I am an average sinkie. I don't own a car. HDB fully paid. I don't have credit cards. I have cash and I am happy. Cos I am debt free.

smellyfish

I also happy. Got mortgage but equity in the properties more than cover the debt so can downgrade to fully paid hdb if need be. Paying super low interest these few years. The rental property is cash positive every month.

cs2018

need to leverage to enjoy more, u cant brg hard money to grave la, jus hoot car n house that u love if bank can lend u

thretiredDad

If big ticket items like car fully paid. Then don't need alot. Good if you have some little investments that can provide you with recurring income. No matter how small is better than nothing. Money out no money in cannot. Some have 2 properties. Some drive taksi few hours a day to pass time. Some do trading. You gotta find your own way.
It is cheaper to take grab and gojek
instead of buying a car

Roundtreex

No one cares lolz

Example of jelly statement
low SES - hdb best , gcb and condo sucks
No car - car sux, bus mrt walk best

sparespares

just my 2c but its good to have debt such as mortgage debt allows you to build more wealth and compound wealth earlier & faster. Most low interest non callable debt are pretty good. As far as car wise I agree with him.
when I started investing when I was 17 in jc this was kind of my goal as well, working, saving, investing sort of became my hobby/life . When I was around 20 late last year I had accumulated about 100k but at the same time I still felt empty, Honestly the depression started setting in and I started asking myself if this goal really made me happy. I realized there are other goals more important to me than gaining wealth and retiring early (I thought retiring in 30s and playing video games/watching anime would make me happy). But I realized I didn't care about that and there were other things that would make me happy like being myself, finding a partner and settling down. It would be nice to retire early but for me its no longer a priority in my life. I find myself focusing on improving myself starting late last year. Basic things like hygiene, skincare, eating healthier, exercise and mental health.

yes, the key is getting your priorities in life sorted out.

The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.

Captain Muthu

Happy work?
yes, you were happy but will it give you satisfaction
Hmm, I think happy and satisfaction is a personal definition bah. Different people have different interpretation of what it means to be happy and/or satisfied.

Hope you find your happiness! Good luck!

Vincentlow82

Quite dumb leh.

If governments are printing so much money, why are we being asked to save money? :o

hamster-33.gif

codemasterguy

Retirement is overrated. The quality of life matters. If you retired and need to take bus or ride scooter..what's the point. That's not the point of retirement. Eventhough you managed to retire but you have FAILED to achieve a high quality of living. It's not the destination but the quality of the ride. If you cannot spend lavishly and have a good time in retirement, you have reached the destination without much purpose.

For that bbfa, to "retire" early means he can choose what he likes to do, in this case playing games with freedom. For him, its quite good quality of living.

codemasterguy

I know a bbfa in his mid 30
Accumulated a $300,000 portfolio
with annual dividend of 3.5%
control his spending to $500 each month
And proudly declared he has retired
He has good start. But after reading he play game everyday, soon or later, his peer will catch up with him.
His peer would have family also 300k in the bank, while he has only list of games collection.

When he has good start, the more actually he has to be more active.
Either he grow more his portfolio, by setting up business for example; or grow his social/network area.
Join social events, and get to know more people.

Another alternative is to find his dream job. If he does not have any issue with money, he won't be "threatened" by his boss and office politics. He might end up doing very well in career, because he is bold to take decision in office.

Gattaca1812

I know a bbfa in his mid 30
Accumulated a $300,000 portfolio
with annual dividend of 3.5%
control his spending to $500 each month
And proudly declared he has retired
Inflation will eat into his $500. But to each his own. More importantly he is happy.

thretiredDad

For that bbfa, to "retire" early means he can choose what he likes to do, in this case playing games with freedom. For him, its quite good quality of living.
This group of people
during schooling like to play game
lazy to do homework
so parent always scold them
and so they decided when they grow up
they want to retire quick
to play game everyday

jack-320

Well it is true that most sinkies love to be in debt

but once you are stuck in the debt trap

Have fun getting out

thretiredDad

Well it is true that most sinkies love to be in debt

but once you are stuck in the debt trap

Have fun getting out
if your debt is in hdb
Easy to get out
just sell
Confirmed 80% with profit
downgrade and stay in Punggol

benedium

The amount u spend is the cost it takes to give u peace of mind. Spend more means got more issues. If u have to spend 5k to get what costs others only 50, then u got issues and are inefficient. If u can get high on $70 durian, why need to buy $170 durian?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.