[BREAKING] SWISS standard minimum wage = $25/hour

mp4005 help

Disagree. SG tax is low for the rich. Dividend not tax. Corporate tax 17% only (after many deduction). No inheritance tax. Personal Income tax also low

Car expensive yes. That's about it

yeah. can agree with this. Houses on par with cities of similar state.
Car expensive only. the rest can't really complain much.

singapore progressive tax is actually a decent system. Because the tax rate is progressive as you earn more above each bracket. Even you hit the max bracket. The first 320k is not taxed at the max bracket as it is progressive.

only downside, you need to plan everything for yourself. Healthcare, retirement, etc. everything is funded by yourself. We are not promoting a welfare state.

HumJiBeng

Swiss are the most innovative people in the world.

Seems they are a caring society too.

Sg middle and upper class enjoy wat they get partly because the lower class are paid shiat.....

Not surprised la. See china. Chinese race tend to be more heartless than europeans.

Sent from me using GAGT

Chinese (actually all East Asia yellow skin) bosses expect employees to be hardworking obedient dog. Should be grateful that u are offered a job. Work 12 days don't complain or else u are strawberry

So it is really stupid to be employee in East Asia countries. Just start a business and employ others. Better to bully then get bullied

mp4005 help

go and google Switzerland health care. Compulsory monthly payments (200+euros per month). it is a semi government / private insurance concept. With a deductible, so that people do see doctor when they don't need to.

singapore should learn this from them. To prevent people from anyhow see doctor to keng MC as they have to pay the deductible.

occifer

u havent been travel much. Every places has heartless ppls, sometime more sometime less. One thing for sure is, city life is full of dull and unkind ppls. And sinkieland is entirely city and lag of decent welfares.

I travelled enough.
Europeans and americans care about pollution issues too, etc....still more than sinkies and prcs.

Sent from me using GAGT

Potato_Wedges

Early morning already so many IB depending our Lee Emperor policy.
Dun you all think Singapore is a pressure cooker to live in? I had the luxury to travel frequently due to my semi retirement status and Singapore is definitely a boring, expensive and stressful city to born and live. Your life is about paying and paying.

PeanutButtor

You think our taxes are LOW?
P@P is smart enough to infuse high taxes in basic needs such such housing and cars. And brainwashing citizens to use public transport as cars are a luxury. Look at themselves...all elites with BIG houses and CONTI cars. Unless these Ministers all stay 3bedder HDB and take mrt to work then I have nothing to argue. But truth is Singapore TAX is not LOW too. Agree bo?

Recently pappy intend to increase medishield life to 35 percent isnt?

TCB used to said something like pappy focus pumping money to grow and expanding healthcare sector like everlasting apple. This gonna cost peasant increasly more to pay to maintain their health. This is an expensive route for peasants(a false hope). TCB rather steer the money into lifestyle correction.

PeanutButtor

go and google Switzerland health care. Compulsory monthly payments (200+euros per month). it is a semi government / private insurance concept. With a deductible, so that people do see doctor when they don't need to.

singapore should learn this from them. To prevent people from anyhow see doctor to keng MC as they have to pay the deductible.

peasants here has the lowest rest time, detrimental to mind and body. We dont have decent amount of time off(holiday) compare to our surrounding neighbour.

Sad Panda

we got swiss standard for living okay, just not the money to pay for it.

fishbuff

the notion of eating out has been ingrained into asian culture for decades.

you really dont have to eat your lunch at some food courts or coffee houses during work.

unclecocky

I think to be fair. Singapore is an ad hoc lifestyle kind of country. Everything got 1x to 100x. If you don't have 100x pay but want to lead a 100x expense. Of course u can't breathe.

1x - Cai peng (3 bucks) 100x - omakase (300 bucks)
1x - take public transport (2 bucks), 100x - drive rolls royce (200 bucks)

So u earn 100x and spend/live like 1x. U will see a lot of surplus.

I think you are right... actually no matter where or which country a person to go live in... is all about the type of lifestyle, if a person spend within it mean than is the right thing to do....

PeanutButtor

yeah. can agree with this. Houses on par with cities of similar state.
Car expensive only. the rest can't really complain much.

singapore progressive tax is actually a decent system. Because the tax rate is progressive as you earn more above each bracket. Even you hit the max bracket. The first 320k is not taxed at the max bracket as it is progressive.

only downside, you need to plan everything for yourself. Healthcare, retirement, etc. everything is funded by yourself. We are not promoting a welfare state.

Cpf can consider as your progressive tax boh? Recently, medishield life wanting to increase up to 35 percent. Peasant barely earn enough to pay off their housing debt. Retirement? Sinkie peasants can forget it and work to death.

PeanutButtor

the notion of eating out has been ingrained into asian culture for decades.

you really dont have to eat your lunch at some food courts or coffee houses during work.

That y sinkie health is a shiat hole and need go dialysis, transfusion or transplant. Have to thks sinkies trading health and money for pappy and elites elitism lifestyle here.

PeanutButtor

When you have high pay (eg swiss), when cost of living is high, you still have a choice, (eg. Cook or eat out restaurant)

When you have low pay (eg sg), yet cost of living is also high, you have no choice (cook or cai png)

Its hard to say whose cost of living is higher.
Day to day cost maybe swiss, but big ticket items like car, house, we higher

Sindiapore is well known for widening gap of income inequality.

darknite84

You do know that the minimal wages applies to all, so even their cleaner and maids will be 5k and above. Which means if implemented in singapore, most people will lose their helper

boredom2012

Based on progressive model our minimum wage is $8, theirs is 3 time.

ponders

Yepz i was working in cs for abt 6 years

Our meal allowance while in zurich is chf200 per day in line with their living standard

So unless u cook ur gonna use up a big portion of that for food and transport

That's why sometimes I say, people only see how much they get paid, but never really look into what that translates into.

For your case if you can walk and eat home food, thats maybe CHF150/day bonus for you.

But in places like most of European big cities getting paid alot doesn't make one rich. They still need to make some considerable effort to save money.

There was a period of time in Germany it was very hard for me to get someone on their Handys (mobilephone), they find it too expensive for calls and they only use for real necessity.

PeanutButtor

You do know that the minimal wages applies to all, so even their cleaner and maids will be 5k and above. Which means if implemented in singapore, most people will lose their helper

I used to know a nz mother who have 2 kids, work as cleaner and helper in restaurant only from 8 to 6, able to earn reasonably well than a cheapo engineer here.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.