USA Stocks discussion - Part 3

Cereal

lol, guys, if u really wanna buy, place it as low as possible, like $251 or 200 or 100

dont be the dumb dumb buying at $400

lastly, those who decided to sell, pls sell and don't check back the price. it will cause fomo if it reaches $1000.

whatever happens, it's a very big gamble

Agreed. But also depending if the broker system is working fine or not on that day. Like I already put limit sell at e.g. $355 and mkt price is $370 but just never triggered.. I also can’t do much..

RedsYWNA

lol, guys, if u really wanna buy, place it as low as possible, like $251 or 200 or 100

lastly, those who decided to sell, pls sell and don't check back the price. it will cause fomo if it reaches $1000.

Actually it's not really retailers vs hedge funds lah. It's basically big boys vs big boys, like Herbalife saga.

Retailers just add fuel and create some publicity only lah....

Btw if the chap loses, its only $400 only. Treat it as eating atas Jap Omakase lor... Haha...

~sabaisabai~

Agreed. Comes with risk
So only buy at the amount one can afford to lose. :o

d5dude

Agreed. But also depending if the broker system is working fine or not on that day. Like I already put limit sell at e.g. $355 and mkt price is $370 but just never triggered.. I also can’t do much..

You put in 355 to sell and 370 was done before your order was filled?

No way thats possible, unless you are talking about extended trading hours. Brokers must execute orders by priority according to the NBBO during regular trading hours.

decibel.

Just to be clear, even if government does step in, it doesn't mean government will buy your bags at any price. Heck, they won't even buy from you for sure. I have read people from WSB saying government will have no choice but to buy their GME for millions LMAO no wonder they call themselves retard in wsb

Sent from HUAWEI VOG-L29 using GAGT

decibel.

No way thats possible, unless you are talking about extended trading hours. Brokers must execute orders by priority according to the NBBO during regular trading hours.
Maybe his limit order is for RTH.

d5dude

I agree, I was watching it all day, they were fishing for shares. $250 is where the pain is

u see, assuming no catalyst like SEC trading halts, the theory is very good. It's supposed to go up and painful for shorts.

But the risks are government intervention (as price goes up, more pressure to intervene), SEC already put out statement on illegal market manipulation (hinting u and give u chance/warning), offering, selling by insiders(already happen by some south Korea coy)

looking at video from senators like Warren, she is asking sec to step in and do their job. According to people like her, stock market not supposed to be this way

so u can see, SEC says protect retail investors, means they not gonna let this mania continue much longer, the more people get involved, the more pressure to act

For me, my bias would be go on short side because no short squeeze last forever. The easy money has been made so pls lock it in and at least preserve ur capital. I'll still watch it and play according depending on how it behaves.

But the risks are very high that government will do something. The ban on buying already show dirty they are but as trader, u have to accept that while this ban is on, it means price only go down so play accordingly

next week, I'm assuming there's no BS about not enough money for RH to clear as it should be settled liao. So the buying mania may continue but I suspect SEC will step in if the price keep rising because this will trap more and more retail into get rich scheme

I think Robinhood is really in trouble, I read that the buying restriction was extended to 50 stocks yesterday, so this is not about GME anymore.

I just hope this saga doesn't affect IB in any way because I have a substantial sum of investments with them, far above the insured amount of SIPC.

OnePunchMan

what you see as market price may not be the current NBBO..
you must remember when this kind of fight happen, just set limit sell at price you wish to let go then let the order slowly queue

OnePunchMan

Just to be clear, even if government does step in, it doesn't mean government will buy your bags at any price. Heck, they won't even buy from you for sure. I have read people from WSB saying government will have no choice but to buy their GME for millions LMAO no wonder they call themselves retard in wsb

I think there was actually some example what short seller bankrupt somewhere be4. basically the govt take the remaining fund, chop up by the share they owe, give the $$ over and tell the share holder, that's it.

both side die and the ticker company is like... well nth to do with me :s22:

Zef

I think Robinhood is really in trouble, I read that the buying restriction was extended to 50 stocks yesterday, so this is not about GME anymore.

I just hope this saga doesn't affect IB in any way because I have a substantial sum of investments with them, far above the insured amount of SIPC.

for RH there should be a liquidity issue already they don't have enough to payout ppl's gains...that's why they took loans from banks recently.. negate the demand by supressing the supply

OnePunchMan

for RH there should be a liquidity issue already they don't have enough to payout ppl's gains...that's why they took loans from banks recently.. negate the demand by supressing the supply

its not about the gain... They got enough for that... they don't have the reserve when CCP demands 100% collateral for every trade.

As a market maker, when ppl buy option, RH buy % shares of that ticker as hedge. now they can't hedge properly even if they want to buy 100% share as hedge.

OnePunchMan

its not about the gain... They got enough for that... they don't have the reserve when CCP demands 100% collateral for every trade.

As a market maker, when ppl buy option, RH buy % shares of that ticker as hedge. now they can't hedge properly even if they want to buy 100% share as hedge.

CCP doesn't return you the $$ immediately, its C+2. so now imagine with their user base bombing GME pushing it more traded than any share in stock exchange... :s22::s22:

Zef

CCP doesn't return you the $$ immediately, its C+2. so now imagine with their user base bombing GME pushing it more traded than any share in stock exchange... :s22::s22:

Now they have to deliver the shares T+2, but I read likely they have those shares locked up to strike price 320

d5dude

Why does Robinhood need to payout gains? They are a broker, not a casino...

The whole thing is quite confusing, I read this article on Bloomberg and still dun understand why Robinhood had to restrict trading for 50 stocks.

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/arti...revent-cascading-failures-q-a-with-larry-tabb

Now the broker can’t guarantee those trades with the clients’ cash -- a la MF Global -- the broker needs to pledge their own capital.

Why couldn't Robinghood guarantee the trades with their clients' cash if no margin was involved? And what does this have to do with the 49 other stocks that isn't GME?

It sounds absurd, almost as if DTCC doesn't trust Robinhood anymore.

Cereal

Tiger. Pre-market. Valid for the day. Allow fill outside RH. A few times also did not triggered.

d5dude

Tiger. Pre-market. Valid for the day. Allow fill outside RH. A few times also did not triggered.

There you go. Your broker has no obligation to fill your order according to NBBO during pre market, Tiger is a zero commission broker, even higher chance it will not fill during ETH.

Cereal

There you go. Your broker has no obligation to fill your order according to NBBO during pre market, Tiger is a zero commission broker, even higher chance it will not fill during ETH.

Tiger is not zero commission leh.. $1.99.

Zef

Why does Robinhood need to payout gains? They are a broker, not a casino...

The whole thing is quite confusing, I read this article on Bloomberg and still dun understand why Robinhood had to restrict trading for 50 stocks.

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/arti...revent-cascading-failures-q-a-with-larry-tabb

Now the broker can’t guarantee those trades with the clients’ cash -- a la MF Global -- the broker needs to pledge their own capital.

Why couldn't Robinghood guarantee the trades with their clients' cash if no margin was involved? And what does this have to do with the 49 other stocks that isn't GME?

It sounds absurd, almost as if DTCC doesn't trust Robinhood anymore.

Isn't it because the RH clients are mostly on margin?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.