Only 32,000 take home less than WP's proposed $1,300 minimum wage

mp4005 help

WP's minimum wage proposal does not include foreign workers.

KPK pointed out that the international community will likely kpkb about this if it is implemented.

so which country got such a policy ? pay min wage to locals and others don't have.

even sinkies go overseas study and work part time also draw min wage in that particular country right?

if i other countries then sinkies who come my country same thing, i pay them FW pay while the rest gets the min wage. might as well say in future sinkies go anywhere in the world should only draw FWs pay loh

people should use their brain to think globally and how it impacts our own reputation.

wwenze

WP's minimum wage proposal does not include foreign workers.

KPK pointed out that the international community will likely kpkb about this if it is implemented.

I don't see the international community kpkb when NS privilege was not given to foreigners.

Konnichiwa

How about proposing everyone paid the same wages? Better right?
There won’t be any discrimination. It will be gone instantly!
No more see me no up....

muddywaters

Want more pay just go upgrade ownself lah.

If limpeh want to make more money , I also got to find my own ways wat.

Why should it be different for these 32,000 people ?

boredom2012

Pap like to say minimum wages affect the cost. Why they keep on raising the rents? If they keep rents, electricity and taxes low to offset the increase. I am sure that business will thrive and will not raise their prices. But in hard time, PAP demonstrate in opposite way. They only care about their own pockets.

wwenze

U have to be in the industry to understand. Not just talk in the air siol.
It really helped the security guard in their wage increase siol...

Yes, I am in the industry to understand that a Engineer 3 in a USA MNC is way different from an Engineer 3 in a SG GLC.

Angmoh_TuaKi

Trying to implement minimum wage is not the same as being more compassionate. Just an outdated bait to get more votes from the uneducated or people who just look at things from the surface. If you implement 1.3k, then all the work by PWN will be undone. One of the side effect is that they will just drop all the wages of jobs like security guard to 1.3k. Since it is perfectly legit. So what’s next? Increase to 1.5k. Every election the highest bidder will get more vote? I want min wage 3k, vote for me? Please please use brain.

Anticipation is not reality. Who says parties will use this for bargaining? And even so, they may not get votes.

RedEyesFan

Trying to implement minimum wage is not the same as being more compassionate. Just an outdated bait to get more votes from the uneducated or people who just look at things from the surface. If you implement 1.3k, then all the work by PWN will be undone. One of the side effect is that they will just drop all the wages of jobs like security guard to 1.3k. Since it is perfectly legit. So what’s next? Increase to 1.5k. Every election the highest bidder will get more vote? I want min wage 3k, vote for me? Please please use brain.

PWM did nothing at all to be precise.
Also, Workfare is using taxpayers' money to pay for the problem caused by low wage exploiters. Having min wage shift this cost back to the exploiters.

wwenze

so which country got such a policy ? pay min wage to locals and others don't have.

even sinkies go overseas study and work part time also draw min wage in that particular country right?

if i other countries then sinkies who come my country same thing, i pay them FW pay while the rest gets the min wage. might as well say in future sinkies go anywhere in the world should only draw FWs pay loh

people should use their brain to think globally and how it impacts our own reputation.

Singapore is min pay for FT...

And our reputation is that we are idiots

overman

If implement minimum wage of 1.3k for these 32k people

Singapore economy will collapse

walterwu

These 32,000 had to pay union fees while their pay is below $1,300 or even lower than that?

Or were they unionised?

What has the union done for them?

Singapore's native population is 3.5 million (excluding PRs and including babies, toddlers, children and age).

32,000 is probably 4-5 % instead of 1.7% as reported.

Angmoh_TuaKi

If implement minimum wage of 1.3k for these 32k people

Singapore economy will collapse

Nonsense. If economy collapse means it's based on fake numbers.

More disposable wages for them also means business earn more when they spend it.

rathalos

Means WP help those 32,000 people where pap and the union it's sleeping with thinks it's not worth helping these people.. people voted correctly for pap because why should we help these 32,000 leeches for leeching on the profits of hard working bosses..

Konnichiwa

TS wants to make fun of MP Koh’s reaction.. lah
We all know Min wage won’t work...

If we have universal min wage... I will just lepak one easy job... and do the minimum since I still be paid.

rampage333

I mean if want play by words:
Since its minimal wage implemented by garment, all newly hire wage should start from 1.6k sgd, even vp, svp director etc

greentiger

KPK say that in most other countries with minimum wage, foreign workers are included in it.

walterwu

TS wants to make fun of MP Koh’s reaction.. lah
We all know Min wage won’t work...

If we have universal min wage... I will just lepak one easy job... and do the minimum since I still be paid.

Hello! If you don't do your job, you get $0. You will be fired. Different issue.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.