Theres a serious problem with your moderation

Towelie

all i did was voice my opinion on why tommy koh shut up when he was ambassador and i was banned for 3 days. what the hell is wrong with your moderation standards? simply infract and ban as you like?

this is outright abuse of authority. how is that comment trolling?

i think you guys are the real trolls here anyhow banning just the way you like.

and oh ya, protecting andy wong and many other things that arent even breaking your forum rules.

its getting from bad to worse. this is not even moderation. cant even voice our views or political beliefs? what is this? north korea? or your MR NG sph boss told u all to moderate this way?

Towelie

in what way does me saying tommy koh forcing his opinion upon us constitute as trolling?

we are entitled to our views and its not in any way seditious. im not asking people to take up arms, or fight against a certain nationality, race or religion.

tommy koh did nth in his official capacity when he could voice out many things against the govt and whatever societal norms that were controversial. he kept his mouth shut all the time until now in retirement mode he started voicing stuff to earn karma points. thats solely my opinion on him. an observation on many PAP older guards and officials like that philip yeo guy. purely my pov and whats wrong?

this is ridiculous. it was bad before. now this place is just a place for pro-pap-ganda where u cant even voice something different from the "official" govt stance.

Towelie

and just pointing out another thing in another thread which kumar22 mentioned and vijay "liked" his post. talking about using **** to refer to india indians being wrong and kumar calling some of them out at the same time for boorish behaviours which i witnessed myself, compared to most local indians.

meaning vijay and the moderation team agree that using "india indians" is ok. while **** is not. i think some of the posts were blocked and warnings, or even points issued even when this "india indian, or indian foreigner"term is used. so now u cant call a spade a spade and u cant call it a tool for scooping sand either?

like me pressing lift buttons for them and they came in without a word of thanks. like u are their humble subjects and beneath them and them behaving like we owe them a living. granted not all but a sizeable number.

we also call out china chinese sometimes for being rude and boorish or behaving like self entitled pricks as do locals. as we do to any others. and we also call them tiongs. then "ang mors" also slightly having a negative connotation to it. while honkie or sinkie also not very favourable isnt it? and kwei lou, gaijin. u want to ban, then ban all these terms and every derogatory term and vulgarity.

**** is nothing defamatory, its not even like calling them f heads or coconut heads. u want to talk about using the term for what it is but u guys will still block the post and issue points govt will still issue points for pofma. even when its just an opinion in a debate.

and i certainly believe referring foreigner indians as india indians or indians or **** will still net points. so u mods or admins are just liking the post coz it sounds politically right, but in reality u would still have awarded points no matter what, given the hypocritical nature of moderating standards now being far worse than before.

u just want to be politically right, adhere to govts propaganda, dont allow talking bad of foreigners and being sjw friendly thats all.

why not just put forth everything that is banned? no criticizing of govt, govt policies, govt officials, point of views that differ from govt‘s stance? also no name calling, no heated debates, no use of negative terms. everyone should just pepper their posts with rainbows, sunshine and toxic positivity?

just state this upfront and post it as admin sticker notes then no one will flout the rules, or whoever disagrees can go elsewhere

Kumar22

You either allow political discussion here or you don't, rather simple really.

If you allow, then you must expect disagreeable views to your own or even mainstream - mainstream here being the majority opinion of members. If they are pro-PAP then expect anti-govt sentiments even bordering on hatred (but not violence). If it's pro-opposition majority then we have to accept those who like and adore the PAP to spread their crap (my view).

If the mods and admin cannot accept this, then stop all political discussion. You cannot moderate on bits and pieces you like or dislike. Politicians roles have a tremendous impact on lives of ordinary members. They definitely want to express their views on such actions and express it in the strongest terms possible.
I may not like him, but what Minister Shanmugam said about political views is spot on.

You can call him a fool, stupid and the like but not corrupt (you can if have evidence and prepared to produce it either to authorities or if faced with a lawsuit) and accuse them of criminality without evidence.
Everything else is kosher.

Moderators should be briefed on how to follow this very simple suggestion by the Minister of Home Affairs and Law, no less.

With that in mind, you either allow or disallow - it's as simple as that. Just need to stay within what the Minister said.

No need for you to come here with lectures on morals and forum etiquettes
You so concerned with trivial stuff and personal takes on matters that you come down hard upon when there isn't a need.

But when you break the Law, which you 100% did in revealing my email address to an outsider, what you did, quickly lock the thread and deleted another. Smells of rank hypocrisy on your part.

Your mistakes we must take it our stride. Your mistakes we must keep quiet with this silly suggestion to limit usage of this sub-forum to feedback and appeals. What's the use of feedback when you don't own up to your mistakes and lock threads just because they highlight your deficiencies

Nobody forced you to moderate or administer this forum. You can't handle it, just quit. You're not indispensable even if you're employed by SPH. Say tomorrow touch wood you get covid and can't work, will SPH close down just because the admins and mods are unavailable?

