Only 32,000 take home less than WP's proposed $1,300 minimum wage

Konnichiwa

So SG should decrease programmer salary in SG to $200-$300 per month to compete with Batam?

The market forces will determine lor... seriously
If u falls into minimum wage category u will understand more lor...
Or else it’s just pointless intellectual argument lor...
like now ... :s13:

sunzoner

Maybe we start from construction and manufacturing line...
If send all the foreign workers home... who is going to replace them? :(

U earn lower than $1300 meh? Why u keep kpkb about wanting Min wages?
WP did so for brownie point one... they want to be seen as a political party for Sinkies... the so called uprighteous one...

Picked enough cherry already? Still need more?

Apex01

Want more pay just go upgrade ownself lah.

If limpeh want to make more money , I also got to find my own ways wat.

Why should it be different for these 32,000 people ?

Ur words show ignorance and some form of retard. They're from the lowest wage workers, oldest age group, little education and little skills.
Tell me how a table cleaner and toilet cleaner go for upgrade?

Konnichiwa

Ur words show ignorance and some form of retard. They're from the lowest wage workers, oldest age group, little education and little skills.

You want to pay so much for them meh?
Serious or not?

wwenze

Age is not a problem. They can retake ITE.

If old age stops the ability to learn new skills, we should not have old people keep getting promoted to Director CEO and Ministers.

Sinkie

Maybe tell me which industry will be affected... first... if minimum wages is implemented... then we discuss lor

I think cost of living will go up if minimum wage is implemented, I hope property will balloon

xdivider

Age is not a problem

If old age stops the ability to learn new skills, we should not have old people keep getting promoted to Director CEO and Ministers.

this is less of an issue if we can use uptron certs to qualify as anus doctors or lawyers. Then all the sub 1300 people can easily upgrade.....

Konnichiwa

So if salary increase for this 32,000 will bring about the end of Singapore's competitiveness and end life as we know it?

People say salary increase for 32,000 is to suan siao them siol...
How u going to implement siol....?
Some people got medical problem cannot work full time one...
then $1,300 is how many hours of work...
I think u just want to bump up the thread lah...

sunzoner

Hais, why this topic again. Prease rah, stop touting helping the poor.

Don't need go so deep into reading Stanford or Harvard studies. Just go understand the history of minimum wage since 1930s and it's real purpose of implementation, which is to discriminate coloured minorities. Then go see purchasing power of minimum wage against inflation since then. And also, don't come bluff people no impact on unemployment hiding behind big data, the impact is specifically on lower skilled and youth unemployment. This is supported by real data before and after 1930s for blacks and minorities youth.

Takes you 30 mins to go see all these and then stop being make use of by WP being a moral police. Let the poor accumulate capital, give real help for certain stagnant sector.

I know it feels song to see gov implement a number then feel the poor is saved, moral obligation fulfilled. Oh feel so song. But look at reality la, this law was passed in history with malicious intent and then on used as a political tool. That's why Wp is a real shxt party which talkss a lot of half truths

God... So you spent 30 mins to study min wages and its effect? No wonder you know nothing!

sunzoner

I m getting confused by cited numbers...

PWM is only applicable to locals, i.e. SGan, SG PR. Who it covers

WP says "universal minimum wage starting at $1,300 per month for Singaporean
workers." Source Idk why everyone still say cover FWs, construction costs will go up alot...

So in theory, a MW for SGan should be less costly for employers than PWM for SGan/PRs.

The 850k cited are locals? The 32k are full time SGans, bcos Workfare only covers
SGan. Work fare FAQ

so if only 3k SGan are in the landscape industry, how is that efficient to implement
PWM for landscape industry? Even assuming 12k total SGan/PRs, so

12k PWM + 3k (workfare)
versus
3k MW.

How is MW going to cost more?

Because haters got to hate.

sunzoner

Don't siao lah!
Only 32K people you want to implement?

Later all the coy put starting salary as $1.3K instead of the usual higher rate then who suffer?

Most likely government will tell these folks since now everyone has minimum wage and should be able to sustain, no more handouts and aids, you see who die.

The wages for the workers are low now. What make the employers pay higher for other types of workers? Because different types of job leh.

But by your logic, if the min wage will decrease the salary of politicians, I support.

wwenze

People say salary increase for 32,000 is to suan siao them siol...
How u going to implement siol....?
Some people got medical problem cannot work full time one...
then $1,300 is how many hours of work...
I think u just want to bump up the thread lah...

So what's your suggestion for those with medical problem?

a) Social security
b) Careshield
c) Let them die

muddywaters

YOUR words clearly show you up as another ignorant retard.

Go open up your horizon before posting your rubbish here.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.