Better read this if you are planning to live or migrate to Japan: 10 Problems

wongkc

not sure why jap girls want to stay home after married, not bored meh?
My sis under spouse visa... cannot work there... but i think she got do some online sales selling some handicrafts... recently she is redecorating those small plain flower pots for those succulent plants and resell them to shops... got market there... now succulent plants is trending there...

Successor.

japan is to go once a year enjoy, not stay long term
That’s why the failure Sharon Au got out of Japan after her Long unwelcomed stay. She know she can’t get a job in Japan with her at 100% retard despite having graduate in an university in Japan and once glorifying herself being able to speak Japanese

GotBetrayed

I studied there before and I think it’s quite ok la. Many Japanese girls and friends help me along the way. No issue for most part. Many Japanese girls love foreigners too

Lemonpeach

My sister married a japanese and had been staying in Japan under spouse visa for more than 10yrs liao...

I think most of the problems are true and real... but i think this is true to most other foreign language countries as well... like lack of support of interpreters in gahment agencies, discriminations... even opening a bank account is a challenge etc...

but the very basic requirement when u want to live in a foreign land is to learn their language... even if u move to a English speaking countries... u still need to learn their local slang/dialects/accents... and once u learned their language and is fluent in it... a lot of the problems will be solved or minimized...
Fully agree. Those are the issues if one is a peasant. I grew up from high school in JP and went to uni there. My waifu is Japanese. As an alien, I don't face any of the 10. Infact, I served in the neighbourhood committee. And teaches kendo as a volunteer to JP kids at a nearby police station. Language is very important. In the upper social circle, it is a different world.

Lately many Vietnamese are staffing factories, retail outlets. Taiwanese and Korean, and recently China people are found in F&B, retail etc.

Japan wants to encourage more migration from similar looking cultures, for cheap labour.

wheyprotein

1) 40% of foreigners can't rent an apartment easily
2) Lack of Japanese and foreign language support
3) Lack of interpreters in courts, police stations, district ward officers, public offices
4) illegal foreign worker of foreign technical trainees?
5) Large number of US military bases - if white you must be an American. If yellow, you must be Chinese
6) Hatred towards Korean and Chinese
7) Tussle over kids born to Japanese and foreign partner in event of divorce. Gaijin will often loose family court case in Japan
8) Job discrimination
9) Increasing number of Hafu or inter marriage kids
10) Rising number of foreign kids born to foreign parents, but can only speak Japanese

Very racist country

They make me feel proud about Singapore’s racial harmony

wongkc

Fully agree. Those are the issues if one is a peasant. I grew up from high school in JP and went to uni there. My waifu is Japanese. As an alien, I don't face any of the 10. Infact, I served in the neighbourhood committee. And teaches kendo as a volunteer to JP kids at a nearby police station. Language is very important. In the upper social circle, it is a different world.

Lately many Vietnamese are staffing factories, retail outlets. Taiwanese and Korean, and recently China people are found in F&B, retail etc.

Japan wants to encourage more migration from similar looking cultures, for cheap labour.

The Chinese are not a recent phenomenon there... i think back 15-20yrs ago already got a large number of chinese there working... i still vividly remembers the first time i go Japan 20yrs ago... the shinjuku takashimaya supermarket already got a few Chinese cashiers there... and they can speak very fluent japanese... they quite happy to see chinese speaking tourists and will engage in conversation with you...

and almost most tourist spots will have chinese salesperson... partly due to the China tourism boom...

Lemonpeach

The Chinese are not a recent phenomenon there... i think back 15-20yrs ago already got a large number of chinese there working... i still vividly remembers the first time i go Japan 20yrs ago... the shinjuku takashimaya supermarket already got a few Chinese cashiers there... and they can speak very fluent japanese... they quite happy to see chinese speaking tourists and will engage in conversation with you...

and almost most tourist spots will have chinese salesperson... partly due to the China tourism boom...
True.. the hatred towards Chinese exacerbated due to XJPnand recent China's aggressiveness.

I'm not seen as Chinese. I said I'm a Singaporean, my waifu is Japanese and I studied at Gakushuin High School and University.

Response: "then you are elite, you are Japanese"

Hahaha.

No problem for me moving around in Japan.

