Invitation to Collect VEP RFID TAG

myviowner

What's the real use of the VEP RFID?

I have registered for VEP since years ago (and updated again recently), but they didn't let me make appointment in the portal. I printed out and put in car.

If I don't use RFID toll lane, is it still necessary to get VEP RFID? Is it compulsory?

I found sellers like this, this and this in Shopee. But, these are TNG, not VEP, right?
Same here... registered for my past few rides and all either sold or scrapped. Yet still did not asked me go into JB for that VEP installation.

hwckhs

Yes. I received email from them after I asked that i have not yet had the VEP installed. They mentioned will send us via post. Like this, ok lor... haha
How did you pay them?

Do update us when you receive the RFID. It's much easier than to make appointment and go there.

hwsstx

2. RFID – it’s circuitry sticker you can
a) make an appointment (after receiving confirmation email from JPJ -- Malaysia’s LTA) with JB fitment center, to fix and pay 10RM for it or
b) buy it online for SGD$17.50 and fix it yourself at home at your convenience. I took this route.
c) activate the RFID in TnG app
I don't think you can buy VEP's RFID online.

BigMonkey

that is NOT VEP, that is TnG RFID (RM35) for toll payment only.

There is also mis information in your inital posting.

this is VEP sticker (RM10) which also have RFID circuitry which you can link to TnG e-wallet to pay for RC and toll. The sticker position of VEP (Centre behind windscreen) is also different from TnG RFID (either on left side front headlamp or on the front top left corner of windscreen, 5cm away from all forms of metal parts)

WhatsApp-Image-2019-09-2220-at-4.49.44-PM.jpeg

this is TnG RFID, see the difference?

220130-TNG-RFID-TAG-2.jpg

BigMonkey

What's the real use of the VEP RFID?

I have registered for VEP since years ago (and updated again recently), but they didn't let me make appointment in the portal. I printed out and put in car.

If I don't use RFID toll lane, is it still necessary to get VEP RFID? Is it compulsory?

I found sellers like this, this and this in Shopee. But, these are TNG, not VEP, right?

To check for any trafic fines/offence or incident against your vehicle.

VEP registration is complusory for any Singapore vehicle crossing border. Enforcement checks are not conducted thus equates to not having is also fine. period. But dun wait till they strictly enforce then register, sure will have a lot of pple karang kabok even thou all the information can be found on the internet.

if you don’t want to use the VEP RFID function then don’t link the tag id to your TnG e-wallet.

FandiAhmad17

their VEP site is a joke. it won't let me register a vehicle with my old number (I retained this number for new car), as there is an existing tag for my old car with that same number. there is an option to deactivate the tag due to vehicle being sold/ transferred, but clicking that only produces an error message.

ended up emailing them and they say have to bring all docs down to their counter to manually deregister the old tag, only then can re-register again that number on my current car to get a new tag. luckily I peeled off the old tag from the windscreen of my car before I sold it, as I suspected deregistering it from my name would be a pain.

I'm in the same situation with you. I changed to a new car and retained my old number. I emailed them twice but they didn't respond to me at all.

I have a road trip in June but I don't know what should I do now. Any suggestions?

8yUGqQo.jpg

the_dog

I'm in the same situation with you. I changed to a new car and retained my old number. I emailed them twice but they didn't respond to me at all.

I have a road trip in June but I don't know what should I do now. Any suggestions?

8yUGqQo.jpg

Bro, I just copy and paste what they replied to me below for your info :

"Please be informed, the VEP Tag is unique for each vehicle and it is not transferable. Peel-off the VEP RFID tag before sold/scrapped your vehicle is necessary. You are required to do the deregistration at the counter.

If you have not retain the same vehicle registration number. You are required to register your new vehicle by click 'Register a new vehicle' button. Then, you may book the appointment and collect the VEP RFID tag accordingly. During the collection, you may request at the counter for the previous/unused vehicle to be removed from your ownership in the VEP account.

But, if you retain the same vehicle registration number. You may walk in to the counter to do the deregistration process.
These are the mandatory documents your are required to bring along.
Please prepare hardcopies of all the mandatory documents listed below:
- NRIC and Passport copy
- Notice of Transfer Ownership Issued by LTA
After complete the de-registration, you may do the registration for your new vehicle via online and book the appointment to collect your VEP RFID tag for the new vehicle.
"

As you can see, you need to bring the car transfer docs to the "counter" for them to verify and deregister. I still dunno what counter they are referring to, as I drove past the previous VEP installation site and the tentages are all gone. So I'm also not sure where to go for this.

