HDB

or some SAF yellow box smoking point at a distance

randomph

Got a cig stick land next to me while walking near HDB.

I welcome this motion.

Stealth_PL

Ya lo.. they are all selfish ****** rah.. want to smoke but don’t want their hse got smoke smell so smoke near window or corridor then the smoke all go into neighbour hse.. then when neighbour go complain about the smoke the smoker kpkb say own hse also cannot smoke..

Want smoke then bloody hell close all window and keep the smoke inside your hse rah.. if not then go downstairs and find a place which can smoke legally lo.. why must non-smoking neighbour suffer because of smokers selfishness?

iantao99

yes, can implement a yellow box smoking area at ground level like office buildings.

samloi

I propose ban soft drinks and fast food.
Non commercial vehicles should be banned, we have good enough public transport.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.