get IKea,, also can.. hahaaa..Going arrange a meet up soon with one of them next month the ******* seller yet to reply me. On the available date
can share some pic of your house?For my resale unit, it is 30K excluding Electronics / White goods and Loose Furniture
It includes:
2 toilets complete hacking & renovation (100%)
Painting
Kitchen partial renovation
Built-in wardrobes
TV feature wall
3 bedroom Vinyl flooring
Plumbing works
Electrical works
Additional 20K Electronics / White goods (TV, Fridge, Aircon, Washing Machine, Dish waster, Vacuum, Hobs & hood, all other kitchen appliances) and Loose Furniture (Beds, Sofa, Dining Table & Chairs, Book shelf, Study table)
All total : 50K
Total Duration: 5 weeks (3 weeks for sourcing & contacting)
Direct work with contractors.
u using instant water heater for or storage or gas heater?Been contact with a few renov company. Keep asking me what design I prefer. I say I no need designer.
Mainly:
1. Painting and plastering
2. Electricity rewiring
3. plumbing work for sink area & baths
4. Aircon and water heater .
5. Change of doors and metal gate
6. Kitchen cabinets refurbished
Those 707 typeu using instant water heater for or storage or gas heater?
My quotation just came back, after my adjustments I should hit 100K, issue is ID wants 2.5 months to do it up. Another ID design is very similar to this but quotation is $136K. Tiles the more expensive ID offer is $5/sqft, all others offered were $3.50/sqft and the labor was extremely marked up when compared with other IDs and they want 4.5 months to deliver everything. Way off my schedule liao.For my resale unit, it is 30K excluding Electronics / White goods and Loose Furniture
It includes:
Painting
Built-in wardrobes
TV feature wall
3 bedroom Vinyl flooring
Plumbing works
Electrical works
Additional 20K Electronics / White goods (TV, Fridge, Aircon, Washing Machine, Dish waster, Vacuum, Hobs & hood, all other kitchen appliances) and Loose Furniture (Beds, Sofa, Dining Table & Chairs, Book shelf, Study table)
You later go Hafary see toilet tiles, high chance choose more swee ones and budget will go up Liao hahaMy quotation just came back, after my adjustments I should hit 100K, issue is ID wants 2.5 months to do it up. Another ID design is very similar to this but quotation is $136K. Tiles the more expensive ID offer is $5/sqft, all others offered were $3.50/sqft and the labor was extremely marked up when compared with other IDs and they want 4.5 months to deliver everything. Way off my schedule liao.
I'm fully hacking my unit tiles (too original liao), walls, both toilets, all doors, redoing all windows, relaying all electrical and carpentry works. Tiling, hacking rebuilding the walls and windows I understand 2-3 weeks can liao. However, carpentry is done off site, so should be able to do parallel to lessen the time. 2.5 months a bit steam. I got limited time to move.
I guessed so too as well, waiting for the ID to go with me. Budget not much of an issue if the tiles are nice. The renovation budget quoted by the ID is well below my targeted budget. So still can play.You later go Hafary see toilet tiles, high chance choose more swee ones and budget will go up Liao haha
My wife chose some range from $10-18 psf, in the end top up ID 1.8k+-
If budget no issue, sure can find really nice ones. Their 2nd floor got a lot of the more premium ones, where my wife chose from that area.I guessed so too as well, waiting for the ID to go with me. Budget not much of an issue if the tiles are nice. The renovation budget quoted by the ID is well below my targeted budget. So still can play.
Can choose those HDB lift lobby cement tiles cheaper than ceramic tilesI guessed so too as well, waiting for the ID to go with me. Budget not much of an issue if the tiles are nice. The renovation budget quoted by the ID is well below my targeted budget. So still can play.
I'll go see, and also see if the design matches. Not going to overspend either, but just want to make it nice.If budget no issue, sure can find really nice ones. Their 2nd floor got a lot of the more premium ones, where my wife chose from that area.
