I am an average sinkie. I don't own a car. HDB fully paid. I don't have credit cards. I have cash and I am happy. Cos I am debt free.

Forever84

When I was young I also suka suka spend money accumulate debt like to fake it till make it, now feeling the pinch because of all the impulse decisions made in the past. Do I regret it? No. Did I learn from it? Yes. So long as conscience clear, at night can sleep good eat good you don't need worry too much about anything else.

This is an example of poor money management

thretiredDad

When I was young I also suka suka spend money accumulate debt like to fake it till make it, now feeling the pinch because of all the impulse decisions made in the past. Do I regret it? No. Did I learn from it? Yes. So long as conscience clear, at night can sleep good eat good you don't need worry too much about anything else.
When i was young
i was saving aggressively
i felt i missed a lot of fun

benedium

I can't imagine a life where you have never lived in private property, owned a car, have credit cards and have the means to pay and be debt free.....TS is not the average Singaporean but a low SES one with low goals in life, when you set the goal post low, you are definitely able to clear it....but what a loser lifestyle.
Only if u like always being in competition with others. And even if u think u are winner, someone else better thinks u loser too. Right? So why bother?

Vulpix

credit card is good debt if you know how to use it
The thing is I don't even have any special rules. I just make sure I don't spend more than the required amount for max rebates, don't spend more than my salary, so far so good. Not a financial expert or anything. Still got lots of rebates.

xiaosinsinful

Life is short.

If you think not spending anything when you’re able to walk, have energy and focus is great then so be it lo

For me I rather spend $10k today to travel then to spend $10k to travel when I retired
Hard to balance unless you earning 100-200kPA type

will you spend 10k today to travel if you earning 3k type? Maybe doable if you still single

next, that 10k you spend today is worth alot more in 30 years. Meaning you can retire earlier/in more comfort

benedium

Hard to balance unless you earning 100-200kPA type

will you spend 10k today to travel if you earning 3k type? Maybe doable if you still single

next, that 10k you spend today is worth alot more in 30 years. Meaning you can retire earlier/in more comfort
Maybe first have to define where our personal comfort line is in the future. But most likely inaccurate cos alot can change in the future including ourselves. Moral of the story is don't need to think so much.

Ch3tah_39

brainwashed to pay and pay, vote and vote
Lol dont pay fof place to stay, food, electricity, water bill etc then what?

Ah can stay with parent , hoping they just change name and give it to you? Or alot ppl also will buy but rent whole flat out and stay with parent? Rental 100% keep :p not bad idea

xiaosinsinful

Maybe first have to define where our personal comfort line is in the future. But most likely inaccurate cos alot can change in the future including ourselves. Moral of the story is don't need to think so much.
“No need to think so much” :s13: :s13:

ok , I know in 30-40 years time who will be the one pickup cardboard at the side of the road already.

don’t complain it’s Govt fault

hachi

When i was young
i was saving aggressively
i felt i missed a lot of fun
Must be a balance... Don't keep saving miss the fun. During my younger days. I like to ride superbike.

Yes a brand new one is always nice. Doesn't it mean I miss the fun if I bought 2nd hand. No, still able to 299kph on the straight at less than 50% cost.

kage

I know a bbfa in his mid 30
Accumulated a $300,000 portfolio
with annual dividend of 3.5%
control his spending to $500 each month
And proudly declared he has retired
Why not buy a resale 4rm hdb for maybe $400k

I am sure he have CPF OA, maybe $50K and put $250k on the house and take just $100k loan. $50k cash as emergency fund or continue invest for dividend.

Estimated Loan Amount : $100,000
Repayment Period (In Years) : 25
Interest Rate of Loan : 2.60%

The estimated monthly instalment^ for your loan is $454

Rent out 1 common and master rooms for $1800 before MOP and $2500/mth after MOP. Way better then his $500/mth now.

Alternatively, he and parents move to his resale HDB and rent out parents whole house no need wait MOP.

He will have $1300 before MOP and $2000 after MOP rental cash to spend after monthly mortgage.

questsohai

Life will be at a standstill all we think about is property or car fully paid, no debts & money in the bank :cool:

windwaver

CC can be made to good use.

Got to be self discipline in life anyway.

PongRareRare

Retirement is overrated. The quality of life matters. If you retired and need to take bus or ride scooter..what's the point. That's not the point of retirement. Eventhough you managed to retire but you have FAILED to achieve a high quality of living. It's not the destination but the quality of the ride. If you cannot spend lavishly and have a good time in retirement, you have reached the destination without much purpose.
Not everyone wants to spend lavishly. Some retire to have time to do what they want. It may not be some expensive stuff. Just have time for him to explore his hobby like art or music?

PARKRANGER

I know a bbfa in his mid 30
Accumulated a $300,000 portfolio
with annual dividend of 3.5%
control his spending to $500 each month
And proudly declared he has retired

Jialat this guy never plan for any headwinds in the future

Currently he thinks enough
What if his parents need medical assistance
Waste his life doing nothing like live to eat or gaming

xiaosinsinful

Retirement is overrated. The quality of life matters. If you retired and need to take bus or ride scooter..what's the point. That's not the point of retirement. Eventhough you managed to retire but you have FAILED to achieve a high quality of living. It's not the destination but the quality of the ride. If you cannot spend lavishly and have a good time in retirement, you have reached the destination without much purpose.
his type of retirement $500/month can it really be called “retirement”?

what type of retirement would that be?
Everyday eat cai png with 1 veg?
no overseas holiday
no entertainment or budget for anything discretionary

why would you even consider retirement if you are constantly worrying about running out of money?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.