Singapore president rejects Nagaenthran’s bid for clemency

wisewise

This is true. I hardly see PAP garment appealing for her own citizen who commits crime in another country. I guess only incompetent Government do this trick to earn political points by showing how caring the Government is towards its own criminals in foreign land.
if one wanna commit crimes, they better know what’s waiting for them, get caught liao jjww, simi ** law too high handed, simi human rights, knn talk human rights with criminals, those NGOs are really eat too full.

Kunkka

Death penalty is the best deterrent method available to men.

If you don’t come here with drugs you live.
If you bring drugs here you die.

Very elegant and simplistic way for even Low IQ people to understand. We even have the courtesy to announce this message on the flight here.
Its not the best deterrent. But it sure is thr harshest punishment. Being Low iq actually wirks agaunst them since they are less able to provide authorities with information and cannot get certificate of cooperation to escape death row.

Loser

Singapore authorities have rejected yet another petition for clemency submitted on behalf of Nagaenthran K Dharmalingam, leaving him without further legal avenue to appeal against his looming execution in the city-state.

Benny Lee, the principal private secretary to Singapore President Halimah Yacob, said the petition dated Dec 3, 2021 had been denied.

“Please be informed that the position, as communicated in our letter dated June 1, 2020, remains unchanged,” he said in a letter to Nagaenthran’s mother, Panchalai Supermaniam, on March 31 – two days after the Court of Appeal dismissed Nagaenthran’s appeal against his death sentence.

“The sentence of death therefore stands.”

Nagaenthran, now 34, was arrested in 2009 for trafficking a small amount of heroin into Singapore, which has some of the world’s toughest drug laws.

He was handed the death sentence the following year.
Supporters say Nagaenthran has an IQ of 69 – a level recognised as a disability – and was coerced into committing the crime.

He was scheduled to be hanged in November last year but the verdict sparked criticism due to concerns he has intellectual disabilities, with the European Union and British billionaire Richard Branson among those condemning the decision.
Yang di-Pertuan Agong Sultan Abdullah Sultan Ahmad Shah and Prime Minister Ismail Sabri Yaakob were among Malaysian government leaders who had also written to Singapore authorities asking for leniency on behalf of Nagaenthran.

The 2020 letter referred to by Lee stated that Halimah, “after due consideration of the petition and on the advice of the Cabinet”, had decided that Nagaenthran’s death sentence should stand.

On March 29, the Singapore Court of Appeal dismissed his appeal against his sentence, calling it an abuse of the court process.

https://www.malaysianow.com/news/20...sident-rejects-nagaenthrans-bid-for-clemency/
Almost hari raya still kena forced to deny clemency.

Harimau how to have a huat new year now with some blood on her hands?

BrOwnTeddy

Singapore authorities have rejected yet another petition for clemency submitted on behalf of Nagaenthran K Dharmalingam, leaving him without further legal avenue to appeal against his looming execution in the city-state.

Benny Lee, the principal private secretary to Singapore President Halimah Yacob, said the petition dated Dec 3, 2021 had been denied.

“Please be informed that the position, as communicated in our letter dated June 1, 2020, remains unchanged,” he said in a letter to Nagaenthran’s mother, Panchalai Supermaniam, on March 31 – two days after the Court of Appeal dismissed Nagaenthran’s appeal against his death sentence.

“The sentence of death therefore stands.”

Nagaenthran, now 34, was arrested in 2009 for trafficking a small amount of heroin into Singapore, which has some of the world’s toughest drug laws.

He was handed the death sentence the following year.
Supporters say Nagaenthran has an IQ of 69 – a level recognised as a disability – and was coerced into committing the crime.

He was scheduled to be hanged in November last year but the verdict sparked criticism due to concerns he has intellectual disabilities, with the European Union and British billionaire Richard Branson among those condemning the decision.
Yang di-Pertuan Agong Sultan Abdullah Sultan Ahmad Shah and Prime Minister Ismail Sabri Yaakob were among Malaysian government leaders who had also written to Singapore authorities asking for leniency on behalf of Nagaenthran.

