Just got a call from blood bank, should go down?

Should one go for blood donation?

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

occifer

same as TS ... i stopped going after the news about public hos getting agent to bring in medical tourist

only went once during pandemic when not as likely got medical tourist ... now all the VTL open liao i dun think i'll do it again

i don't feel happy the agent get commission as part of the system to bring in profits while i get only milo and biscuit

Should keep the blood for sinkies in need when there are emergencies and not get agents to bring tourist to come here and buy the blood.

Won't have shortage then.

MegatonNev

Not worth the risk. Now hospital and clinics got higher chance covid +ve people walking around :(
Erm. Donation doesn't necessarily need to be at hospitals....

Mostly near or next to MRT stations ( which might be an indication of profitable the organisation is)

propertyinvestor40

So i got a call from blood bank asking me to go down and donate blood. Mine is O+ btw.
She told me the bank is running low.

I haven't been going for donations for a few years. Since they had a mishandling issue (few years back) and then some hoo-haa over blood sold to high class patients coming from overseas, i wasn't too pleased with them.

edmwers, can let me know if i should go down and do my part, or just ignore them?
Maybe go down will tio omicron wor

razorlala

If u can already mention that the food donated is to the best effort basis, why not this? Why does it only apply for organisations and not individuals? When people investigate how come he is HIV+ and realised he didn't declare, whether on purpose or not only he knows, how is it the organisation's fault for reporting about this case when the person is equally in the wrong for not realizing his mistake at first?
the problem is, blood donation declaration is not best effort basis. you will be held accountable if you declare wrongly.

food donation, you will not be held accountable.

how is it the organisation's fault for reporting about this case when the person is equally in the wrong for not realizing his mistake at first?
i got say its organisation fault? i only say its HSA's responsibility to ensure all blood donated are usable, and to discard those that arent. and at most inform donor about it.
but instead, they are publishing the donor's face and name all over news outlets and social media and making them crimnals.

how would you feel if you donated food, then the charity organisation go n publish your name and face bigbig on news n social media bcoz the food you donated is rotten/contaminated? or to be charged like a crimnal bcoz the food you donated are rotten?

razorlala

Expected something like this from u lol
of course. only not smart ppl will donate blood.

later get held accountable with ur name n face all over the news just bcoz u want to do a charitable act.

same for adopting animals.
adopt an animal still need agree to their clause. they can anytime request to standby animal n you have to abide.

occifer

of course. only not smart ppl will donate blood.

later get held accountable with ur name n face all over the news just bcoz u want to do a charitable act.

same for adopting animals.
adopt an animal still need agree to their clause. they can anytime request to standby animal n you have to abide.

I saw your name and I already know wat will be said lol

razorlala

I think... In US, they actually ban gay and bisexual from donating blood...

Hong Kong I think they don't allow you to donate if you engage in unsafe sexual activities...

So these two countries are more direct, directly ban
got the same ridiculous sai as here anot? put ur name n face big big on news outlet bcoz u had buttsecks n donated blood? or false declare stuff, intention or not, also make you accountable n put ur name n face big big for whole world to shame?

MegatonNev

got the same ridiculous sai as here anot? put ur name n face big big on news outlet bcoz u had buttsecks n donated blood? or false declare stuff, intention or not, also make you accountable n put ur name n face big big for whole world to shame?
Not that I heard of...

But then SG is spectacularly different from other countries...

Albedo

Should keep the blood for sinkies in need when there are emergencies and not get agents to bring tourist to come here and buy the blood.

Won't have shortage then.

If only MOH got as much sense as you.

doratch

So i got a call from blood bank asking me to go down and donate blood. Mine is O+ btw.

