Any Interior Design Firms to recommend?

SC8787

Dear sifus,

I am gonna shortlist an ID firm soon and the final thing which might be a dealbreaker is their payment milestones.

I was told that these payment milestones are actually negotiable. Like instead of the usual 5% upon handover, I can nego to a higher percentage (to so-called safeguard myself from slow and/or unresponsive IDs when it comes to final touch-up etc.). Is this even possible? I mean, the payment terms might be a company policy or something...

Any advice is appreciated.

Thanks sifus.

We are entering into an agreement with the ID company, any agreement between 2 parties is definitely negotiable. If that company don't agree, I think you should not use them, no such things as imposing your company policy on me. I didn't do this myself, realised it late, and I regret. Make sure they list out all the segments of renovation and the completion date, the compensation amount if there is any delay, and put a fair percentage payment to each segment. I got 5 quotations from 5 IDs through Qanvast and I realised they all have unfair payment schedule towards consumers. I will probably ask how often is the ID going to the site too.

SC8787

My ID become more half fk once left with the final touch ups, before final payment. Is that normal?

Many progress checks end up I do instead of him. I’m starting to feel more like the PM. I’m sure it’s because there are many other projects to do but whether acceptable or not, I’m still considering if I should complain.

Same with my ID too. Towards the end of the renovation, it seems like it's his first time seeing the rectifications needed. I wonder if he actually did any site inspection or not.

I have the exact same problems with both of you too. Defects picked up by me, and I suspect my ID didn't do any site visit inspection too. The industry is damn cow boy. Personally Im not going to let my ID off so easily. I hired those professional inspection firm to inspect the renovation and they picked up some stuff that a layman consumer like me wouldn't know is defect. And if I dont hire professional defects inspector to check, I wouldn't even know these things, and if my ID dont tell me all these, I take it as they are mis-selling me, a fraud. Stuff like

- The rubber lining around the window panel having a gap and not end to end
- hollow floor tiles
- kitchen cabinet doors not aligned
- kitchen cabinet drawer not even
- kitchen cabinet soft close doesn't close fully
- The Blum drawer system bar installed inverted
- Oven installed slanted
- Oven switch causes power trip
- Wall plastering badly done
- Painting job missed out some places
- Shower screen handle bar installed slanted
- toilet floor tiles uneven
- not to mention the project is severely delayed
- and quite a bit of poor workmanship here and there

These are just some things. We are all working people, if they are professionals, I really cannot understand how these kind of things can happen.

We are entering into an agreement with the ID company, any agreement between 2 parties is definitely negotiable. If that company don't agree, I think you should not use them, no such things as imposing your company policy on me. I didn't do this myself, realised it late, and I regret. Make sure they list out all the segments of renovation and the completion date, the compensation amount if there is any delay, and put a fair percentage payment to each segment. I got 5 quotations from 5 IDs through Qanvast and I realised they all have unfair payment schedule towards consumers. I will probably ask how often is the ID going to the site too.
Hi SC8787. Thank you for your reply.

Fortunately the ID which I am about to engage did point out that the payment terms will be a mutual agreement between both parties. I just have to bring forward what percentage I think is win-win for both parties.

Asking how often will the ID be going to site is really something I never thought of asking. Will see what the ID has to say.

I have the exact same problems with both of you too. Defects picked up by me, and I suspect my ID didn't do any site visit inspection too. The industry is damn cow boy. Personally Im not going to let my ID off so easily. I hired those professional inspection firm to inspect the renovation and they picked up some stuff that a layman consumer like me wouldn't know is defect. And if I dont hire professional defects inspector to check, I wouldn't even know these things, and if my ID dont tell me all these, I take it as they are mis-selling me, a fraud. Stuff like

- hollow floor tiles
- Oven installed slanted

These are just some things. We are all working people, if they are professionals, I really cannot understand how these kind of things can happen.
Really heartbreaking to know about your sad escapade with your ID. But is there such thing as a firm which does professional defect inspection?

SC8787

Hi SC8787. Thank you for your reply.

Fortunately the ID which I am about to engage did point out that the payment terms will be a mutual agreement between both parties. I just have to bring forward what percentage I think is win-win for both parties.

Asking how often will the ID be going to site is really something I never thought of asking. Will see what the ID has to say.

You probably have to be on the ball after each segment too. Ask for the work schedule and monitor closely. If not it maybe too late. Like my toilet has a hollow wall tile that's blocked by my shower screen already. I just found that out yesterday, I dont even know how are they going to fix it.

SC8787

Really heartbreaking to know about your sad escapade with your ID. But is there such thing as a firm which does professional defect inspection?

I chanced upon this company's video on YouTube, if you go and google, apparently there are. Something new to me too :s13: Its not exactly cheap though. My 4 room resale flat they quoted me $400. Is it really needed? Probably not. A lot of things they pointed out can be shared by people who has the experience, like those I shared :s13: But I did it to learn, as well as having something to back me up should I go to small tribunal claims.

You probably have to be on the ball after each segment too. Ask for the work schedule and monitor closely. If not it maybe too late. Like my toilet has a hollow wall tile that's blocked by my shower screen already. I just found that out yesterday, I dont even know how are they going to fix it.
Whoaa that sounds bad leh omg. :eek:

Mind sharing the ID?

I chanced upon this company's video on YouTube, if you go and google, apparently there are. Something new to me too :s13: Its not exactly cheap though. My 4 room resale flat they quoted me $400. Is it really needed? Probably not. A lot of things they pointed out can be shared by people who has the experience, like those I shared :s13: But I did it to learn, as well as having something to back me up should I go to small tribunal claims.
If you will have to go to the Small Tribunal Claim then I believe the defects are quite severe. :s31: Really that bad meh?

If it costs only a few hundred to hire the guys to check for defects then I guess I probably would go ahead. Just to buy me some peace of mind.

bb_100

Hello guys, I went to an ID over the weekend and the designer recommended KompacPlus over iQuartz for my kitchen countertop. She mentioned that KompacPlus is more heat resistant (can put hot pots and pans directly on top of KompacPlus no problem) and easier to maintain compared to iQuartz. Not sure if this is really the case though, as my online research about these two materials is inconclusive.

Anyone here has experience to share?

Thanks in advance!

KnobKnob

anyone tried jesign interior design before?

seems like a relatively new company. any feedback on their work?

Sent from Samsung SM-G975F using GAGT

princewenle

- hollow floor tiles
- Oven installed slanted

Can pm me which id company?
So i can siam.

yellowlion

- hollow floor tiles
- Oven installed slanted

Hello, can pm?

yellowlion

Hi guys, was reading through this thread and realised that no one mentioned the ID/contractors that I have shortlisted.. anyone heard of
1. Des & Co
2. MJS interior
3. Areana Creation ?

weathersohot

Hi guys, was reading through this thread and realised that no one mentioned the ID/contractors that I have shortlisted.. anyone heard of
1. Des & Co
2. MJS interior
3. Areana Creation ?

Yes. I tried getting quotation from Des & Co. Slow replies + MIA

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.