[Official] Playstation 5

spookyboon

Hi guys, I read that PS5 is usually back in stock around mid-month. Any tips to procure? Anyone using any script or extension for availability alerts. How fast does it go out of stock?
Additionally, I read PayPal is the best way to purchase, instead of CC/DebitC. Is that correct?

Thankyou.

Xethos

This drive will never be allowed. Too slow. It will be a PCIe4 drive with a read/write speed of 7,000 MB/s

PS5 ssd speed is very much exaggerated. The speed is more like our normal sata ssd. To people who only play console all their life though you can described as super blazing fast ssd, which is true compared to the HDD used before.

They test it and the internal ssd is slightly slower than external sata ssd.

Gixxerfied

Hi guys, I read that PS5 is usually back in stock around mid-month. Any tips to procure? Anyone using any script or extension for availability alerts. How fast does it go out of stock?
Additionally, I read PayPal is the best way to purchase, instead of CC/DebitC. Is that correct?

Thankyou.

Paypal is when buying games off PS Store...PS5 purchase on Sony online is direct local payment portal so doesnt matter..

SiaoAngMoh

PS5 ssd speed is very much exaggerated. The speed is more like our normal sata ssd. To people who only play console all their life though you can described as super blazing fast ssd, which is true compared to the HDD used before.

No it's not exaggerated. What a joke. Go back and watch the road to PS5 and you'll understand why 7,000MB/s is needed for the internal NVMe.

As for the DF video, it's almost as if there was a bottleneck of some sort when transferring to/from the external drives. You know, like a USB port.

How does this help evaluate running PS5 games direct from the SSD?

This may help you understand ...

GotBetrayed

Eh no, I have 2 x gaming PCs with 5500 mbps ssd. Honestly the ps5 loading time and performance is very impressive compared to my setups.

Setup 1: rtx 3070 + ryzen 5600x + gigabyte Aorus ssd + dell s2721DGF monitor and LG 27GL850 monitor

Setup 2; rtx 3070 + Intel 10600k + gigabyte Aorus ssd + LG 27GL850 monitor

PS5 setup: LG 65 CX OLED + pst disc. My tv supports 4K 120hz and is g sync compatible.

honestly if you think about price of the digital ps5, 599 sgd minus cost of controller, 500 sgd for ryzen 8 core processor, rtx 2080 super equivalent card, 825gb 5500mbps ssd, this is a crazy price which is why ps5 is hard to get.

ryan_khoo

ah possibly. mine was disc version. you reckon i should get a disc instead of digital version to try it? i wanted to try the new 60fps and the new game plus with all my stuff carried over. starting from scratch abit boring lol

Paiseh newbie question, I bought the disc version of PS5 for my son & I don’t understand why he said the soon not enough disc space liao ?

I thought I bought the more expensive disc version, the game is to play from disc, why still need to hard disk ? Is it the system copy from the disc to harddisk so that it’s faster when you play ?

If that’s true, then the more different games he play, soon the memory space in the hard disk will be gone leh

what is the solution to this ? How to buy harddisk ? I mean what type of harddisk and where to buy ? Only proprietary Sony harddisk ?

thanks

daniel_83

Paiseh newbie question, I bought the disc version of PS5 for my son & I don’t understand why he said the soon not enough disc space liao ?

I thought I bought the more expensive disc version, the game is to play from disc, why still need to hard disk ? Is it the system copy from the disc to harddisk so that it’s faster when you play ?

If that’s true, then the more different games he play, soon the memory space in the hard disk will be gone leh

what is the solution to this ? How to buy harddisk ? I mean what type of harddisk and where to buy ? Only proprietary Sony harddisk ?

thanks

ask your son diam diam

play first then say

not enough space liao then see how

my ps4 played ~100 disc games also still got space

maniamcool

thanks

your son talking nonsense

my ps4 play so many games on disc also never run out of space

unless he using the console for other reasons :s8:

charleslin

thanks

All the same storage space now, no difference, and there's no higher storage options at the moment also.

Have to wait for the storage price to drop then probably will have higher storage options, and unlock the additional storage slot.

Loading from SSD faster than reading from disc, nowadays the disc is mostly just to "verify" you own the game so you can play it. If really hit the capacity, only way is to delete unused games (keep the save file).

LiLAsN

You misinterpreted their words. Those old games are designed for at most, someone upgrading the PS4 to a SATA SSD. Thus the games sometimes favoring SSD and thus, getting you faster speeds. That is why ideally, just keep your old PS4 games on an external SSD drive.

