Just got a call from blood bank, should go down?

Should one go for blood donation?

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

mgx-alander

U O- or O+

O+ bery healthy, O- critical

Dun think they call ppl when its green

sizzy6

tell them must account and tag your blood to inform you who is taking your blood

MegatonNev

Well, donating is a choice also not force upon. You dw declare your lifestyle then dont donate lo. Brudder cny eat too much bakkwa then heaty ah, mai so angsty leh
But lifestyle also matters to a blood donor..
It's not targeting at grey one... They also asked if you had paid sex or sex with more than one partner regardless of gender....

And now donors pool are getting lesser with more people getting inked...

Zinna

Also before covid the blood bank auntie always call me every 3 months to go down. Now covid 2 years liao no more blood bank auntie call moi, so never go down liao :s13:

xiao.xin

But lifestyle also matters to a blood donor..
It's not targeting at grey one... They also asked if you had paid sex or sex with more than one partner regardless of gender....

And now donors pool are getting lesser with more people getting inked...
I think lifestyle matters to the donor as with the blood bank matters to the quality of blood.

I mean, yes, they can still donate but if eventually translate to higher cost due to the need for additional testing for virus then kinda defeat the purpose right? Since the cause will be passed down to the end user also.

Krabs.

same as TS ... i stopped going after the news about public hos getting agent to bring in medical tourist

only went once during pandemic when not as likely got medical tourist ... now all the VTL open liao i dun think i'll do it again

i don't feel happy the agent get commission as part of the system to bring in profits while i get only milo and biscuit

*edit*
i attached the news article 3 post below @ post #90

jgrader

Whether sell to atas foreigner or sinkie dishwasher ...u are saving life n reaping good karma

But wait...no such things as karma hor

Krabs.

I've not heard about this. if you're still able to find could you share the article? thx
https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/health/moh-puts-a-stop-to-foreign-patient-referral-contracts2018 singapore foreign patient referral hospital

i tried very hard to google out this link compared to 2019 2020 using the same keywords ...
seem llke the google search engine get overwhelmed with pandemic related medical webpages
i mentioned the keywords to google search about 3-4 times back in older thread in this forum

MegatonNev

same as TS ... i stopped going after the news about public hos getting agent to bring in medical tourist

only went once during pandemic when not as likely got medical tourist ... now all the VTL open liao i dun think i'll do it again

i don't feel happy the agent get commission as part of the system to bring in profits while i get only milo and biscuit
You also get 100+ (or is it h2o?)... :s13:

Edit: Oh ya, also got badge and soft toys?
:s13: :s13:

MegatonNev

I think lifestyle matters to the donor as with the blood bank matters to the quality of blood.

I mean, yes, they can still donate but if eventually translate to higher cost due to the need for additional testing for virus then kinda defeat the purpose right? Since the cause will be passed down to the end user also.
I think they also use the blood for studies...
So the higher cost one might goes to scientific studies.....

tankgunner

Mentor
Few years back, there was some severe shortage in our blood bank, then some report came out saying they will review and give higher priority to locals instead. It was about that time i realised that gov has been taking our free donated blood and using for their beloved medical tourists. Until we had run low.
Knn. This is really jiaklat sia.

Senna Wales

Last time I tried to donate blood, they told me cannot find any veins, so cannot donate.

razorlala

Well, donating is a choice also not force upon. You dw declare your lifestyle then dont donate lo. Brudder cny eat too much bakkwa then heaty ah, mai so angsty leh
abuden. you are the 1 trying to defend the blood donation procedures. i am the 1 telling ppl how stupid it is.

which leads right back to my original comment.
"Donate for fug? Ltr u get arrested cause u forgot to report certain stuff like that gay guy who had buttsecks"

ownself wan do charity then later newspaper put ur name n face big big because you forgot about certain stuff you did in your life.
ppl who dont know all these go donate blood still understandable.
those who know of all these still go donate is really a special kind of not smart.

Albedo

U O- or O+

O+ bery healthy, O- critical

Dun think they call ppl when its green

Moi O+.
Think because O+ is everybody can use, so since they cannot find a particular blood group, just target those O+ can liao.

razorlala

Doesn't matter, as long as u endanger another person's health, u are liable. If the world is full of people who thinks like u, sibei jialat.
Then pay ppl for their blood.

You donate food then nt good, the charity organisation go sue you and your face plaster all over news outlets n social media how you feel.

Ppl who donate blood really stupid

magna_strike

Then pay ppl for their blood.

You donate food then nt good, the charity organisation go sue you and your face plaster all over news outlets n social media how you feel.

Ppl who donate blood really stupid
Eh hello, food is food, this is about life and death, two different things. Somemore the example u seem to love quoting so much about the gay person who got in the news, u know he is HIV positive and yet still donate? This one really kiam pa gaolat gaolat.

razorlala

Eh hello, food is food, this is about life and death, two different things. Somemore the example u seem to love quoting so much about the gay person who got in the news, u know he is HIV positive and yet still donate? This one really kiam pa gaolat gaolat.
food is also life and death. its the charity organisation to ensure food donated can be used for consumption. the person donating just do it on a best effort basis and shouldnt be held liable.

likewise a person should not be held accountable just because they did not declare certain stuff before donating blood. its HSA's responsibility to ensure the blood can be used, and if not, to discard it. and at most give a warning or reminder to the donor.

but no, HSA will publish your name and face big big for the whole world to shame you for doing a charity act.

forgot that case about hiv+ blood donor. he know he hiv positive before or after donating blood? iirc its bcoz they detected his blood donated is hiv+, then question him, he realise he did some gay buttsecks that wasnt declared.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.