Erm, not to my liking. I prefer more grey/white something that contrasts a bit and not too 'warm'. Just not my liking.Can choose those HDB lift lobby cement tiles cheaper than ceramic tiles
can use tile overlay very little hackingI'll go see, and also see if the design matches. Not going to overspend either, but just want to make it nice.
Erm, not to my liking. I prefer more grey/white something that contrasts a bit and not too 'warm'. Just not my liking.
can use tile overlay very little hacking
Your job done ?For my resale unit, it is 30K excluding Electronics / White goods and Loose Furniture
It includes:
Painting
Built-in wardrobes
TV feature wall
3 bedroom Vinyl flooring
Plumbing works
Electrical works
One thing to note is that most homeowners tend to focus on design and pricing during the first stage of evaluation but usually IDs who are good in design (art) is not good with project management and details (science). Project management is actually quite, if not the most crucial in renovation. Good project managers will help to coordinate vendors, make sure everything is inspected and built according to specs and keep to timeline.I met 4 over 4 weeks. This week finally all the sample designs/layout quotation and schedule came back lor. Tomorrow meeting the last one then will decide by Friday who to go for.
You need to meet them to explain your idea and needs, then from there they can work on your quotation and layout/designs. Cannot avoid one... my first ID say 3-4 weeks, and only came back this week to discuss on quotation. 3D is another 3-4 weeks if i opt for them!!!
But i really like the layout/design. although more exp.
If you know where you want shelf, where you want cupboards, then just look for contractor do.
I'm focused on layout and understanding what I want, budget wise, all are below my expected budget, but there is 1 that is 13K shy of my budget. The costs inside compared with the other quotes I got, is pretty high. As such I don't think it warrants me paying for that ID when the design is similar as another's. Eg: demo/hack one wall $980. Other are quoting me $500-600. The windows are $10K (grille alone is $3K), whereas I went out check with my previous window maker, it's $5K max... even 1 ID tell me $10K is ridiculous, so I think that ID really mark up a lot.One thing to note is that most homeowners tend to focus on design and pricing during the first stage of evaluation but usually IDs who are good in design (art) is not good with project management and details (science). Project management is actually quite, if not the most crucial in renovation. Good project managers will help to coordinate vendors, make sure everything is inspected and built according to specs and keep to timeline.

Wtf chop carrotI'm focused on layout and understanding what I want, budget wise, all are below my expected budget, but there is 1 that is 13K shy of my budget. The costs inside compared with the other quotes I got, is pretty high. As such I don't think it warrants me paying for that ID when the design is similar as another's. Eg: demo/hack one wall $980. Other are quoting me $500-600. The windows are $10K (grille alone is $3K), whereas I went out check with my previous window maker, it's $5K max... even 1 ID tell me $10K is ridiculous, so I think that ID really mark up a lot.
As for project management w.r.t renovation, I'm a project manager (in IT) myself, I know what it entails and I've already shared my expectations to the ID's 'PM'. What I can accept and what I cannot and what they need to look out for as I'm very meticulous in checking and once seen, I normally cannot 'unsee'. I made that clear to all my IDs.
Making mistakes is not an issue, the issue is not rectifying it. PMs will all worship 'Murphy'. We all know Murphy's law![]()
I dunno if chopping, but I compared prices of the services rendered, I noticed ID1's cost very high. But it's in the quote, take or leave it, is up to me. The tile cost is also $5/sqft, the rest all $.50/sqft, if need I'll just get better ones.Wtf chop carrot
Yup indeed I also ask for the schedule plus the quoteOne thing to note is that most homeowners tend to focus on design and pricing during the first stage of evaluation but usually IDs who are good in design (art) is not good with project management and details (science). Project management is actually quite, if not the most crucial in renovation. Good project managers will help to coordinate vendors, make sure everything is inspected and built according to specs and keep to timeline.
I dunno if chopping, but I compared prices of the services rendered, I noticed ID1's cost very high. But it's in the quote, take or leave it, is up to me. The tile cost is also $5/sqft, the rest all $.50/sqft, if need I'll just get better ones.