But ACTUAL PS5 games that will really take advantage of the NVMe will be way more impressive. To the point where it can even beat PC game loading times as well. I have NVMe SSDs all over my PC. So I know. Anyway, once Microsoft brings DirectStorage API from the XBOX to Windows, then finally, PC should in theory be able to match the loading speed of the PS5 games.

The upcoming Rachet and Clank PS5 game will be the best example of the PS5 game loading capability on that very speedy NVMe SSD.

PS. Currently on Windows, some games actually load faster too when you are using a SATA SSD vs NVMe SSD. And again, it boils down to the coding done for these games to take advantage of SATA SSDs and were not designed for NVMe.
Thus the need for Microsoft to include the DirectStorage API.
So as you can very well see, the PC is suffering from the same problem that the PS5 is facing as well. And it all boils down to the games having to specifically be able to take advantage of the way faster speeds of these NVMe SSDs.
The video to prove this is on Linus Tech Tips in regards to comparing the different SSDs.

And with Rachet and Clank technical analysis out, the verdict is clear at how fast and almost instantaneous the loading is from the PS5 SSD.

zepplin25

You misinterpreted their words. Those old games are designed for at most, someone upgrading the PS4 to a SATA SSD. Thus the games sometimes favoring SSD and thus, getting you faster speeds. That is why ideally, just keep your old PS4 games on an external SSD drive.

But ACTUAL PS5 games that will really take advantage of the NVMe will be way more impressive. To the point where it can even beat PC game loading times as well. I have NVMe SSDs all over my PC. So I know. Anyway, once Microsoft brings DirectStorage API from the XBOX to Windows, then finally, PC should in theory be able to match the loading speed of the PS5 games.

The upcoming Rachet and Clank PS5 game will be the best example of the PS5 game loading capability on that very speedy NVMe SSD.

PS. Currently on Windows, some games actually load faster too when you are using a SATA SSD vs NVMe SSD. And again, it boils down to the coding done for these games to take advantage of SATA SSDs and were not designed for NVMe.
Thus the need for Microsoft to include the DirectStorage API.
So as you can very well see, the PC is suffering from the same problem that the PS5 is facing as well. And it all boils down to the games having to specifically be able to take advantage of the way faster speeds of these NVMe SSDs.
The video to prove this is on Linus Tech Tips in regards to comparing the different SSDs.

This is quite a good explainer. Also one thing to note is so far no one, atleast accurately has measured how much of the data is being rendered from visual standpoint of view which is where i believe the internal SSD will shine ever more besides the loading times. As in, when you're just swinging around in spiderman, how much of the city can you see, how fast is everything loading dynamically and maybe help with lag times as well.

The bigger question for me is whether the super fast SSD, the one's that are going to be compatible with PS5 is worth or not? The jump from HDD to SSD was definitely needed, but reducing the load times from 25sec to 15sec, is it worth almost double the price? I would rather have a 2TB slower SSD rather a 1TB 30% faster SSD even at the same price because i think storage is more annoying of a bottleneck now rather than faster SSD.
However this might change in the future. What do you guys think?

SiaoAngMoh

This is quite a good explainer. Also one thing to note is so far no one, atleast accurately has measured how much of the data is being rendered from visual standpoint of view which is where i believe the internal SSD will shine ever more besides the loading times. As in, when you're just swinging around in spiderman, how much of the city can you see, how fast is everything loading dynamically and maybe help with lag times as well.

The bigger question for me is whether the super fast SSD, the one's that are going to be compatible with PS5 is worth or not? The jump from HDD to SSD was definitely needed, but reducing the load times from 25sec to 15sec, is it worth almost double the price? I would rather have a 2TB slower SSD rather a 1TB 30% faster SSD even at the same price because i think storage is more annoying of a bottleneck now rather than faster SSD.
However this might change in the future. What do you guys think?
A lot depends on what Sony does here.

Either they enforce the requirement that NVMe drives must meet the latency levels of the internal PS5 SSD to be used in the system (so games can run directly from the M2 NVMe drive, or the internal SSD), or,
they allow any NVMe drive to be used in the M2 slot but you still need to copy games between it and the internal drive to play them.

Only then do you have a choice to make (speed vs storage). It's not a case of excepting longer load times with a slower drive. Games written to take advantage of the PS5's SSD for streaming (as opposed to loading levels) would have problems running on slower disks (see Ratchet and Clank).

BastionBun

how reliable it is to PO from someone thru carousell? saw a few listing that PO need to deposit at least few hundreds then wait for the release date

most important is to see reviews. Nothing else matters more than that when it comes to Carousell. Someone who has 500+ reviews is definitely more trustable than someone who made the account last month and has no or just a few reviews.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.