Nowadays BMW, Merc and Audi cars no more luxury. Tesla is the real deal.

veryhonestguy

Tesla is the bread and butter of EVs lar.
if you look at ix3, and etron omv , they are actually cheaper then model 3 performance .
u sure it is bread and butter for ev?
bread and butter is byd, leaf, kia and such, currently only taycan is more expensive then model 3, and it is the base model of tesla, and taycan is the pinnacle of porsche for ev

Kim1972

if you look at ix3, and etron omv , they are actually cheaper then model 3 performance .
u sure it is bread and butter for ev?
bread and butter is byd, leaf, kia and such, currently only taycan is more expensive then model 3, and it is the base model of tesla, and taycan is the pinnacle of porsche for ev
Bread and butter cars is what people buy the most and put on the road. Omv does not equal selling price. If u look at the selling price of ix3 and etron, u know the T badge does not have the status.

tomsss

Tesla exterior style quite bad looking. They need to employ better designer
design is 3 years old liao. It's old

i mean look at other options like Hyundai Ioniq 5. so much better looking as an EV
ioniq_5_ext_2.jpg

veryhonestguy

Bread and butter cars is what people buy the most and put on the road. Omv does not equal selling price. If u look at the selling price of ix3 and etron, u know the T badge does not have the status.
tesla is direct selling, that why the price is attractive as there is no ad that milk u over and over.
look at the price for ix3 and compare it with tesla, both dont have agent quoted number that is not accurate, as these are those they will throw in 20k discount, 15k over trade and such to play with the loan amount, pi and such all have the 100% loan gimmick or over trade, tesla singapore is full cash or at least 40% down payment, that in fact got the prestige, please compare the price first and then said if ix3 is a better car, and i am not even looking at the specs that is totally not comparable
https://onemotoring.lta.gov.sg/cont...ying/Car_Cost_Update/M032-Car_Cost_Update.pdf
and tesla road tax is at $5000 a year for the model 3 performance, still bread and butter low end car?

drkcynic

People need to know the end game of the tesla. FSD and robo taxis.

But most of those buying it today are mostly due to it being the in thing, for bragging rights, and because they can afford it.

ninefile

tesla is direct selling, that why the price is attractive as there is no ad that milk u over and over.
look at the price for ix3 and compare it with tesla, both dont have agent quoted number that is not accurate, as these are those they will throw in 20k discount, 15k over trade and such to play with the loan amount, pi and such all have the 100% loan gimmick or over trade, tesla singapore is full cash or at least 40% down payment, that in fact got the prestige, please compare the price first and then said if ix3 is a better car, and i am not even looking at the specs that is totally not comparable
https://onemotoring.lta.gov.sg/cont...ying/Car_Cost_Update/M032-Car_Cost_Update.pdf
and tesla road tax is at $5000 a year for the model 3 performance, still bread and butter low end car?
actually i wonder only lah
does tesla need the half yearly service?
and since they are the only ones selling and servicing the cars
does that mean they can lowball upfront and huat big on the servicing?

Kim1972

I am not sure if ix3 is a better car, but tesla is definitely 1 of the least reliable car.

https://insideevs.com/news/549130/consumerreports-tesla-reliability-poor-2021/
https://www.businessinsider.com/tes...s-3-x-y-consumer-reports-satisfaction-2021-11
Just make a search for tesla reliability.

The status of a car is not determined by its selling price. In sg its all due to taxes and coe. Status need to be build over time. For a few year old company, they do definitely receive the hype, but definitely not the status of merc, bmw or even audi yet.

Above just my opinion, apologize if i offended any Tesla owners

veryhonestguy

actually i wonder only lah
does tesla need the half yearly service?
and since they are the only ones selling and servicing the cars
does that mean they can lowball upfront and huat big on the servicing?
there no servicing needed, only need the wiper and aircon filter that u can do anywhere.
like for technical issue or breakdown, first 4 years is foc, and they will have a mobile team coming down to the place you are at to serve you, this is like vip service, that dont required you to drive down the work shop

veryhonestguy

I am not sure if ix3 is a better car, but tesla is definitely 1 of the least reliable car.

https://insideevs.com/news/549130/consumerreports-tesla-reliability-poor-2021/
https://www.businessinsider.com/tes...s-3-x-y-consumer-reports-satisfaction-2021-11
Just make a search for tesla reliability.