FandiAhmad17

Bro, I just copy and paste what they replied to me below for your info :

"Please be informed, the VEP Tag is unique for each vehicle and it is not transferable. Peel-off the VEP RFID tag before sold/scrapped your vehicle is necessary. You are required to do the deregistration at the counter.

If you have not retain the same vehicle registration number. You are required to register your new vehicle by click 'Register a new vehicle' button. Then, you may book the appointment and collect the VEP RFID tag accordingly. During the collection, you may request at the counter for the previous/unused vehicle to be removed from your ownership in the VEP account.

But, if you retain the same vehicle registration number. You may walk in to the counter to do the deregistration process.
These are the mandatory documents your are required to bring along.
Please prepare hardcopies of all the mandatory documents listed below:
- NRIC and Passport copy
- Notice of Transfer Ownership Issued by LTA
After complete the de-registration, you may do the registration for your new vehicle via online and book the appointment to collect your VEP RFID tag for the new vehicle.
"

As you can see, you need to bring the car transfer docs to the "counter" for them to verify and deregister. I still dunno what counter they are referring to, as I drove past the previous VEP installation site and the tentages are all gone. So I'm also not sure where to go for this.

Thanks a lot for the info bro! I already peeled the VEP RFIG tag off my previous car before I sold it.

Seems like I will need to go to their "counter" which you mentioned the tentages are all gone. I remember I got mine fixed at a tentage along the NSH.

So this seems like both you and me are now stuck and don't know what to do. I think I try to drive in maybe this or next weekend to see if I get stopped, just to try out if they block me. I don't want to be stuck in the situation in June whereby my entire family is with me and we have hotels and stuff all booked but we get rejected at the customs.

the_dog

Thanks a lot for the info bro! I already peeled the VEP RFIG tag off my previous car before I sold it.

Seems like I will need to go to their "counter" which you mentioned the tentages are all gone. I remember I got mine fixed at a tentage along the NSH.

So this seems like both you and me are now stuck and don't know what to do. I think I try to drive in maybe this or next weekend to see if I get stopped, just to try out if they block me. I don't want to be stuck in the situation in June whereby my entire family is with me and we have hotels and stuff all booked but we get rejected at the customs.

Yes, like you I also peeled off the old VEP tag before I sold my car. Cos I had no faith in their systems and processes for transfer and I didn't want a car driven by someone else running around registered under my name. Looks like this was the correct decision.

I dun think they will start to enforce for real until they get their backroom processes and systems up and running again. As it is, some people who registered before covid still have not received the notice to install the tags. Plus now we have so many people who either bought used cars which are still registered under the previous owners, or who, like us, used their old registration numbers on their new cars and so cannot proceed to register the new cars. I dunno how they want to enforce when everything is still in a mess at their end.

myviowner

Yes, like you I also peeled off the old VEP tag before I sold my car. Cos I had no faith in their systems and processes for transfer and I didn't want a car driven by someone else running around registered under my name. Looks like this was the correct decision.

I dun think they will start to enforce for real until they get their backroom processes and systems up and running again. As it is, some people who registered before covid still have not received the notice to install the tags. Plus now we have so many people who either bought used cars which are still registered under the previous owners, or who, like us, used their old registration numbers on their new cars and so cannot proceed to register the new cars. I dunno how they want to enforce when everything is still in a mess at their end.
Agreed.. Talk for long years... still cannot get it right. Bolehland!

FandiAhmad17

Haha! Same here, I have no faith in their systems and I didn't want to risk someone else driving around under my name too.

Yeah, everything is a mess at their end now. I will try to see if I can drive in over the next 2 week, will update here if I get through.

the_dog

Haha! Same here, I have no faith in their systems and I didn't want to risk someone else driving around under my name too.

Yeah, everything is a mess at their end now. I will try to see if I can drive in over the next 2 week, will update here if I get through.

shld be fine to go in and out lah. i've already been across twice since they reopened. no issue. at most if they ask me why my car # is being used on a different car from what is in their system, I will log in on my phone and show them the error codes when one selects "transfer due to sold". LOL

that said, knowing them, be prepared for anything.

FandiAhmad17

shld be fine to go in and out lah. i've already been across twice since they reopened. no issue. at most if they ask me why my car # is being used on a different car from what is in their system, I will log in on my phone and show them the error codes when one selects "transfer due to sold". LOL

that said, knowing them, be prepared for anything.

Glad to hear that. Thanks for the info!

myviowner

Registered for my past 2 cars. Sold. Still did not received any invitation to go get in fixed in JB(Back then was they will send you a email to book a slot, then drive into JB VEP stn to get it fixed)

Currently, registered liao. Print out a copy and keep inside your car. Continue your journey. VEP team replied that they will send the tag via postage to your address as per in your registration. DIY.
Well lets see. haha

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.