It's so damn hard for your mods to apologise and admit their mistakes. Instead we get motherhood statements and a bevvy of excuses.

Towelie

"This message is awaiting moderator approval, and is invisible to normal visitors.
so what is this ****** going to do? report me to ISD and jail me?

when he was relevant in govt nv talk so much, now retire liao kpkb jjww"

now dont come and tell me, using the word ****** is wrong because thats not what i was banned for.

and just coz i call him a ******. or i view US and China are just evil in their own respective lights with their own agendas, will not put me in ISD or whichever list. u understand sarcasm? im just not happy this old geezer has been shutting up for decades, only to act saintly and come out to scold people now and prevent people from having an opinion.

just to make my point clear, i dont support russia nor china nor ukraine nor nato nor US.

but so what if i do support russia? what u gonna do? report me to tommy koh and he reports me to ISD?

and btw its probably zoosh that reported me. u just acted on his stupid report and gave me 3 points and banned me? what the hell? dont try to wriggle out of this

Kumar22

At 1 min 46 secs - to paraphrase Sir Humprey here. You either have political discussions or you don't. Same concept. If you do, then you must accept people who want to, will say things you don't like to hear or what the Govt doesn't like.

Kumar22

You donno meh, edmw moderators all possess LLBs and JDs and are more well-versed in legal matters than the DPP/AGC. In addition to their PhDs in Psychology and Linguistics... :s13:
I can give another example on what I'm sure the moderatimg team here won't allow.

When the Shah died (in 1980) , the new and current regime unlike those in the West said on hearing his death - the bloodsucker of the century has died..

Juxtapose that with some comments I've seen here, not expressing support for certain victims. events or deaths occurring elsewhere in the world.- they get an infarction. Why? Because the mod disagrees with them.
Why must they be compelled to sympathise when they feel they should not?

You may disagree with them, but that doesn't mean you stop them from expressing a view.
Especially when it's a controversial figure or politician. Now if ordinary people or a family member of that politician died and you said something untoward, perhaps, although I still think infarctions are inappropriate, it at least has some justification.

So what you have now is moderation by gut feeling, not by any reasonable standard or an appreciation of what constitutes freedom of speech (in so far as Singapore laws go).

And that's why today in this forum you see so many complaints. Not just from a select few as certain mods/admins try to infer but several other members who hardly ever post in here.

But unless the mods stop giving excuses and try to improve, things will just get from bad to worse. What more with external agencies pouring through certain posts.

Like the old saying goes, if you approach things like a hammer, every thing you see is a nail. (or to that effect).

Mecisteus

Just cut the WOT. :rolleyes:

You can always discuss politics in a civil manner. Learn from respected opposition politicians like CST and LTK. Don't follow the style of CSJ or LT.

I'm not sure what @Towelie posted. Judging by all his angry posts in this thread, I think he didn't post in a more civil manner.

In before I'm just a small boy to understand and I want to be a Mod.

Ottoke

I'm just gonna quote the offending post that the mod faulted you for.

knn ** sai.

like that we can also start a sch call it Harvard College (Singapore)

all these cecas only know how to cheat. and govt is telling us dont be xenophobic. what is this shet man

so what is this ****** going to do? report me to ISD and jail me?

when he was relevant in govt nv talk so much, now retire liao kpkb jjww

O

Towelie

I'm just gonna quote the offending post that the mod faulted you for.

O
i still dont get whats wrong. we use these as colloquail terms, while frowned upon at most, is nothing rly serious. u want to make this place squeaky clean? then ban everything. u see how others say tiongs here and there. do they refer to all? no right? same reasoning.

nxt time anyone so much as to mention tiong u better ban him for 3 days

so its indeed about ****. obviously **** pact has a part to play in why that lady came over to start the biz and took funds from temasek.

so u are offended with the "all cecas". then i should refrain from that and say "a sizable number of indian nationals" to make u all happy then

and now she is being investigated. why so are we now supposed to ignore the facts?

i was talking about why her school is so coincidentally name cambridge or whatever, in order to give the notion that its the top college in UK. (when it isnt)

as for the tommy koh matter i already explained above.

oh and btw these 2 mod wannabes are rly irritating like f. incessant buzzing houseflies

/T

Towelie

Just cut the WOT. :rolleyes:

You can always discuss politics in a civil manner. Learn from respected opposition politicians like CST and LTK. Don't follow the style of CSJ or LT.

I'm not sure what @Towelie posted. Judging by all his angry posts in this thread, I think he didn't post in a more civil manner.

