I am an average sinkie. I don't own a car. HDB fully paid. I don't have credit cards. I have cash and I am happy. Cos I am debt free.

Vulpix

I don't understand this fear of credit cards in edmw.

Firstclass1188

I can't imagine a life where you have never lived in private property, owned a car, have credit cards and have the means to pay and be debt free.....TS is not the average Singaporean but a low SES one with low goals in life, when you set the goal post low, you are definitely able to clear it....but what a loser lifestyle.

Vulpix

People with poor money management skills will need to fear credit card
But how is it that hard siah. Don't spend beyond your means is the rule I follow, no complex Excel sheets, and I've been able to get thousands in rebates.

thretiredDad

But how is it that hard siah. Don't spend beyond your means is the rule I follow, no complex Excel sheets, and I've been able to get thousands in rebates.

credit card is good debt if you know how to use it

Mr Duck

Can sell your house migrate to Thailand withdraw all your cpf to cash. Buy a house there and keep an elephant there also can.

thretiredDad

Can sell your house migrate to Thailand withdraw all your cpf to cash. Buy a house there and keep an elephant there also can.
Why Thailand?
have you ask your wife and children?
your children learn thai?
study international school In thai?

hound297

I know a bbfa in his mid 30
Accumulated a $300,000 portfolio
with annual dividend of 3.5%
control his spending to $500 each month
And proudly declared he has retired

That works to a payout of 10500 per year which is too 寒酸 for me.
Really need to clap for him.

I need at least $15k.
$1k per month = $12k per year.
Left over $3k year on year accumulutive fund for non-routine expenditure e.g. pc spoil, handphone spoil, running shoes worn out, clothes thorn (especially those ippt tag pins keep poking holes in my clothes) and maybe 1 trip to Japan every 3 years.

WifeEnjoyer

When I was young I also suka suka spend money accumulate debt like to fake it till make it, now feeling the pinch because of all the impulse decisions made in the past. Do I regret it? No. Did I learn from it? Yes. So long as conscience clear, at night can sleep good eat good you don't need worry too much about anything else.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.