Now in Taipei. My waifu can speak broken Hokkien.. she even sang a TW song in broken Mingnan. TW politicians say she is a Formosan. A native Taiwanese.

Heehee.

sinkie886

3) Lack of interpreters in courts, police stations, district ward officers, public offices
5) Large number of US military bases - if white you must be an American. If yellow, you must be Chinese
7) Tussle over kids born to Japanese and foreign partner in event of divorce. Gaijin will often loose family court case in Japan
8) Job discrimination
10) Rising number of foreign kids born to foreign parents, but can only speak Japanese

the first point quite true.. i got some knowledge for real estate in japan. let me crush more weeb dreams.. :o
-When foreingers enter japan most are holding these type of visa:
work holiday visa < student < work visa < highly skilled visa..

the lower tier of visa, the harder to rent a place. same thinking as sinkie tenants dunwan to rent flats to WP holding chinaman, but dun mind renting to EP holding chinaman..
-Sometimes renting a place in japan gt this "confirmation call" whereby the landlord's management coy will call you and confirm ur details, so if you cant even speak basic Japanese u are fked. :o Best option is to find a managment coy that do not require such confirmation call.
- the most fked up point of all is that the landlords (represented by management coy 99% of the time) just dun like ur nationality/ race.. :o doesnt matter even if u holding highest tier visa.
True story: Got a British national but Hong Kong descend (chinese face) got posted to Tokyo branch (investment banker). he wanted to rent an own place by himself not thru his company's HR help. Initially the landlord managemnt coy know he is a british national with high pay and was happy and willing to rent him as they thought he is AMDK.. But when he submitted his passport photocopy (with his chinese face photo) for further processing he got rejected in the end. of coz the reason they give is some other rubbish reason but is quite obviously why. :o

uniqlo

8) Job discrimination

@Lemonpeach

so how many points can you relate to TS? since you are currently living with gf/wife in Japan

basic___

I was at Ginza a few years back and found out that most of the sales person catering to the PRC tourists are actually from china. They speak pretty good Japanese whom I initially though they are japanese. If you want to work in japan, I think your japanese linguistic skills must be very good for a start

wongkc

I was at Ginza a few years back and found out that most of the sales person catering to the PRC tourists are actually from china. They speak pretty good Japanese whom I initially though they are japanese. If you want to work in japan, I think your japanese linguistic skills must be very good for a start

20yrs ago... it might be good for PRC to go japan work... the pay working as cashier confirm higher than what they earn as office workers back in China... but nowadays China economy had developed so far... the salary probably isnt that attractive anymore...

Lemonpeach

@Lemonpeach

so how many points can you relate to TS? since you are currently living with gf/wife in Japan
Quite a number. But I don't speak Chinese and with my waifu, we blend in very well. I fully agree most of the points will apply if the accent is different, dressing is out of place, etc.

My waifu is from a clan of 600 years. My name is in her family register Koseki Tohon. I am a PR. Honestly, we are in a world of our own. The people we meet are not the sort Nobita described. We don't mix with the average Japanese. Also the police patrol our house often (I'm a kendo volunteer, haha. But also because of her family). As such, our Japanese neighbours look us very up. We are the elite of the Japanese elites.

If I did not marry a Japanese, I will not migrate there even if I had studied since HS. It is a homogeneous population and prejudice against outsiders is prevalent and to me, understandable. I found this common in Korea and China where I had also stayed before.

If not a PR, if not married to a Japanese, if can't speak Japanese fluently. Don't go there to work, migrate or live.

A 4-6 day tourist will do. Zip in and out and retain the positive image of JP mm, onsen, ryokan, sushi, etc.

The stress of being a Japanese or living in Japan for the average is tremendous.

Lemonpeach

i always hear ppl wanna retire in thailand, msia etc but nv Japan

Thais, Malaysians, etc leave the foreigner alone. In many cases, they welcome their $$$ and to hear stories of a foreign land.

Japanese feel they are the elites of Asians - the white people of Asia. Koreans now also feel they are white people of Asia, in view of their achievements. Thus JP and KR, these 2 white people clashes often. Now we have a 3rd white person superior to all other Asians emerging - China. These 3 jokers are now tussling often.

We are brown people, yellow people,...sigh

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.