In before I'm just a small boy to understand and I want to be a Mod.
i discuss the way i want, u might wish to start a cult and publish a handbook if u want followers

reddevil0728

i still dont get whats wrong. we use these as colloquail terms, while frowned upon at most, is nothing rly serious. u want to make this place squeaky clean? then ban everything. u see how others say tiongs here and there. do they refer to all? no right? same reasoning.

so its indeed about ****. obviously **** pact has a part to play in why that lady came over to start the biz and took funds from temasek.

so u are offended with the "all cecas". then i should refrain from that and say "a sizable number of indian nationals" to make u all happy then

and now she is being investigated. why so are we now supposed to ignore the facts?

i was talking about why her school is so coincidentally name cambridge or whatever, in order to give the notion that its the top college in UK. (when it isnt)

oh and btw these 2 mod wannabes are rly irritating like f. incessant buzzing houseflies

/T
When in Rome, do as the Romans do

IndianChief

When in Rome, do as the Romans do
This phrase is used to say follow the customs of a foreign land when you are visiting it.

Here is a Singaporean voicing his unhappiness in the moderation standards of Singaporeean Mods in a Singapore Forum .

Simi Rome nonsense.

obama-confused.gif

reddevil0728

This phrase is used to say follow the customs of a foreign land when you are visiting it.

Here is a Singaporean voicing his unhappiness in the moderation standards of Singaporeean Mods in a Singapore Forum .

Simi Rome nonsense.

obama-confused.gif
Layman it for you, it’s to follow what’s being deemed as the appropriate culture expected by the moderation team if you choose to patronise this forum.

IndianChief

Layman it for you, it’s to follow what’s being deemed as the appropriate culture expected by the moderation team if you choose to patronise this forum.
Sorry unlike you, i follow T&Cs of the forum. Not imaginary suvjective biasness and culture in moderators head which changes every single day depending on their mood. Show me the T&Cs and stickies which gives them the mandate to infract whatever they are infracting.

Last I remember mod also told you to stop poking your nose in every thread and not to be a troublemaker. How come you not following that culture expected by the mod?

reddevil0728

Sorry unlike you, i follow T&Cs of the forum. Not imaginary suvjective biasness and culture in moderators head which changes every single day depending on their mood. Show me the T&Cs and stickies which gives them the mandate to infract whatever they are infracting.

Last I remember mod also told you to stop poking your nose in every thread and not to be a troublemaker. How come you not following that culture expected by the mod?

My read of the TOS, but stand to be corrected by the moderation team.

6. Online Conduct
6.1 (a) You hereby undertake: to comply with this agreement, and such other notices or such guidelines that may be posted in the Site by SPH Media from time to time (which are hereby incorporated by reference into this Agreement)

The moderation team has already stated to not make offensive post, and like it or not, it is up to them to determine whether a post is offensive or not because they have been empowered to make that determination.

Calling for the mods to resign or for election is of no use if the owners of the forum determines that the moderation team did no wrong and it is just disgruntled forum users who think they can go with impunity are the ones making all the noses.

Also, in case you did not read the other post I mentioned, if you think I have posted something infractable by the said mod, just report my post. The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again (telling me what some mods said) and expecting different results (expecting that I should stop posting when somehow you can continue to post).

IndianChief

My read of the TOS, but stand to be corrected by the moderation team.

6. Online Conduct
6.1 (a) You hereby undertake: to comply with this agreement, and such other notices or such guidelines that may be posted in the Site by SPH Media from time to time (which are hereby incorporated by reference into this Agreement)

The moderation team has already stated to not make offensive post, and like it or not, it is up to them to determine whether a post is offensive or not because they have been empowered to make that determination.

Calling for the mods to resign or for election is of no use if the owners of the forum determines that the moderation team did no wrong and it is just disgruntled forum users who think they can go with impunity are the ones making all the noses.

Also, in case you did not read the other post I mentioned, if you think I have posted something infractable by the said mod, just report my post. The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again (telling me what some mods said) and expecting different results (expecting that I should stop posting when somehow you can continue to post).
What absolute rubbish is this. You should get banned for typing this nonsense.

Anyway I'm no longer going to respond to you cause you are wasting everyone's time posting nonsense and I don't want you to derail TS thread anymore.

Ottoke

/T
You don't like Tommy Koh, we geddit, and we respect that.

The main reason for the infraction is the inappropriate word used - "knn ** sai", "******" and the tone being used.

There are many ways to show your disagreement. But not like this.

O

Coffeelix

all i did was voice my opinion on why tommy koh shut up when he was ambassador and i was banned for 3 days. what the hell is wrong with your moderation standards? simply infract and ban as you like?

this is outright abuse of authority. how is that comment trolling?

i think you guys are the real trolls here anyhow banning just the way you like.

and oh ya, protecting andy wong and many other things that arent even breaking your forum rules.

its getting from bad to worse. this is not even moderation. cant even voice our views or political beliefs? what is this? north korea? or your MR NG sph boss told u all to moderate this way?
I thot Mr Khaw Boon Wan has been designated to head sph. Since then things here seem so “abnormally” regulated. When there is a new boss, he always likes to exert his presence with new things…

There was a video thread that showed boys bullying n hitting a boy and the bully shouting in M language. I simply state the fact of the M language used and received warning with 3 points.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.