I haven't been going for donations for a few years. Since they had a mishandling issue (few years back) and then some hoo-haa over blood sold to high class patients coming from overseas, i wasn't too pleased with them.

edmwers, can let me know if i should go down and do my part, or just ignore them?

https://redcross.sg/#bloodstock
I think they need O- more.

magna_strike

the problem is, blood donation declaration is not best effort basis. you will be held accountable if you declare wrongly.

food donation, you will not be held accountable.

i got say its organisation fault? i only say its HSA's responsibility to ensure all blood donated are usable, and to discard those that arent. and at most inform donor about it.
but instead, they are publishing the donor's face and name all over news outlets and social media and making them crimnals.

how would you feel if you donated food, then the charity organisation go n publish your name and face bigbig on news n social media bcoz the food you donated is rotten/contaminated? or to be charged like a crimnal bcoz the food you donated are rotten?
Problem is, why do u think blood donation declaration is not best effort based? U think this one is an McQ test without any consequences if u anyhow tick the answers? Hello this is covered by law ok to protect innocents from receiving tainted blood, and I should say this bugger got lucky and walked away in the end with a discharge without jailtime even though he the one in the wrong here. Your way of thinking about hsa just scolding them and letting them walk away is too naive and simplistic a view that will lead to people abusing it and wasting resources. Whether or not it's juicy enough to be a news article item cannot be controlled unless the G really wants it to be known to warn the rest to wake up their idea.

razorlala

Problem is, why do u think blood donation declaration is not best effort based? U think this one is an McQ test without any consequences if u anyhow tick the answers? Hello this is covered by law ok to protect innocents from receiving tainted blood, and I should say this bugger got lucky and walked away in the end with a discharge without jailtime even though he the one in the wrong here. Your way of thinking about hsa just scolding them and letting them walk away is too naive and simplistic a view that will lead to people abusing it and wasting resources. Whether or not it's juicy enough to be a news article item cannot be controlled unless the G really wants it to be known to warn the rest to wake up their idea.
its not best effort basis because blood donors are being held accountable for the blood they donated, with their "declarations". and can have their name n face plastered across news outlets along with their lifestyle choices.

Your way of thinking about hsa just scolding them and letting them walk away is too naive and simplistic a view that will lead to people abusing it and wasting resources. Whether or not it's juicy enough to be a news article item cannot be controlled unless the G really wants it to be known to warn the rest to wake up their idea. Whether or not it's juicy enough to be a news article item cannot be controlled unless the G really wants it to be known to warn the rest to wake up their idea.
you talk so much, then dont agree with letting ppl "walk away" and will lead to people "abusing it and wasting resources" further reinforce that it is not best effort basis.
my definition of "best effort basis" is like donating food. Donors just advised not to donate spoilt/rotten food, and the donors just do it per their best effort. if they stil donating spoilt/rotten food, they also will not be held accountable. its the charity organisation's responsibility to ensure the food is consumable, and if donated food is found to be of unacceptable standard, the donors will not be held accountable for them. there are also no laws created to protect the charity organisations from receiving subpar quality food. the donor's name and face also will not be plastered across news outlets for the world to shame, and they wont be having troubles with the law.
unlike HSA and our singapore law, who holds donors accountable for the blood donations.

care to elaborate your definition of "best effort basis"?

Whether or not it's juicy enough to be a news article item cannot be controlled
are you born yesterday? you special kind of gullible sia

appleorange_

If the blood used to charged to our locals, or anyone who is staying in SG, i am all for it.

But not when they used our blood for those tourists and then come and ask us for more blood.

I want to help save people, not fatten someone else pocket.

so foreigners r not people?

Hafi

I am curious TS are you vaxxed?

MegatonNev

where is the news article to substantiate this? Not trolling, I really want to know
https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/health/moh-puts-a-stop-to-foreign-patient-referral-contracts2018 singapore foreign patient referral hospital

i tried very hard to google out this link compared to 2019 2020 using the same keywords ...
seem llke the google search engine get overwhelmed with pandemic related medical webpages
i mentioned the keywords to google search about 3-4 times back in older thread in this forum

As above..

Darknights

anyway, is it true that if you are a blood donor, in the event that you need blood, you'll be given the priority?
if that's the case, i don't see why not...? and also help your body refresh the old circulating blood?

Hiling care

I don't donate anymore for 2 reasons.

1) I used to piak cheekons. I think if u piak cheekons cannot donate based on declaration.
2) They can use my blood to give to FTs and PRs that steal jobs

I will only donate if my blood is only given to true blue sinkies.

Krabs.

anyway, is it true that if you are a blood donor, in the event that you need blood, you'll be given the priority?
if that's the case, i don't see why not...? and also help your body refresh the old circulating blood?
not true , because sg don't have people who need and cannot get .....

mojojo

Wow ts, ur blood type is super rare type
Try to help if can?
Can save lives leh

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.