The status of a car is not determined by its selling price. In sg its all due to taxes and coe. Status need to be build over time. For a few year old company, they do definitely receive the hype, but definitely not the status of merc, bmw or even audi yet.

Above just my opinion, apologize if i offended any Tesla owners
u didnt even compare the selling price from the chart i had given you, and just looking at ad asking price that is not accurate as there are tons of discounts, and model 3 the lowest road tax is at 3200 a year, and performance is at $5000 a year, u name me a car that road tax is at 5000 a year for a new car, even a v8 turbo charge 4 litre is at 4k tax a year, or how about telling me how much is your tax? 600 a year?

Kim1972

u didnt even compare the selling price from the chart i had given you, and just looking at ad asking price that is not accurate as there are tons of discounts, and model 3 the lowest road tax is at 3200 a year, and performance is at $5000 a year, u name me a car that road tax is at 5000 a year for a new car, even a v8 turbo charge 4 litre is at 4k tax a year, or how about telling me how much is your tax? 600 a year?
The reason for EV high road tax is to cover for the petrol tax as explained by LTA.

I have said i believe the status of a car is not determined by its selling price.

veryhonestguy

The reason for EV high road tax is to cover for the petrol tax as explained by LTA.

I have said i believe the status of a car is not determined by its selling price.
for the first year ev got no petrol levy add on the road tax, the reason is it 5000 road tax is because of it 500 horsepower, and 3.2 second century sprint, they are using power ratio for the road tax, bmw ix3 horse power is at 282 hp, and road tax is at $2000 a year, due to the much lower horsepower comparing to tesla.
i dont know what is so prestigious in having lower road tax, lower omv, lower insurance, and lower specs, and lousier technology

Kim1972

for the first year ev got no petrol levy add on the road tax, the reason is it 5000 road tax is because of it 500 horsepower, and 3.2 second century sprint, they are using power ratio for the road tax, bmw ix3 horse power is at 282 hp, and road tax is at $2000 a year, due to the much lower horsepower comparing to tesla.
i dont know what is so prestigious in having lower road tax, lower omv, lower insurance, and lower specs, and lousier technology
Isn't that the precise reason why people buy tesla. Cause they cannot afford a 500 hp NA car?

Flexamoria

ev value should be good, as goverment also pushing for year 2030 to phase out ice
for now buy ice car, best is buy those old cars, so can scrap anytime. taxes is also something that is important, as the 30% road tax rebate for ice is ending on 2022 dec

Phasing out ice cars is 2040

Best buy old car? You mean ice car?

veryhonestguy

Isn't that the precise reason why people buy tesla. Cause they cannot afford a 500 hp NA car?
yes and no, some is because petrol 500 hp car cant compete with ev car, some is because for 240k, u get the fastest car in sg road why not, and please dont use those coe cars to compare

Kim1972

yes and no, some is because petrol 500 hp car cant compete with ev car, some is because for 240k, u get the fastest car in sg road why not, and please dont use those coe cars to compare
U just said it. In SG or around the world, those who buy a status car does not buy it with the reason u stated, especially if the reason is 240k for a fastest car (cheap)

veryhonestguy

Phasing out ice cars is 2040

Best buy old car? You mean ice car?
yeah u never know when the goverment will start to slap ice car with more taxes, my guess is because most driver cant afford to change to ev, that why the goverment is holding back, but dont know till when. but one thing for sure is that ice car taxes sure will go up in the near future

veryhonestguy

U just said it. In SG, those who buy a status car does not buy it with the reason u stated.
one of the model 3 p owner sold his m5 for it due to performance, but wife still keeping 740, cars is just toy for the rich, and most own more then 2 cars. using car as status is also very low level, as tons of coe car on the road. most just but it for the fun factor, that why u see so many video on crazy model 3 performance ppl accelerating in singapore road , zipping here and there, as if those car are non existant

Senna Wales

Tesla is not luxury. Tesla is like ramen, export to Singapore, the price go up 100x, but is just a common thing.

Kim1972

one of the model 3 p owner sold his m5 for it due to performance, but wife still keeping 740, cars is just toy for the rich, and most own more then 2 cars. using car as status is also very low level, as tons of coe car on the road. most just but it for the fun factor, that why u see so many video on crazy model 3 performance ppl accelerating in singapore road , zipping here and there, as if those car are non existant
Agree

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.