[NAS] Synology NAS owner club!

bencheongcm

Not unless you have additional empty bays to add in the new bigger drives. You may have to do the hardway of transfering existing data out to some temporary storage, put in and setup new bigger drives then transfer data from the temp storage back to the new drives.
Is also not do-able if I am using SHR?

I guess I am stuck with this setup and can't upscale :(

existential_reality

If you are using SHR 1 (1 Disk Redundancy) you be able to remove one disk at a time and replace with a large volume and rebuild, so you basically be rebuilding the volume 4 times (its an arduous process) and the volume will expand upon the full replacement of all the drives to the larger drive if I recall)

You might wanna check if your Synology unit can support a single volume of that size that said, tbh I think it might be alot easier to copy all the data off the volume and just create a new volume with the drives if possible.

Check with Synology support again to be sure

Do note if you xua xua have one drive fail during the rebuild you may lose the volume data cause its one drive redundancy

Is also not do-able if I am using SHR?

I guess I am stuck with this setup and can't upscale :(

teydom

Don't buy odd numbers hdd like 3tb.

Get 4tb instead

At that time, if I remember correctly, that was the best cost per TB.

If I replace Drive 2 with a larger capacity HDD and reuse Drive 1, going again with SHR again, what is the largest capacity HDD I can go for? DS216j is the NAS in question.

Since I have all the data copied out safely, I removed the Storage Pool and ran Extended SMART tests on both Drives 1 & 2. Drive 1 ended Healthy 2 hours ago, while Drive 2 is still at 90%. Don't think leaving it overnight will complete (cross fingers). So Drive 2, I think would definitely have to be replaced.

teydom

I dun get a good experience with the RD Red either tbh, I feel the seagates are more reliable if you're capacity not high maybe can consider to use Hitachi drive for one of them?

Where to get Hitachi, I found it in only found it 2 of the 12 components price listing. Price seems to be more :cough: enterprise level

teydom

At that time, if I remember correctly, that was the best cost per TB.

If I replace Drive 2 with a larger capacity HDD and reuse Drive 1, going again with SHR again, what is the largest capacity HDD I can go for? DS216j is the NAS in question.
Found the Synology RAID Calculator at www synology.com/en-sg/support/RAID_calculator. At best will go for a 4TB size, loosing 1TB to SHR1.

Since I have all the data copied out safely, I removed the Storage Pool and ran Extended SMART tests on both Drives 1 & 2. Drive 1 ended Healthy 2 hours ago, while Drive 2 is still at 90%. Don't think leaving it overnight will complete (cross fingers). So Drive 2, I think would definitely have to be replaced.
:( it still is stuck at 90%. It's a gonner. Going to take it out and do a SMART through WD's Datalife Guard Diagnostic utility. And live without a NAS storage for now.

existential_reality

Seems they been bought over by WD probably merge into their business, given the case I can suggest Seagate Ironwolf Pro which I have had good experience with or you can consider the WD black? But this was someone else recommendation.

Where to get Hitachi, I found it in only found it 2 of the 12 components price listing. Price seems to be more :cough: enterprise level

i1magic

Does any of you set your NAS to go to sleep after certain period of no activity?

If yes, let say you got an open folder on the NAS. Then the NAS went to "sleep". What will happen to that folder? When you click on that folder again, what happens?

batniss

Does any of you set your NAS to go to sleep after certain period of no activity?

If yes, let say you got an open folder on the NAS. Then the NAS went to "sleep". What will happen to that folder? When you click on that folder again, what happens?

Yes mine sleep most of the time. Nothing happen just slow on the 1st click until the nas is fully up

i1magic

Yes mine sleep most of the time. Nothing happen just slow on the 1st click until the nas is fully up

For the last 1-2 weeks, I keep getting intermittent disconnection to internet. Suddenly for no reason, LAN and WAN will all be like disconnected for about 1min and all connects back.

If I open any folder on the NAS, it will exit and goes back to "This PC". I swop the router and the problem is still the same.

batniss

For the last 1-2 weeks, I keep getting intermittent disconnection to internet. Suddenly for no reason, LAN and WAN will all be like disconnected for about 1min and all connects back.

If I open any folder on the NAS, it will exit and goes back to "This PC". I swop the router and the problem is still the same.

Intermittent even internet? How is your nas flooding your router? Is that an asus router? If so go get merlin firmware n try again

i1magic

I think I have found the cause.

https://forum-en.msi.com/index.php?threads/realtek-pcie-2-5gbe-family-controller-resetting.345823/

I check the "Event Viewer" and found this error :

Source : NDIS

The network interface "Realtek PCIe 2.5GbE Family Controller" has begun resetting. There will be a momentary disruption in network connectivity while the hardware resets. Reason: The network driver detected that its hardware has stopped responding to commands. This network interface has reset 208 time(s) since it was last initialized.

batniss

https://forum-en.msi.com/index.php?threads/realtek-pcie-2-5gbe-family-controller-resetting.345823/

The network interface "Realtek PCIe 2.5GbE Family Controller" has begun resetting. There will be a momentary disruption in network connectivity while the hardware resets. Reason: The network driver detected that its hardware has stopped responding to commands. This network interface has reset 208 time(s) since it was last initialized.

So is PC issue

jtjt00

If update the driver still facing disconnection issue, get an Intel NIC.

i1magic

So is PC issue

Yah lor. To be more precise, it is the NIC issue, probably driver.

i1magic

If update the driver still facing disconnection issue, get an Intel NIC.

I read that ASRock motherboard got people have same issue also. Did your motherboard kena this also?

That is what I am trying to avoid lor.

xiaofan

Is your NAS using 2.5Gbe as well? If it has only gigait Ethernet, then no point using the Realtek 2.5Gbe card, get an Intel gigabit Ethernet card for more stable operation.

However, if your NAS got 2.5Gbe, then be careful the first generation Intel I225 V1 based 2.5Gbs Ethernet card is having big problems. Not so sure if the new silicon revision I225 V2 is already in the market or not.
https://forums.unraid.net/topic/99261-25gbe-intel-z490-vs-amd-x570/
https://wccftech.com/intel-400-series-chipsets-z490-i225-v-network-controller-issue-fix-2h-2020/

Intel is saying you need compatible router/switch to use the I225V1 card as a 2.5G adapter, if not, use it as gigabit.
https://www.intel.com/i225v1

So if you do not want to use Realtek 2.5Gbps Ethernet card, then use the more expensive Marvell AQC112C (2.5Gbe) or AQC111C (2.5Gbe/5Gbe) based cards.

More info about 2.5Gbps Home Network here.
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...-4/2-5-gbps-wired-home-network-6347648-5.html

jtjt00

I read that ASRock motherboard got people have same issue also. Did your motherboard kena this also?

That is what I am trying to avoid lor.

Both my Asrock motherboards use Intel I211 ethernet chip.

I purposely selected motherboard with Intel INC when building my rigs. 2 previous AMD rig with Realtek NIC have network speed of 8xx Mbps on SingTel 1Gbps Fibre. Now both are getting over 9xx Mbps.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.