The 2020 letter referred to by Lee stated that Halimah, “after due consideration of the petition and on the advice of the Cabinet”, had decided that Nagaenthran’s death sentence should stand.

On March 29, the Singapore Court of Appeal dismissed his appeal against his sentence, calling it an abuse of the court process.

https://www.malaysianow.com/news/20...sident-rejects-nagaenthrans-bid-for-clemency/
Jjww.

狗头铡 him liao lah!!!!!!

BrOwnTeddy

Zun bo. U privy to details or anyhow pom?
Yes. That one is zun.

Processing of smuggled drugs is usually sent to HSA for processing to determine the exact amount of drugs logged into the charge sheet by AGC.

U see one kiloblock of peh hoon doesn't mean that one is automatically 1kg of peh hoon.

This simpur ting oso dunno?

BrOwnTeddy

When those criminals stop committing crime

Cops always be coppin'.
Criminals always be criminalin'

Wanna change people? Even after 2022 years when Jesus supposed "died for the sins of people" also no use. 2022 years later, crime had persisted.

Dun bother if the Son of God failed. A mere mortal will fail faceplant his face so hard on the pavement that his nose, lips and eyes will disappear.

Loser

1) Eid is NOT new year
2) Drug smugglers = die

End of discussion.

If u wanna SJW, at least dun sound like an idiot k?
Lol happy hari new raya to you too bang.

Drug smuggling = die still have option to grant clemency by president that's why the appeal in the first place.

End of discussion may you huat in the hari new year bang.

Sammychan

Yes. That one is zun.

Processing of smuggled drugs is usually sent to HSA for processing to determine the exact amount of drugs logged into the charge sheet by AGC.

U see one kiloblock of peh hoon doesn't mean that one is automatically 1kg of peh hoon.

This simpur ting oso dunno?
Ok can i quote you? If anything mata look for you ok? You got study law?

RadioAddict

Its not the best deterrent. But it sure is thr harshest punishment. Being Low iq actually wirks agaunst them since they are less able to provide authorities with information and cannot get certificate of cooperation to escape death row.
Ok then what is better way to deter Low iq people from becoming drug mule?

Kunkka

It isn't effective in your point of view because you still see people smuggling drugs into Singapore from time to time. I wouldn't agree with you using ineffective but rather it is not foolproof. Desperate people will still bring in drugs for the monetary benefits. But with DP it deters people with such ill-intention from carrying out this job.
Death penalty is the ultimate price. If u still have to hang means it isnt effective. Capitalism ensure desperation is there. But all this is supply side, there is nothing to quell demand side. And justice system should be held to higher standards than the public. Killing someone for non violent crime is no diff than how saudi killed jamal khashoggi

1000fist

Death penalty is the ultimate price. If u still have to hang means it isnt effective. Capitalism ensure desperation is there. But all this is supply side, there is nothing to quell demand side.
Sorry I just don't get what you mean. Capitalism is just an economic system. People work hard to have a better future. People who doesn't work hard lives simple. The very reason why people traffic is for the fast cash. This is not working hard but working for greed.

Kunkka

Sorry I just don't get what you mean. Capitalism is just an economic system. People work hard to have a better future. People who doesn't work hard lives simple. The very reason why people traffic is for the fast cash. This is not working hard but working for greed.
Capitalism thrives on inequality. Also i wont call risking your life for 1k greed. Sounds more like desperation that those making more will never empathise.

If u result to killing to achieve your outcome and it still occurs. Maybe the ultimate price as deterrence aint working.

Lemon_gaga

There are so many lives need to be helped. Dun understand why just one's life need people like president, sultan to fight for it. There is law and order. The judge should have the final say. If everything also can be changed, then jut let president and sultan be the judge.

1000fist

There are so many lives need to be helped. Dun understand why just one's life need people like president, sultan to fight for it. There is law and order. The judge should have the final say. If everything also can be changed, then jut let president and sultan be the judge.
very simple. to score political points. shows how benevolent one is. use mouth to talk only. very simple way to score.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.